Get Windows 7 for Christmas? (Gmail versus WindowsLive)

December 28, 2010 at 12:42 pm 1 comment

Yup, get a new computer, stand in awe at it’s speed, then realize you have to teach it to walk.  Tempered excitement.

First on my tasklist was a “computer image” backup and backup disk to have on hand.  Very glad to have all that under my belt.

Then, setting up email after getting Windows 7 on two new computers.  Apparently Outlook Express died and I didn’t even get to attend the funeral. It’s all sad really, we were quite close.

After streamlining/forwarding all my mailboxes through gmail to Outlook Express for a few years, having not deleted anything from gmail, and a few hours trying to weed through and delete 4000 emails, I decided WindowsLive wasn’t going to work for me.  It kept trying to download ALL that mail and there was no way to weed through all of it.

I tried deleting some, archiving some, yet there was no way to choose was email I wanted to synch to WindowsLive (basically, the new brand of MSN mail).  I installed and uninstalled it twice trying to be patient.  Loved the preview pane, but it just wasn’t working for me.   I don’t want all that mail on three computers, all synched when I can access old stuff at gmail.  Just give me the new mail!  I’ll have to keep working on this to see if what I want is possible.  I also couldn’t figure out the labels/folder thing in WindowsLive.  I’d have to go to gmail to create the message rules, then let it synch that way to WindowsLive.  Whew.

Instead, I’ve been working with gmail to try to figure out how to manage my inbox better there (eliminate all but recent mail in the inbox from my view.

When we didn’t have WiFi, gmail was a pain, but now we do–we shared one family computer and fought over log-ins.

With his iTouch and wifi, perhaps I won’t be wrestling over that constant sign-in drill. ( Outlook Express eliminated the need for me to actually sign in to gmail.)

Issues the need attention with Gmail :

  • it doesn’t offer preview pane of emails for fast deletion without opening mail.
  • I’d like to sort email alphabetically to find an email, or by date…not sure how to do that yet to find messages, and if it exists, I can’t find it.
  • Deleting email completely is a two tier process, which I find a bit more cumbersome.
  • Select All doesn’t select all from a sender (think weather, ads) if you want to keep ONE most recent email from a sender (think weather alerts, sales ads)
  • Gmail doesn’t have a feature to “automatically delete after one week/one month”.  Again, would be a good feature for managing weather emails and sale ads.
  • Today I went to download Picassa, which easily downsizes photos for Gmail integration in emails (among other categorization features I don’t want or need), and the Section 11.1 of that TOU says I own the pictures, but when I use their Service, they can have any use they want with them for advertising their Services.  Basically, as it is worded legally, I cannot agree. I just wanted to sent my friend a picture of our two girls, but I can’t give Google permission to use someone’s else’s child in an ad, much less wanting to use my own without conversation on the matter.  There has been much discussion about this for over a year, and even news of a change on Picassa’s end, but I do not yet see acceptable change in the wording.  Yes, photos can be downsized with other free programs, like Infranview, however, a second copy of the photos must be saved.  It would be very nice to eliminate this step.  UPDATE:  Picassa has a second “legal notice: on their site which reads understandably, and honors our ownership of photos.  They need to cut the bull and figure out what they want to say one way or another.   Probably covering their tails in case somebody does something stupid.  I don’t appreciate the mixed messages, but feel somewhat better about using the service.

Your Intellectual Property Rights
Google does not claim any ownership in any of the content, including any text, data, information, images, photographs, music, sound, video, or other material, that you upload, transmit or store in your Picasa account. We will not use any of your content for any purpose except to provide you with the Service.

 

 

    Other than that, Gmail is hip, cool, nice looking, and doesn’t demand storage space on your own computer.

    I have recently learned that I can keep it a lot more clean by creating “filters” (think mail rules) which sent some mail straight to a folder. Click “bi-pass inbox” and give it a label (think file folder).  The mail will show up in your folders when you want to read it rather than cluttering your inbox.

    As to Windows 7, my minor problem on my computer is that it runs on a 64 bit encrypted system, which means it isn’t compatible with my daughter’s new Barbie “All Doll’D Up” fingernail printer…her big Christmas gift.  Ugh.  Looks like I’ll be reformatting the dinosaur to be able to do our nails!  (My nails look cool, though.)

    I haven’t explored all the Windows 7 options yet, but my start list on distractions is:

    • don’t like the HP Assistant bar floating around on the desktop –be glad when I figure out how to make that go away.  Mostly sales stuff.
    • not crazy about the taskbar’s showing all my open programs in bright icons…that’s what the desktop is for:  icons.  That’s what the startup menu also does.  Why all the duplication?  I’ll be figuring out how to make both of those change. It’s visually distracting.
    • I end up hitting taskbar icons accidentally on my laptop a lot, including the blackout screen feature on the far right corner of the taskbar screen.  Not crazy about that.  .

    So, there’s my thoughts on my Windows 7 experience so far.  It’s fast.  It’s cool.  But I wish I weren’t distracted by some irritations early on.  Wish I could personalize the look of my desktop the way I like to manage it.  After all, it is MY desktop.

    Entry filed under: Everyday. Tags: , , , .

    What is Christmas? Part 1 Baby Album Using Cricut and Sure Cuts a Lot

    1 Comment Add your own

    • 1. Jeremiah  |  December 22, 2013 at 2:06 am

      It’s remarkable designed for me to have a web page, which is beneficial designed for my
      experience. thanks admin

    Leave a Reply

        Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


    ME: “MAGGIE”

    mag-grav-bw

    Sifting the joy from the mundane:

    recording, photographing, learning, creating.

    I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

    avatar-clay-mugs-drying

    Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

    Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

    MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

    MAGNANIMOUS WORK

    2008-08-30-296-copy-21

    "We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

    MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

    sunrise-09-spring

    "Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

    MONTHS

    MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

    2008-08-30-029-copy

    A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

    WHERE I SHOP:

    MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

    2008-08-30-104-copyb

    When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

    YOU CAME; I SMILED

    • 982,354 Magnanimous Visitors

    tea1

    Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

    Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

    Create Your Own Calendar


