Mom Systems Growing for the Year

August 25, 2009 at 10:50 am 2 comments

I have mopped my kitchen floor three Mondays in a row.  I also spot mopped on Friday.  This is a huge undertaking for me…the whole “regular mopping” thing.  I’m working toward a schedule so that I don’t have to be inspired to do certain things, they just get done on those days and inspiration can be left over for other more creative undertakings.  Today, I had decided is “sheet changing day”.  I’m not sure why it’s hard for me to also tackle a big chore on Tuesday, but it is.  I think, possibly because I WAS just going to change the sheets.  Then, somewhere along the way, I thought it was more efficient, perhaps, to take them off, wash them, and put them back on.  This, however, will take up the whole day and I will not have time to do other things.  Rather than re-simplifying the task, I’ve let dread force me into wasting a considerable amount of time.

On the upside, the surfaces are all wiped down, the dishes are all clean, the dishwasher is running, I’ve had some form of devotion time, have caught up with a few friends on facebook, and fixed myself a second cup of coffee.  I also tagged about four months worth of untagged photos.  I’ve very much cut down on photo-taking lately, mainly in an effort to get caught up on other tasks I’ve neglected (body, house, spiritual disciplines).

I am convicted mostly this week to introduce more of the word into my training up of my kids…how, not sure yet, but keeping my heart open for opportunities.  I committed this weekend to write them notes of encouragement praising them on some tasks well done.  I was more lax than I’ve been yesterday on reminding them to basic pick up of socks, clothes, towels, and shoes…however, it’s time to put the ball back in their court.

Last week, I made a short list for each of them of things I was picking them up or nagging them about constantly.  I was worn out with it.  I gave them a total of 8 demerits each, and if they passed their limit, they missed an opportunity for entertainment on the weekend…something that would hurt.  (Pizza night, movie night…trip…company whatever…).  They have been much more conscious of helping me with the table at night.  Even my man is more conscious of helping put things away.  My kitchen has been much more manageable, and they are more willing to do chores because I’m not already spending all my direction energy/communication on basic tasks.  I have a dry erase on the board and they get marks for each demerit.  Today, I have “ipod cord hanging out of the computer” for one, and 2 “socks”.

It just seems to have helped put the ball in their court and get it out of mine.  I am finding my spaces easier to manage as well because I’m not managing all of theirs.

Occasionally, I give them a “tidy alert” so that they may have opportunity to back-track and avoid directions.  Other times, I surprise them if I’ve given that warning already once that week.

I’m just glad for some new inspiration and that something is working…I’ve been able to tackle more household jobs than I did in the past, just feeling overwhelmed with all the scattered spaces.  I could never get on a cleaning schedule for all the tidying that needed to be done.

I know I’m re-inventing the wheel in some ways because fly-lady.com has schedules for things to do every day.  I just think it’s working because I’m doing the things I KNOW need to be done and the things that are blessing me and my family and I’m growing into it as I can…not because a method tells me to do it.

My physical exercise program is working much the same way…just as I can grow into it with some motivation from sources like prevention.com and one magazine (I have a phobia about subscriptions and paper mess so I probably won’t subscribe).  Love their online tools, however.  Tried a few last week, but am not so good at logs.  Working on that, though…just to make me more aware.

Daughter asked me to kindly bring her lunch today, so I’d better get on with the sheets if that one is to be done today!

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Going Beyond Women’s Conference–Louisville, KY Another Monday!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mom  |  August 25, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Good for you!!! They are old enough to take responsibility for somethings and take them off of you. Way to go babygirl…I’m proud of you.

  • 2. bellissimanh  |  August 27, 2009 at 10:52 am

    Oh, my goodness… Fly-Lady wore me plumb OUT! I tried… really I did… and for a couple of weeks my sinks were clean each night before bed, but as I became busier and the fly-lady emails began piling up — I grew overwhelmed and gave up. I think you’re wise to use trial and error and see what works for you. We’re all different, and life doesn’t come in a “one-size-fits-all” package. Besides, how boring would that be?

    I want to be more intentional about impressing the Lord’s Word on my children’s hearts too… I’m anxious to see how the Lord leads you in that. I hope that you’ll share some of it as it materializes. 🙂

    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 982,341 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


