Getting the Recipes On…

March 20, 2009 at 12:47 pm 2 comments

mar-18-2009-006-1

This is my recipe box.

It was so disorganized and unuseful last year that I did make some tab folder thingies for each category.

At some point, I thought it would help if it were, say, “decorated”.

I guess I was thrilled at the stroke of genius to take these dried flowers upon the textured exterior:

mar-18-2009-008-11

I am a bit ashamed. It can’t be that rough.

Maybe it’s the angle.

mar-18-2009-005-11

Well, I guess that’s liveable, for something the lives in the cabinet.  But, I really would like to feel inspired when I cook.  ‘Cause let me just say, it helps this chick to feel inspired.

Besides that, it had all these clippings stuffed in the back that didn’t let it CLOSE either!  This photo?  This is is as “closed” as it gets.

Marginal in attractiveness, limited on space, AND having technical issues.

Hmmm.

Took about an hour from “the sick house” that is our home this week, and ran by a couple stores which I thought should have some perfectly good recipe box options:  the hunting store, and the farm implement store.

Don’t even ask.

Local retailers have discovered that if you get the husband AND the wife in the stores, the men stay a lot longer and everybody is happier.  So, the farm store has a great kitchen section I have explored on many an occasion just for the exploring.  The hunting store has a great…well, home and what-not section that takes up half the store.   People come from hours away to go to this store.  Women.  To this hunting store.  It beats the Opry Mills hunting big store if you ask me.

As I mentioned before, I did pick up free fresh popcorn and coffee while at the farm store, once again, making it worth my time, even though I didn’t find out what I was looking for.

I did me some google work and searched for “stainless steel recipe box”.

stainless-steel-rec

Pretty.

Sleek.

Probably the same size.

Sleek.

Hmmm.

Then, I did just “recipe box” and came up with this:

double-recipe-box

Whoa baby.

That thing has some potential.

I doubt I’d leave it out to use the little slit on top, as cool as that is.

And, the finish wasn’t so much what I was thinking for an upgrade, but I love wood right now…very feng shui, or however you spell that.  All I know is that it means less visual clutter and more natural and “less” stuff occupying spaces in general.  I’m trying.  SO, so far away, and not at all about the whole positive, negative energy thing, but liking the tone of free spaces.

So, anyway, back to the real world.  I like the space.  The cabinet where I store it is very deep, and my current one slides to the back and gets lost…this could work.  Price?

Yeah, price.  It is like $34-ish at Target.

Hmmmmm.

Or, another plastic container, for a buck.

Hmmm.

Still feeling inspired by this noteworthy post by BooMama, I decide to keep thinking.  (Plus, I appreciated the fact that she is having as hard a time as I am writing right now on the blog front, but that’s neither here nor there).

SO.  I decided to peruse the ‘ole thrift fronts.

I’m thinking like a box with a hinge, or a long basket might work.  It seemed that the hinges didn’t look sustantial enough for the weight of the heavy wood on a lot of the boxes anyway, even some of the woodworker’s less expensive ones I found online.

That brings us to my finds:

First, this, from the first store (in which my kids waiting in the van while I ran in for two minutes in a very crowded store I have to REALLY need something odd and specific to enter):

mar-18-2009-021

It’s on old photo holder with stainless rings.  It’s clean-lined.  I thought I could either put my most favorites in it to sit out, OR if I found a box, I could put scriptures in it…it takes index card size, and that’s what I put my quotes and meditation verses. on.  I could see it above my sink, when I get tired of my Charles Stanley “Seasons of Life” flip calendar…which is probably never…I love that calendar around a work space.

mar-18-2009-022

These were the pages.  They were obviously in a decade prior to “acid free”.

No prob-o, I just cut some more white paper, punched holes with my two hold punch.

Cost:  $1.50

I don’t know what I’ll do with it yet, but I have a lot of ideas.  I’ll post when I get it going.  This week is about organizing, not creating.

THEN, I did a walk-through in thrift flea-market-y store #2 and found this:

mar-18-2009-009-1

$3.00–an old perfectly rectangular basket.  I love perfectly rectangular baskets (as opposed to the kinds with the sloping sides that magazines and books never quite fit.)

I’m Lysoling it down; sticking it here, right inside the edge of my long corner cabinet.  The space below is where I mix things (my mixing bowls live there, and my pantry is underneath in a lazy susan.

mar-18-2009-017

Hooray!  fits swell!

It did have a few character marks:

mar-18-2009-013

Nothing that my trusty wood stain pen can’t fix:

mar-18-2009-014

mar-18-2009-009-1

A fun little day of looking for something and finding it and being happy with it, for under $5.00.  Instant gratification.  Gotta love that!

The advantage to not having a top is that I can leave magazine slips there until I decide if they are worthy of a card.  I have the cards on the left (favs).  The long magazine pages are folded in the back.  I’m very pleased.

dsc00048

This was a scripture that came up on my Facebook scripture application this week.  I’m mulling it a lot.

Entry filed under: Everyday.

1000 Gifts ’09: 476-490 Looking…Possibilities

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MizB  |  March 21, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Glad you found something that works for you! (and love the little Scripture-card holder thingy!)

    If you hadn’t found something, I was gonna tell you about my method — I have an old binder that I keep my recipes in… I printed them all out on 8.5×11″ paper (two per sheet), and then put them all in sheet-protectors before putting them in the binder… that way I don’t get the pages dirty (can wipe them clean — I’m a messy cook! LOL). Works for me, except when I have a lot of stuff that I’m cooking with — then the binder doesn’t have room on my counter to lay flat. 😕 Ah well.

  • 2. MizB  |  March 21, 2009 at 8:35 am

    PS… the sheet-protector method is also good for when I find recipes in magazines… I can just tear out the page, and slip it into a page and it’s in my binder, ready to go! 😀

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 976,385 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


