Dirt Piles…You’ve GOT to Be Kidding Me

November 18, 2008 at 2:13 pm 3 comments

When we first moved into this house, the man who owns some adjacent property for some reason conserved huge dump trucks worth of dirt.  It’s on his property.  But, the thing is, it is THE view out my kitchen sink window AND outside my dining room bay window in the back.

Finally, after much cajoling, he agreed to level that dirt for me.  He said, “I never use it for anything anyway.  I just kept it there for reserve.  I’ll do that for you!”

So, after a few months, and a few more reminders.  He did.

Right in the middle of my daughter’s pony treat at her seventh or eighth birthday party.  There was literally a backhoe thingy in the backyard leveling and moving dirt during the whole party I’d planned.

She is ten this year.  And as I sit here, there comes 4…5…6…7… truckloads full, getting dumped in the same spot.

My skin started to crawl and my blood pressure was embarrassingly high over this incident.  In fact, another load is being dumped right now.

I called The Hub about this and he reminded me it was his property.  But, he felt my pain.  He really did.  And I appreciate that.

Somewhere around load six, I just had to call and talk to the neighbor.  I usually try to be a good neighbor and except for the dog occasionally running off, I don’t bother my neighbors unless I have to.

So, I call and I say, “Hi!  Just wondering what’s going on with the dirt?”

“Well, here’s where that dirt came from…” this was supposed to raise my appreciation for the dirt, but it did not…not in the least.

So I said, “So, do you have plans for it?”

“Do you need some?”  he said, rather excitedly, proving it was a useful pile of dirt.

“No, I don’t.  Thanks.  It’s just that it’s in the view of all my windows and I was wondering if you have a purpose for it.”

“Well, I had some low spots and I thought I couldn’t turn such good topsoil down.  In just a few days, I’ll have it leveled for you.”

“Well, I sure do appreciate it, that would be great.”

So, now I have more dirt.

And, I was rather irritated with the Lord over this development today, because frankly, it’s been a tough day and I certainly was not humored by the dumping of the dirt AGAIN.

I couldn’t even find the phonebook to call the neighbor for a while, and there was so foot stomping going on.  I looked to heaven and said, “Do you mind?  Help me out a bit here?”

I’m sure the Lord was laughing.  If you’ve read any Junie B. Jones books, I was reminding myself of her quite a lot.

In any case, I was  having me a second bowl-ful of white chili, still groaning as to why anyone would go through all that dumping dirt they will never use, knowing it is annoying just sitting there, growing weeds, being ugly, and I’ll swear if I didn’t get convicted.

How many times do we dump fresh dirt where we just cleared it?

Seriously.

I mean, we have no use for it, there is no use putting it there again, it was of no use to us before and it is of no use now…it is an eyesore, and yet…there it is, and we say “Bring it on!”

Why?

Some dirt does not need to return.  It’s been dealt with.  Leave it alone, and don’t let it come back.  That’s the moral to this story.

And please, oh PULLEASE, oh neighbor, do not leave those piles there all winter and into spring where they grow weed-hair and are quite obnoxious!  Please?  Pretty…please?

(You local people…I’m writing this for your humor and to learn a lesson, not to talk to my neighbor.  I already did that, and he was kind.  So, ya’ll mind your own business and don’t go stirring him up making trouble, ya hear?  Thank you very much!  It is a good story, though…isnt’ it?)

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Tuesday Thursday

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Misty  |  November 18, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    You want me to whup em? I’ll go over there and put the smack-down on em…..oh, wait..you said DON’T do that…right? 😉

  • 2. Cindy  |  November 18, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    That’s the issue with having neighbors close enough that you can see the stuff they dump. It isn’t a pretty sight, but, unfortunately, they have the right to do it. Lucky for you that your neighbor is kind, otherwise you might find a mountain in the morning.

  • 3. blueraindrop  |  November 18, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    the kids need to have fun decorating that side of the yard with the ugliest yard ornaments you can find or make. give them a bucketful of plaster of paris and see if they can mound it into something recognizable before they put the dayglo paint on. then wait until its bargaining time. dirt piles in exchange for flamingos and gnomes

    or maybe send them over with a small bucket every day or two and have them knock an ask to borrow a bucketful, never saying why. dispose of bucketful…. and by the time the 10 year old has left home the dirt piles will be gone bucket by bucket.

    ok maybe not…. but at least smile thinking about doing it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 976,255 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


