Easily Do Four Month’s of 365 Layouts in a Flash!

April 9, 2009 at 12:23 pm Leave a comment

I snap photos about 25 out of 30 days any given month of the year.  Some days, there are 90-200 photos, depending on the event.

To create a layout using PSE to capture a “month at a glance”, means dragging 25-30 photos INTO PSE –30 layers open REALLY slows down my program.  That is just a LOT of graphics going on!

I found something that works better for me– thought I’d share it with you.

In the last 40 minutes, I just got four months photos and journaling organized and in a layout just about ready to print.

I can still embellish it or whatever, but the bulk of the layout is done!

Here is an overview of the process using Photoshop Elements 5.0 ORGANIZER:

365-lesson1

In the Organizer (not the Editor).  Click that little button at the bottom that says “Date View”.  A calendar will come up.  Select “Month View” at the bottom from there:

365-lesson1-1

You will only see one photo taken on that day.  You can select any day, then where the flowers are in this photo on the upper right of your screen (in PSE 5.0), you can scroll through all the photos taken on that day.  What a great and fast journal of events and activities!

365-lesson1-2

(Above) When you find a photo that accurately represents what you want to record about that day, RIGHT click where the flower photo is and at the very bottom of the menu, select “set at top of day”.  This makes the photo the one that now shows up on your monthly calendar.  Click the day or give it a second to update.

365-lesson1-3

(Above) Now, for the “journaling and titling” aspect (and I just learned this today–I’ve always written them by hand!), simply either right click OR select a little icon up under the top right “lead photo”–in this photos, it’s the baskets in the upper right corner), just below it there is an option that reads “add event” when you hover over it with your mouse.  In the white text box shown there, type something about the photo, what it meant to you, or just the name of the event.  You can add more than one event, but only one will print–I use a lot of abbreviations.

365-lesson4

Walla, the turquoise box of text on each photo serves as my journaling– for each photo!  It gives a running diary of something significant that happened in my day, everyday that month, something that gave me joy, or was beautiful to me.

The title can just be the month and year,  already there for you (or you can alter it later however you choose later in PSE–I screen capture this, then “paste” it there).

I cropped out everything except the photos, then added my own days of the week (“LDJ What Up” font).  I used Ali Edward’s Weekly/Monthly Overlay (rounded corner outline and month title, from Designer Digitals 30% select items sale until Friday;

I want this one!).  Other fonts used:  Vintage Typewriter; St. Nicholas, and Tahoma:

365-march-finalc

I may leave the background canvas white (as above), or I may add in some color.  To add color, first save your layered image for use creating future monthly layouts, THEN flatten image, and use the bucket to add color where desired:

365-march-finalcolor

PRINTING:

NOW, PSE 5.0 didn’t leave us with a way to print their calendars, SO…

Get what you want showing on your computer screen, then do a “screen capture”(Windows), then open a new doc in PAINT or PSE (5.0…later versions may let you print your photo calendars accessed in this way, I don’t know.)  Now click “paste” to a fresh document (leave PSE at the suggested size, it will be sized for your screen capture, like magic!  Crop it down or paint out the parts you don’t want to show…I sized mine to 8.5X11 to be able to read daily notes.)

FINISHING:

I’ll print mine off, translate it to an album, possible add some hybrid elements (perhaps not, just depending on how it takes shape.) I’ll try to post my progress when I get an album started for you to see.

If you try it, comment with your post link, I’d love to see your projects…hope you enjoyed it!

~”Maggie”


Entry filed under: Everyday.

365 Layouts: 4 Months in 40 minutes Getting Started with Copics: Color Blending Skin

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 978,792 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


