Friday

December 12, 2008 at 11:47 pm 2 comments

Today, I took a road trip.  I bought ribbon to make bows for my new lights Dad helped me get wired last week.  It was going to cost about 5.50 to have them done, but ribbon was on sale already at 50-60% off, and they had some at Tuesday morning that was something I thought I might want to try, not knowing yet what color for sure I like against the new lights and house, so I thought I’d try to make some.  (Gasp…like I need another thing on my list!)  But, some fresh newness helps sometimes…my old ribbons were very mildewy this year.  I stayed away from velvet this time for that reason.

I’m so excited to have my rusty bronze old lights removed, too!  Everytime the decorator came to the house this Spring, the first thing she said when she walked in the door was, “We’ve simply GOT to get those lights replaced…for sure!  Don’t you think?”  😀  It was the first thing out of her mouth the first time I opened the door.  I knew it needed to be done, but we’ve let it go for 5 years.  And, I’m glad we waited…there are a lot more options at better prices now than there was then when the brushed nickel was just coming out, and I didn’t want nickel…we still have too many bronze elements to this house, and they seem to suite it’s traditional feel.

So, I went ahead and went with a brown finish this time–now we are at least at an “all rusty” color!  I miss the bronze, but I think they look traditional, yet more modern.

Before, I had tan Christmas bows and a tan house…hand me downs.  I thought with new windows and lights on the front porch, it was a good time to think about fresh bows.  I’m going to repurpose theold ivory ones…perhaps with some dye.

So, to O. I went today.

Hobby Lobby?  TOTALLY OUT of ribbon.

But, I did find some ribbon, after the “ribbon guy” (?) pointed me to Tuesday Morning.  They had just a few, but I think I can use them for swags to make the bows coordinate.  I actually found the wider ribbon I needed at Hancock fabrics.  They have all their upholstery fabrics at 40% off!  I was dying to get some to try my hand at recovering our old loveseat and sofa.  I think the strapping on the sofa could easily be repaired.  I sort of wish I knew how much it took and had gotten some…The Hub things they are useless,but I’m not so sure about that.  I DON’T like doing the cushions and zippers, but I think i could handle the back.  Yeah, the paddings are pretty worn, and it may not be worth investing anything in them at this point.

They called that the TV room furniture is in!  Yeah!  I’m excited about clean couches that are not threadbare!  We made our goal of getting past sippie cup stage before we bought anything new, praise God!

I was craving peanut butter fudge, and Grandma made some and sent it home with me tonight.  I’ll swear I’ve eaten almost the whole tin tonight!

I also want to praise God for the starbucks now in Target that had hot pepperoni Pizza Hut personal pans pizzas just coming out of the oven when I walked in the door.  Oh, what a time saver that was!  And it feels so much more special eating it in a starbucks cafe!

I have to find red shirts for Goldy and Flash before tomorrow night’s cantada.  I tried finding casual Christmas clothes for her and neither of the sweaters looked right on her when I got home, or she was uncomfortable in them.

Tip to fashion pros designing clothes for 10 year old girls…or anyone for that matter:  long sweaters look good on only about .000005 percent of the population, and of girls in the 10 year old range, the odds are even lower.  Belting sweaters only annoys them (“But, there’s a huge hump on my belly!”).

Just give me a cute Dawahers Christmas sweater and we’d both be singing tonight…unfortunately, I’ll be driving two hours to return two sweaters instead and both Dawahares are OUT OF BUSINESS.  Lovely.

I think she will wear last year’s shirt.  She just wants a cute Christmas sweater with a snow scene on it…like her old one in bright colors.  How hard could that be people?

Goody’s?  They only have short sleeves for girls her age this season.  Totally.  I am not kidding.  And yes, it is the new shipment “for the holidays”.  I’m shaking my head here.

But, I enjoyed the day out, away from the house!

Tonight, I got back just in time to take my 12 year old son to see the live local theater production of “Willy Wonka, Jr.”  I wish I could have taken Grandma and Grand-dad, but it was too cold for them to get out, they said.  And I wish The Hub could have been with us…it was SO funny, and the kids sang great.  We enjoyed it.  There is just something refreshing about live theater, especially when it comes to kids and listening with a live audience.

In once scene, one Oompa Loompa fell flat on “it’s” tail-end during a song…I mean seriously WIPED OUT. It hung it’s head while singing the rest of the song with choreographed cane movements still going, and the child in front of us was laughing through the whole song!  So cute.  One lady in the audience was sitting with friends and kept laughing so hard she would snort…the whole place would chuckle at her embarrassment.

Well, off to tackle this house a bit and hit the hay for today!

PS:  Talked to Mom last night and today.  All is calm again, for now.   A day’s good news at a time is good enough for me!  Thanks for the check-ins and prayers, friends!

PSS:  I also found a Making Memories punch setter for 75% off at Tuesday Morning.  They also have QuickCuts Die Cutting Machines There for $20 if you are interested.  I wasn’t at the time, but now I almost wish I’d gotten one for Goldy they are so fun to use.

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Linkage Better, or Worse?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dori  |  December 13, 2008 at 12:05 am

    Hey friend…

    I miss you, but its me that’s been away. I needed a break from online this week. Other than working and a couple of posts, I’ve really been trying to stay away from the keyboard. Sometimes you just need a break, you know?

    Been thinking about your Mom and glad you got good news today.

    Let’s Skype soon, okay?

    Have a great Saturday! We have company coming so I’ll be cleaning like a mad woman — only to have it messed up about 5 minutes after everyone arrives! 🙂

    We got about 2 1/2 inches of snow last night — so beautiful and the kids loved the snow day! Seems early this year, but we’ll take it!

    Talk to you soon!

    Blessings,
    Dori

  • 2. Maggie  |  December 13, 2008 at 1:12 am

    Snow? You are kidding! We just got 10 flakes altogether here! I’m about to hit the mad woman cleaning, too. I haven’t been posting that much this week either…just too many lists and too much on my mind to wait out. But, resting in the Lord. Thanks for checking in! I was thinking of you just today. Yes, let’s touch base soon!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 983,592 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


