Wednesday Work

April 8, 2009 at 10:56 am 1 comment

TASK LIST FOR WEDNESDAY

  • Grocery (general supplies and food for Easter at Grandma’s)
  • Tidy Kitchen (Being out a day sure catches up with you fast with a family of five!)
  • Spring Tidy-ing (that seems to gentle a work for the work at hand, but I’ll try to stay cheerful)
  • Cooking ahead meat for weekend (2 pork loins in the crockpot)
  • Laundry Room

FUN IN THE MIX:

I stopped by Rural King after the grocery on some quick kitchen business and found a few other supplies while there.  I LOVE that store.
maggie-kitchen-1 my first garlic press!  I guess I should have bought some garlic at the store today, eh?
wonderful metal measuring cups for $4 I bought to go with my new stainless steel canisters.  maggie-kitchen-2
Also, I was there shopping for my first biscuit cutter.  I found one!  It even has scalloped edges and comes in three sizes.  Now, for the perfect biscuit recipe.  Anyone have one they want to share? I don’t keep buttermilk on hand, but I’ll buy some if the duty requires it.  I’ve used Bisquick before, but I’d like these to be all from scratch.  I’ll probably look it up in my self-purchased Better Homes Cookbook. A GREAT investment.  I use it all the time for basic cooking, writing trial notes in the margin for future reference.

maggie-kitchen-4I also bought a matching little set of “smiggin” measuring spoons!  I’ve seen these in fancy stores.  They measure a “pinch, smiggin, and a dash”.  I think they are darling.  For $3 bucks or so, I couldn’t resist the “cute urge”!  I have no idea if I’ll ever use them (I think I will!), but they just make me happy!
More Award Winning Real Theater Popcorn by Whirly Pop– Wabash Valley Farms. They have it here for about $9, I bought mine for about $6 a box, I think.
Yes, they have mice in the store because it is a feed store.  And birds fly around.  You really need to wash things you buy there, but I still love the store.  It’s a good business who can have varmits people have seen regularly in the store that will still attract my patronage!

They have really cute rainboots like Target carries for Spring, too!  Yes, I was tempted to buy me some!  They have them in women’s sizes and cute polka patterns.  I may have to take my daughter (now a women’s size 7!)

PROJECTS:

Dreaming of pansies in some of my planters–as a reward if I get my house in order.  {sigh–much to do!}

DOWN TIME:

While waiting on my daughter at the dentist yesterday, I was working on “coloring skills” for card making from a project backpack (yes, I sat in the waiting room and colored.  Embrace your moments, I say!).

Learning/enjoying mixed mediums and various papers needed for those mediums (ink, watercolor).

I’m going to try heat embossing the stamps next to keep my StayzOn inks from bleeding into my work when I use glossier papers.

This is an older stamp I had on hand (I don’t even know the name of it), but it’s wonderful Daylilies looking forward to all things blooming, large and was great for practice.

maggie-bics-6

Humble beginnings, but I was surprised by how well the permanent markers would blend when you work them in.  It was a lot of fun.  Hopefully, a card will emerge from it soon I’ll share!

maggie-copics

These are my first four “COPIC” marker colors, mainly for problem areas I was having in shading and skin…plus their “blendy pen” is awesome  (no ink color–but, I’ve found that on a very slick “comic paper”, it actually is blending my BIC and Sharpie colors, too!  What a bonus!)

They are quite expensive for professional “coloring people” (what a dream job!), so I’m sticking with watercolors and craft markers for now to meet most of my needs.

Card making is feeding a practical need I have right now for convenient gift-giving, personalizing, and building on the supplies I already had for scrap-booking instead of running out every time there is a need (I simply don’t have time for that when a need arises!)  I hope to post much more on gifting and card making here and hope you enjoy my learning process.

Reorganizing:

maggie-kitchen-7

I found these wonderful black metal tins at a hardware store (they have lovely strawberries hand-painted on the fronts) and am using them on a wood shelf above my craft room table.  (This photo is called “Maggie Kitchen”…bulk edit…this is NOT in my kitchen!)

I’m having fun with metal clips and tags, still trying to figure out how I want them all labeled and organized on a shelf my mom and I built (yes, she has a scroll saw or something she used–what a woman!).

I used my labeler for some of the boxes and inked the labels for an aged look I enjoy.  Things are now within arm’s reach and I’m finding things fast! A good start.

I’m dreaming about an eggshell blue paint for this room right now.  Mmmm…maybe someday!?

THOUGHTS:

I’m starting to think about Easter–the darling of heaven…


Entry filed under: Everyday.

Tuesday Getaway 365 Layouts: 4 Months in 40 minutes

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  April 8, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    Google Alton Brown’s biscuit recipe… I love it. It’s almost identical to the one I generally use in the Betty Crocker cookbook. 🙂

    It does use buttermilk. I sometimes throw in a pinch of sugar and use half buttermilk and half regular milk sometimes, for a slightly sweeter biscuit.

    Yum…. biscuits. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 976,307 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


