Just Me and Christmas Eve Preparations

December 24, 2008 at 10:26 am 3 comments

This holiday season has brought much motivation to get all those 20-30 minute “quick jobs” done around the house that you never, ever get too unless you are expecting company.  We’re expecting fourteen family on Friday for three meals and snacks in between.  We’re so excited.

Yesterday, I enforced a “work day” ALL DAY with the kids.  They did their best, with a lot of supervision.

The boys got completely through their rooms and closet.  I had to sit there with them most of the productive time and say, “What is that?  Do you want it?  What’s next?”, but they eventually got through it all!

It’s great to see three more trash bags leave their room.  We moved out two HUGE tubs out of their toy room at about Thanksgiving time of broken items and junk.

I taught them the “Keep”, “Give Away”, or “Throw Away” and found three tubs for them to use.  Until now, they’ve just been too attached to things to do it.  With Boy Wonder getting older, he was ready.

Anticipating new things to fill the space and pleasant memories of family’s last sleepover motivated them!

Yesterday, I also finished the upholstery on my hand-me-down chaise.  It looks better.  It was falling apart with pins still in place while I decided if I liked the fabric.  Still not sure that I do, but until I do, it’s now needed for company.

Sewing the cushion was the most difficult part for me…getting around that cording.  It’s not a professional job, but at least it’s tight to sit on.  The bottom, I just top stitched with the machine as far as I could get, stuffed in the cushion (wrapped in plastic table cloth to get it all the way in there, then pulled out the cloth).

It might have been best to hand stitch the whole thing, but I just wasn’t sure I could get it tight enough doing that.  I need to read up on that.  For now, I’m just glad it’s finished.  It’s hard to keep that “box” shape all the way around, especially with a worn, rounded cushion.

I also got a curtain altered we’d taken down when we painted.  The sheer was showing behind it at the top, driving me nuts. I think I over-corrected, but it took two people and a power tool to get it up there, so it wasn’t coming back down last night.  Sometimes, you just have to appreciate small steps of progress and move on! They are not expensive drapes, but the color is so nice for the room, so I decided not to replace them for now.

Today, I’d like to get all the Windex-ing done, mop the kitchen floor, cook two more rolls of ground beef, and get laundry finished up. I’d REALLY love to break out some caulk, but that would have to be a miracle…pretty ambitious.  I need to cook today.

I made two pizza dough crusts last night with the two youngest after making it to the store, browned three rolls of sausage, one of beef, and made white chocolate covered pretzels. (One sausage for our traditional Christmas morning breakfast casserole, one for the cheese sausage crock put sauce The Hub likes, and one for pizzas on Saturday).

Meanwhile, the Hub ran the vacuum for me, and helped me with some “man jobs”….what a trooper!  I LOVE that man!

I had dictated my revised grocery list to Goldy on the way to dropping Boy Wonder off at ball practice, she kept me on track and crossed off things for me as I shopped.  MAN!  First time I’ve ever had that!  It was SO helpful.   I got to the end and had two things to go find while they unloaded at the checkout.  My local grocer doesn’t carry Italian meatballs…I’m put out!  They DID have the premade sausage balls, yeah!…we obviously need more sausage in our diet this week! HA!

Wrapping is unbelievably caught up, except for little suprise Santa things.  Of course, we aren’t doing as much this year with the kids getting a new gaming system…pretty much their whole Christmas.  Not even a lot of clothes this year.   They all agreed that all our family would help with games, so hopefully they will be satisfied with limiting themselves.  (We’ve held them to a PSII for years, so I’m glad for them to be rewarded for their contentment with that system for so long with so much out there.  We’d been saving for it.)

I laid in bed this morning a while and just prayed for grace for the day, as I have the last few weeks.  I prayed for those of you needing grace.  And I thanked God for my family, most of all.  Those here helping me.  Those I think of often far away, and mostly for the grace he’s shown thus far.  He is so good.  Good to us all.  I’m so thankful.

Tomorrow is Christmas Day.  I will break out my 10-year old video camera I still love (not digital, but I still love it–ordered a new battery for it this year, and am excited to have that…it’s on the charger.)

I am excited about the Christmas story tonight, and time at Grandma’s, and the anticipation the kids will have all day.

I said to a friend yesterday, “it would be so nice to be completely caught up this time of year and be able to enjoy it.” In all her wisdom, she says, “that would be nice, but in all my years, I’ve never seen it happen!” I realized, with great celebration comes great work…you can’t have one without the other.  But, it’s worth the thought and prayer and time and chores.  It’s worth seeing smiles and family and just the love of doing what you can to make it special, set-apart (holy)--“not over-done, but special”, as Goldilocks would say in her wisdom.   (Same girl who was up late last night bedazzling a sleep-mask she’d found laying around). 😀  Anyway, my kid’s parties are a lot of work, why shouldn’t Jesus’s birthday party be?  🙂

Off to clearing the bar and making room for breakfast!  I’d better include some protein…we will probably have a light lunch today while we work!  I hope you are blessed today, friends.  Really blessed in all those “last minute” attempts to bless people and set aside this special time of Christmas.

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Whew! Merry Christmas, Mom!!!!!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Merrie.  |  December 24, 2008 at 11:12 am

    One of the many blessings of Christmas is how it brings the family together in one accord and goal in preparation.
    Oh, that we would work in such a way in preparation for Jesus’ 2nd coming!
    Merrie Merrie Christmas… and blessings for the New Year!

  • 2. Misty  |  December 24, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Bryan and I are both working on preparations today. Wrapping to do, peanut butter balls to dip, and the car is getting washed too 🙂

    I honestly got a little depressed this morning thinking of how I wear myself out during Christmas and hardly get to rest and enjoy it, but then I see how excited my kiddos are and how much love goes into all the work, and I’m blessed by it.

    Hope you all have a great Christmas!

  • 3. Kevin Leggett  |  December 24, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Maggie,

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 975,281 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


