Saturday, Party Day

November 15, 2008 at 4:34 pm 1 comment

 

As a note, at a young girl’s tea party, always make a big bowl of punch with ice cream or hot cocoa, or something besides tea…no young girls around here LIKE tea in their tea cups.  I was so glad I made alternate plans last year!  I think it was Good Little Friend Molly who said she didn’t like tea and gave me an early heads up.  Thanks, Girl!

Just one more girl here for the party.  They are watching a video they made of themselves downstairs.  Cracking me up how much they let loose for silliness.

Red put on a suit to be a server at his sister’s birthday like he and Dad did last year…ADORABLE.  He did as much as we’d let him do–did NOT let him carry them red punch.  He begged and begged.  Older brother?  He ATE the cookies…and begged and begged for MORE. 

Goldy helped me decorate the cookies this year since I knew more what I was doing.  I left a few at the end after I was sure I had enough for the party. 

As a note, I left sugar out of the first batch.  I wouldn’t recommend that.  We drowned them in icing and ate most of them anyway. 

The cookies were a hit again this year…I found that they preserved well overnight, a huge plus.  I totally recommend the Pampered Chef decorator (mine is just about falling apart–need a new one), and the new color gels for icing at Kroger.  Man, the bright pink, orange, lime green, lavender…SO pretty!

I’m starting to tire of the taste of icing, but it took me two days to do so.  Man, those cookies are good…just the right blend between a “not quite sweet enough” cookie, and balanced with that creamy vanilla frosting.  Can’t beat it in my book.  My jeans will not fit next week, but hey.  Priorities people.

We had four girls this year, but that was enough for me.  I didn’t have a gift for Goldy on her birthday party day.  I would normally be bothered by this, but today, what is…has to be enough for us all.  I wasn’t sure what she wanted and I’ve been blessing her with some fun things lately…I know God is good to her without the extra trip to the store today. 

I hope to take her shopping soon…she can enjoy her birthday money and have something a little extra.  And in the meantime, I pray for God to bless her when I give her all she deserves.   Right now, she is cuddled up with her Daddy on the couch watching “Grinch that Stole Christmas” and looks pretty happy to me.  She said her party wasn’t as good as last year’s because of that.  Oh well, not every even child gets a party every year…you can’t always have it all.  We had fun and enjoyed it and celebrated all week…and that’s enough.

I have a cold.  It’s hitting hard today on the drainage.  The last two days, my primary symptom was just that I felt like butter, melting into the floor.  I’m not sure any doctor can treat that, so I didn’t mention it… more than a few times.  I think I’ve been fighting it for several days, which explains a lot.

To try to get a good family photo this year, we had no adults stay, so The Hub told any girls who wanted to they could take our photo for a contest.  We have yet to award a winner, and…in fact, we don’t know who’s picture is whose, but I’m glad we took several!  That worked great. We were just afraid the candles would melt down!

Goldy picked her Daddy’s suit and tie for the event.  I was glad to get to dress comfortably!  Off the hook!  I can never feel comfortable standing up straight in a group photo without feeling like I’m blocking someone behind me.  But, I really need to work on that.  My kid’s will think I had a spinal problem someday.

As a personal plus, during the party, a delivery-man came with my raw scrapbook cards for Christmas.  I hope to make some this year.  We’ll see!  I hope to work on that soon.  Soon.  Soon.  I guess I need to paint first and finish our bedroom first. (Does it ever end once you start?  I’ve only heart such stories…and now I know it’s true! On and on and on it goes.  Love the push it gives you to clean stuff out, but whew…there is way too much everywhere to clean out!  I need to do a major clean out everywhere.  Not my favorite chore, but love it when it’s done.)

Will prepare for 2nd grade Sunday School class tomorrow.  The weeks go by SO fast.  I just know that because I planned good crafts the last two weeks and ended up with a low turnout,  I’ll probably end up with a slew tomorrow!  I just hope I’m feeling well enough to go tomorrow.  Mornings can be rough getting going with the throat this week.

Hope you and yours are enjoying the rainy fall weather.  We had enough rain mixed with snow to turn the barn roof white for about give minutes!  Great day for fires and warm drinks and cozy sweaters (and making mental lists of all the things you should have gotten done “before the cold weather and rain hit”.  I know we have!) 😀

Entry filed under: Everyday.

So Young Sunday…Download Haven

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. graceisenough  |  November 16, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Cookies look great!!!! Thank you for your thoughts recently, and for a different reason, you have been in mine as well! Love you.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 975,281 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


