Sunday

January 11, 2009 at 4:04 pm 1 comment

WordPress Thoughts:

It takes forever for the new WordPress to load since the update, it seems.

Then, it loads, and I start typing, and it loads some more, and I lose the two lines I just typed.

Work with me here, people…my patience is a little thin for extras.

Husband’s B-Day:

…great date with my hub last night for his b-day this week.  Was great for us both to get away and talk.  We were hoping for an overnight trip to N, but there were a lot of traffic in town and rooms booked solid this weekend, so we went to O. and ate at Tumbleweed.  I had something non-Mexican there for the first time…it was GREAT… grilled chicken and steak combo, baked potato, and steamed veggies…a lot of heartburn this week, so a more bland offering, but was glad to try something different and love it.

Sunday School:

Working on a craft for Sunday School last night after we got in while he got the movie ready (I did the tags and names earlier in the week, and the Photoshop wording last night):

2009-1-ss4

2009-1-ss-6

This is how they cut…

2009-1-ss-7

By adding a rectangle and reducing it down to the form of an underline on the cricut and welding the letters and shape together, you don’t have to deal with individual letters to keep up with and have them glue on.  Loved that.  They come off together.   As you can see, I actually did three boys names altogether and then cut them.

This scraping tool is handy to scrape scray pieces off the sticky cutting mat.

2009-1-ss-8

When they get them together, they will look something like this:2009-1-ss3

I wanted to make them little tags they could tie around their necks, and later, they can cut the strings and use them as bookmarks, I told them.

TODAY: Here is one, finished, tied around her neck…she embellished it nicely!

2009-1-ss

As I got the string ready for each, I would look them in the eye and say:  “Are you ready to obey God?”  “Are you willing to obey God”.”Are you able to obey God?”   It was actually a precious time, though the last boy said, “yes, yes, yes!” before I got finished.  I said, “Are you green?”  He said, “No!”  I said, “Just wanted to see if you were paying attention!”  (There are usually one or two that aren’t in a mood for the lesson each week, and that person varies on their rest, attention, and how well they’ve eaten.  I’ve come to realize that’s just part of it.)

UPWARD BBALL SEASON BEGINS:

My husband has the best assistant basketball coach in the world for Upward this year…Moi!  We had our fist three games yesterday, and they were back to back.  It was a delight to have my brother and SIL and their little ones there to see their games.  Goldi’s first time to play bball, so a lot of fun.  Red had grown a lot in focus since last year when he chased a player throughout the game, and Boy Wonder set such a hard pick at the end of the game, we though they might call a T on him.  The other player did not make the shot, however, he did land on the floor pretty hard.  We have all come to anticipate his move and are looking foward to him learning other skills more in line with the spirit of Upward.

Worship:

I appreciate the prayers this week.  I did shed some tears in worship this morning, just from the overflow of a tender heart in all that has gone on lately…you since words with different level of understanding and meaning when deep things are going on in life.  “When we see you, all our fears are washed away”, and in your presence, we find strength to face the day” “In your presence, all our tears are washed away, they’re washed away”…

This afternoon:

This afternoon, many naps…I love that I can curl up on this sofa with no pillow and fall asleep on the arms…they are just the right height.  Not totally comfortable for a long sleep, but good enough for a nap.  Pillows on my sofas were getting to be an all day chore…the kids threw them in the floor every time they sat down!

I was wanting to work in my craft room right now, but Goldi fell asleep on the guest bed in there, I don’t think she is feeling good.  We were scheduled to attends her BFFs baptism right after our services, slipped out early to do so for the second week in a row, but there was another complication today, so we came on home.  Probably best for her–she just didn’t feel good.

I’m needing to transfer some laundry before meetings start tonight.  I need to start planning menus for Mom and Larry’s return for some family times.   We will do Christmas for them.

MOM/LARRY UPDATE: They are expected to be in by Friday…she was afraid to try to get to Germany for fear of missing him…they still hadn’t confirmed his flight out.  So, she is going to get to L. and help him from there.  A nurse will fly over with him.

I hate when we lose total contact for travel time…I won’t hear from her at all for about four days during busy flight schedules.  That is tough.  Usually two night’s layovers in Ir*q cities, then one layover in France, then home.

Note: I feel like the blogging has way too much crazy going on for good blogging, but thanks for bearing with it.  I’m trying to post updates to let you know I’m still alive.

Love,
“Maggie”

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Stent Placed Blind Mother Inspires Me

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. bellissimanh  |  January 11, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    “Bearing with it”? I’m totally happy to come and read about what’s going on in your life… whether it’s tied up in a neat little package or rather scattered (and I didn’t feel this was a bit scattered… so there!). Thanks for taking the time to post, even though you must be exhausted and completely emotionally drained. I so understand those worship times when it just becomes sweet release and the tears flow. They’re some of the best, I think. Praying for you… Love you!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 978,054 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


