Wednesday and Me

November 12, 2008 at 2:54 pm Leave a comment

Today, dealing with some “order” issues…trying to get rooms ready to clean.

Post Office

Hoping to get second coat of paint on areas furniture needs to go first in our bedroom so we can move that back while hub is home tonight.  I can finish the rest as time is available later.

Touching up the Great Room paint.

Trying to keep up with the Stories in Hand project…easy today and a refreshment from other work.

Reviewed Master Life memory verses found laying around for my quiet time…very refreshing to my spirit, though short and to the point.

A friend stopped in to check on me, and that forced me to stop and eat…I am feeling better already.  It’s almost 2 and I was feeling hungry, but wasn’t making time to stop.   You know how those days go.

I may even take a bath while I’m ‘stopped’ so I can stop at the post office without scaring anyone.  😀  Not sure yet of Mom’s address and hate to not send it directly to her in case she has issues again.  May wait until word from her tomorrow to send it out.

Getting writing books ready for the kids for thanksgiving, quiet time, discipline, handwriting purposes…wanting to tackle all those at once some.

Pre-cooked and diced chicken let me have a pot pie in the oven and a comforting warm meal in…no kidding, about five minutes flat yesterday.  Goldy helped go “fetch” things to go in it as I dumped it together.  I had a lot more patience during meal-time, and enough energy left to lead a family devotion last night.  It was on a very interesting passage I’ve not considered in a while and read yesterday in their children’s devotional book.  Hopefully more on that later.

I know this has been a terribly exciting post, but I’m trying to learn to cherish and value the everyday, wherever I am.  Today, that place is not enough sleep, a lot of preparation and typing up loose ends, but it’s a gift.  I hope wherever you are, you see the gift in all the crazy, too.  In what areas are you looking for “gift” in the “crazy”…how can you keep a thankful heart in those things?

My list yesterday included such humble things as saying:

  • Thank you, Lord for indoor plumbing
  • Toilet paper on the roll
  • Time to go to the bathroom (teachers often don’t have this, I’m told a lot lately)
  • Moment of laughter and silliness
  • Reading with children
  • Rain and Leaves and Sunlight
  • Birds at my window…a baby one not yet able to fly to the feeder, trying again, and making it.
  • Watching that with children and seeing their awe
  • A package being shipped with goodies to help me with Christmas cards (I hope!)
  • A stain coming out of new carpet from a beverage taken in (which is off limits)  Grrr.
  • A try with multifacted colors on the tips outside my kitchen window, like a rainbow.   Dry ones are falling from the top first, so I get to enjoy the effect even longer.  Thank you, Lord
  • Yellow leaves on concrete steps driving through residential areas
  • A friend finding comfort and peace
  • Getting errands run in timely manner
  • Getting bills paid
  • Clearing clutter and finding that “ah” feeling once it’s clean.
Entry filed under: Everyday, Freezing Meals. Tags: , , , , , .

Just Do It The Best Tea Party Cookies Ever–Child Votes are In

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 978,843 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


