Thursday Stuffs

February 19, 2009 at 1:13 pm 4 comments

Well, so I did pretty well on my list yesterday.

I can see the kitchen table today.

The pile out of the cabinets is getting sorted and divided into more piles to sort and shuffle.

Laundry is in progress.  Uniforms are clean for Saturday.  Boy Wonder’s jeans are now clean.

I stopped by the second hand store and got four pair of jeans, in a comfortable fit for all-day wear.  This excludes any tight-fitting areas or any low-waisted jeans.  I had a few pair, and I didn’t like most of them to begin with…I like them even less now.  They are just not comfy for a mom to have on and work all day.   Bonus:  only one of them had to be hemmed, and I got that done in about twenty minutes last night, which is huge for hemming jeans.  I did have to rip out half of one side when the machine went out of adjustment, spool a bobbin, cut them off, and readjust the machine several times…but it’s done!  I’m wearing them right now. Even one, a nice dark denim for “anywhere” with a light comb wash.  Did I mention $12?  I walked in the store at 3:05 with two kids, had about eight pair in my hands in five minutes, tried them on in 5, and paid by 3:22.  THAT is a great shopping trip for me!  I can work outside and not worry about them.  This pair even has some Lycra in them, so they are super-flexible.  I think I’m in love.  I can’t remember the brands, none of them all that impressive I guess.  I think these are Lee Riders, and I generally hate Lees, but made an exception in this case.

The Farmer’s Almanac says we may get another ice storm even larger than the last.  Now, it has been our observation that of the last three years, it’s only proven true once.  But, nonetheless, I had to have more jeans to survive cold days than what I had the last time, just in case!

My Dad’s shoulder surgery isn’t scheduled yet, but they hope it is soon before more flexability is lost than he’s already lost in the last month.

My step-Dad flies out to Iraq this weekend sometime, there was a problem with his flight and they rescheduled it.

I have to admit, it feels a little weird to blog about my Dad and my step-Dad in the same post, especially knowing my Mom reads, buy hey, this is my life, and this is where I am, so that’s just the way it is.  Welcome.

My daughter has a 4-H presentation today which involved teaching her to do public speaking while doing a science experiment, making a nice poster, getting all her “stuff” together, revising the speech, about four or five panic attacks, some discipline, and a late night.  This afternoon, she has an academic meet I have to get her to, then they want to go to a PTSO meeting at 5, she has ballpractice at 5:00, which my husband coaches.  WHEW.

I just hope we get supper in there somewhere…I get hungry just thinking about it.  Probably the bricket I made the other day, fresh cornbread I need to make, like NOW to get it on the table in time, or chicken noodle soup I could throw together NOW.

What’s up with you?

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Bathroom Songs Untitled

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kim  |  February 19, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    4-H demos…UGGHHH…Madison’s is due tomorrow so we will be scrambling around tonight. She is actually doing the same one she has done the past 2 years…How to make a basic first aid kit. This is not our first trip to the rodeo so it won’t be so bad this time.

    Way to go on the shopping trip!!!!!!

    I can’t even allow myself to think about another ice storm.

  • 2. Maggie  |  February 19, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    Mine came in second, unbelievably! She actually ran out of an ingredient and covered it up and still did fine. Whew. I’ve never seen so much nervousness…well, except when I was little myself! I was a basket-case…well, still am for that matter!

  • 3. Kimberly  |  February 20, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    just how long do you cook your meat? bricket?

  • 4. Kim  |  February 20, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Maddie got first place today on her demo!!!! I just love that girl.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 978,026 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


