It’s Beginning to Look at Lot Like Christmas!

December 15, 2008 at 9:22 am 5 comments

I’m starting to see the carpet again around here…nothing is CLEAN, per se, but order is starting to emerge if you squint your eyes real hard-like.  I hope to keep on that today.

I managed to survive yesterday with The Hub working all day, the kids needing to be in several places, dressed in several different ways, chocked full of party food.  I won’t go into all the childish detail that occurred during the performance, but let’s just say that all that will go down in Mommy memory forever…never to be forgotten.

Friends invited us to several events yesterday which I only dreamed of.

We were moving the last of the summer furniture to the barn late last night before the first ice storm, getting all the flower pots under cover, and moving the old sofa and TV downstairs, getting ready for company.

I still didn’t get my out of town cards ready for mailing this weekend, hopefully today.  And if I could find where I sat my floral wire down, I would be very happy about that!

Well, off to try to empty some more boxes and get them moved outside before the ice storm hits!

I need more peanut butter fudge!

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Better, or Worse? The Ice Storm

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ~E  |  December 15, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    Text problem has been corrected — only the “It” in the title of this post is missing. I like the new font too.

    When is the new furniture arriving?? I am working on some housecleaning projects getting ready for guests too — cleaning the oven, cleaning the fridge, and hopefully will get around to cleaning blinds. Hubby took off today and wants me to watch another movie with him this afternoon.

    I have been distracted from my chores by BooMama’s Christmas Tour of Homes. I have found a couple of easy recipes I am going to try for upcoming parties. I think DoodleBug will enjoy helping with them! I did not intend for this to be such a long comment. I should have just e-mailed — or better yet, called!

  • 2. cassandra minton  |  December 15, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    love the new look

  • 3. Holly @ Crownlaiddown  |  December 15, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    How pretty! I love the Christmas on your site, Maggie.

    Praying for you and your family!
    Love,
    Holly

  • 4. Maggie  |  December 15, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Probably better than “my look” this morning when I showed up at the school! Thanks for taking care of my girl this AM! What a blessing you are!

  • 5. Maggie  |  December 15, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    The “It’s” shows up on my screen friend. I don’t know what to suggest, except that you might update to the latest version of Internet Explorer to see if that helps. Sorry for the troubles!

    I LOVE long comments…especially from dear friends who always have an encouraging word, as you do!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 978,026 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


