Changed By The Storm

February 9, 2009 at 10:06 pm 3 comments

Sunrise

Sunrise

Well, as the fatigue from the “Ice Storm of the Century” has begun to wear off, I’m starting to note some observations from the last 10-14 days.  Pretty random stuff.   I’ll try to list those that have occurred to me,  just for the fun of it.

  1. Bacon cooked correctly(not burned, as I did yesterday in some attempt to get it crisp) in a cast iron skillet just tastes better.  We’ve had it two days since I could have used the microwave.  Yup, it takes me attention and makes a bigger mess, but it’s worth it.  My brother is looking for me a cast iron bacon press.  I’ll use it.
  2. Gravy sticks to the bones.  We had it almost everyday, just for calories.  It was wonderful to have a ligitimate excuse to fix gravy.
  3. Many cooks in a kitchen make it much more fun than one!
  4. Cooking IS easier when you don’t have to do the clean-up.
  5. “Normal” is necessary for the well-being.  I think we all have some amount of new perspective, and some, probably some post-traumatic stress disorder.  But, we’ve all learned, and that’s a good thing.
  6. People are either more amicable in times of stress, or more cranky.  I prefer the former, and was SO blessed to be around those kinds of people.
  7. Resourceful and industrious people are the best there are, anywhere.  I want to teach my kids to be those kinds of people.
  8. It takes a lot of time and energy to run a household, with or without power.  I’m not sure why this strikes me as so enlightening, but it just does.
  9. I like times without electricity.  I just do.  I’ve not had a good year if we’ve not had to teach the kids to do without power at least once.  (Can I have gravy and bacon for my one last meal before you kill me?)
  10. “Slow and steady plodding brings prosperity”.  Ask people in their 70s.  Watch and learn.  I’m inspired to tackle big projects after watching them do what they can.
  11. If I had to choose between running water and electricity, I’d choose running water.   One word: toilets.
  12. Multiple heat sources…I never want to live without them.
  13. There are jobs for everyone.  Nothing is more important than anything else:  playing with kids, picking up sticks, running errands, doing dishes…without all of it, we would not have made it.  Thank you.
  14. Good food makes for good days.
  15. Crock-pots don’t work well with generators.
  16. A coffee pot left on wastes much more energy than I thought.  I turn mine off early in the day now.
  17. Whirly-Pop popcorn, theater style, is the best popcorn in the world.  (see comments…I have to agree with the commenter since I found Amish Country, too!).
  18. Gourmet popcorn DOES taste better…go on and put the salt in the oil.  It’s better.
  19. Sympathy helps.
  20. A timely word does a heart good.
  21. People serving you should be encouraged.  All of them.  (I’ve heard stories of people berating the power and utility workers while they eat lunch out.  Since, I’ve gone out of my way to say THANK YOU.)  We are tired, and they are away from family…be an encourager, even in hard times when you are waiting on power and water and phone lines.
  22. When the Lord prompts you to get ready to practice hospitality, I recommend listening.  He is always so far ahead of us!
  23. No one got to bathe for about three days with the 10-20 of us here, and no one stank.  Go figure.
  24. Women didn’t get to put on makeup or do hair for many a day–anywhere around here– and though we weren’t all the pretty, no one died of shock, thank goodness!  Many were actually commended by the men I heard, impressed by their faithful spirit.  That’s real beauty, right there.
  25. Good neighbors are a good thing to have and be.

We are expecting high winds, hurricane force in the next two days.  I pray for our workers and for lines to stay strong with loose limbs still hanging everywhere!

Bring on the popcorn!

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Prove Us. Very High Wind Alert, Tuesday into Wednesday (10-11th)

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mom  |  February 10, 2009 at 12:38 am

    I am very proud of you babygirl and the servant you were to so many during the time of unexpected need. Watching my daughter in motion was such a blessing to me. I am truly blessed to have seen such a short part of what you did for others and watched as others pitched in to make it all work.
    The whole household is to be commended for their efforts to opening up to others so freely and making them feel so welcome, all the way from my favorite son-in-law, down to little red. I AM BLESSED TO HAVE YOU AS FAMILY! I LOVE YOU AND AM PROUD OF YOU ALL. MOM

  • 2. Joe  |  February 10, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Those are some outstanding thoughts, thanks for sharing them with us. Your number 16 is a bit off, Amish Country Popcorn is the best popcorn in the world….although when the power is off, and anything would taste good. Welcome back to the modern world, lol.

  • 3. Maggie  |  February 10, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    Mom: Thanks, I have the best mom and MIL in the world to learn from. I hope you are catching up with the time change!

    Joe: You know, I bought a mixed bag of what looks like Indian Corn the same day and I’ll have to say, you are right on that! Especially when I want to eat it more lo-cal and just use olive oil and a
    bit of buttered oil and salt. I love it!

    Thanks for the visit and comments…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 976,255 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


