The Cleaning of the House

April 17, 2009 at 9:54 pm 4 comments

We’re having our final finance class get together this weekend.  Therefore, there is much cleaning of the house going on, preceding by much moving of stuff, going through of clothes…etc., etc., etc….ETC.

How are there so many small, tiny, eeney, weinee pieces of set of things for kids in today’s market?

I’m not sure I stay have faith in our species that we have not gotten a better handle on this.

Two such examples:  Legos (which we dearly love), and Polly Pockets, which causes me to break out into immediate Lamaze session just to endure the clean up of one small area of the room or drawer.

Spring cleaning is here…have you run into it yet?  It is fulfilling, or painful so far? What are are your favorite remedies?  I have some magazine holders by my desk area this season, and two drawers cleaned out to handle my planning mess…I’m liking that!  I also have a wicker basket with a closed lid with containers in it for pens, pencils, and mechanical pencils (so when I tell the kids to do their homework and they say, “I don’t have a pencil, they are within my arms reach…and the electric pencil sharpener is there so I can sharpen and store them away quickly.

So, what is your cleaning mood right now, and what are your favorite recent space solutions?


Entry filed under: Everyday.

Which Feed Reader is Best? “Voting”: Two Small Rants Re: Bloglines and Hardee’s

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Terrie  |  April 18, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Well….I haven’t got much done for myself but I’m helping alot of others get theirs done! Essentials for good spring cleaning, a good paint brush, and a Mr Clean Sponge. A very good vacume and alot of Windex!

  • 2. Stacey  |  April 20, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    A bit OT, but… I did find that if you neglect cleaning the inside of your microwave for a considerable amount of time and in a crunch realize that someone outside of your family may indeed see it… a Magic Eraser works like “magic”!

    I’m hooked. Liked them for cleaning walls and other odds and ends, but the way it cleaned my microwave was amazing!

  • 3. MizB  |  April 24, 2009 at 8:52 am

    I’ve been bit by the “Spring Cleaning” bug, and am ready to get on it! 😉

    I’m actually going out to tackle the decluttering of my garage, today! Wish me luck, and pray I don’t get lost in there! LOL. 😛

    Yesterday I started on reorganizing my recipe binder… in a new way. I was going to just retype all of the recipes, then print them out and put them back in my binder in a more orderly fashion (there’s no real order to them, right now — they’re all in there at random). But, then I got a crazy idea: Why not create a blog where I list all of my recipes, and use it as a sort of online “recipe box”? This way I can (1) sort by category and find recipes fast & easy by going to my blog, (2) share my recipes easily with friends/family — can just send them a link, or go on there and print one out!, and (3) I can print them all up when I need them, and put them in my binder in a more organized way! Yay! Wanna see? Cooking With Miz blog. 😉

    Oh, and I made up a blog for my decluttering bug, too (yes, I’m a crazy, blog-obsessed gal!): http://simplymiz.wordpress.com

    ~MizB

  • 4. MizB  |  April 24, 2009 at 8:54 am

    PS… Have you read any books by Peter Walsh, yet? He’s a professional organizer, former host of TV’s “Clean Sweep”. His advice is fantastic… for example, in “It’s All Too Much”, he says to “Only keep what you have the space to store”, and “Envision the life you WANT to live, and clean/declutter accordingly”. 😉

    Good stuff!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 976,377 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


