Thursday: Furniture Hunt

November 7, 2008 at 12:15 am 5 comments

Great verses for today.

Can’t wait to get more printer ink to print some of these free babies off.  Lovin’ the cute owls for paper crafts.

Mainly…drumroll here… we bought a sofa and two chairs!  When I called and told Grandma, the surpise and delight in her voice tickled me.  I think we’ve shopped for, say three good years for furniture without buying ONE THING.  Yeah.  It just wasn’t time, peoples.

Now, I have a sofa and two rocker-recliners coming to my home in 4-6 weeks.  And, let me tell you folks, we are THRILLED.  Our current furniture…no joke, you can totally see the plastic cording around the sofa.  We resolved to wait until all manner of sippy cup destruction was over before buying anything else, and, it appears we have arrived!

Let me just say, I’m not sure I can trust myself after today.  Seriously.

I swore I would have no manner of recliners in my living room.  However, leather can do wonders. Then, I swore it would be wood legged beauties.  But, those did not match the couch. And then I swore I would not have a handle to have to manipulate to get out of a darned chair to hurry to the phone. But, this one, I could reach right nicely.  I also said I would not buy something that had to “click, click, ratchet, ratchet, rathet, ratchet, rathet” to full recline.  That’s just TOO MUCH NOISE.  And, then I made the terrible mistake of sitting in a leather lazy boy ratchety racket.   And, The Hub, ever so graciously and insistently, while saying “Whatever you want, dear”, kept showing me how to get in my “just right for reading” position by lifting the leg rest just so, and then just letting the chair tilt back a little, just so…and what do you think, dear?”

Somehow, these looked nicer than most, they matched, they fit both of us, and I could get in just that perfect sewing position I like.  And that was it.

From the website, and I quote:

The excitement in motion leather is increased. An inspiring design has wonderful lifestyle appeal with curvaceous flared arm posts and generously padded arm rest. A double tufted draw in the plush back produces elegant yet comfortable contours for the upper back and lumbar.

Did they seriously say “curvaceous”?  Yes, mam, they did.

And so…not only the two recliner chairs, friends, we also got a sofa with two recliners.  Full of the curvaceous I now am, and it didn’t even take plastic surgery.

We’re hoping the kids won’t fight over our recliners.  That it will get them kicking those legs forward instead of taking up the whole entire couch.  Seating five is not so easy.

I still need coffee tables, but…one thing at a time. Don’t want to hyperventilate the first day.

Prices?  We went to the big city of Evansville to peruse things and try to sit in a chair that might match the sofa.  Thankfully, they had the matching chairs, we got to sit in them before buying, and (few thousand dollar savings on this key point) the color I liked was one of the two colors that didn’t cost extra to get!  Thank you, Lord!

THEN…people…then, we called home and they beat their prices by a BUNCH! Glad we got baseline prices a few times here on the sofa before going there. Their mouths literally hit the floor.  Okay, so not literally.

We called home from a restaurant and placed the order RIGHT NOW, LIKE RIGHT-THIS-SECOND-PLEASE, while we ate at Olive Garden, which has to be our favorite couples restaurant, hands down.  The coffee…Mmmm.  The soup…MMmmmm.  The fun big-band music, The toasted (oh, wait, Kim’s on an eating goal…I’ll stop there and divert to salad…wonderful soup and salad).

Still lists of house stuff to get updated and enlarged for our growing (full right where we are) family, but progress is good!

Well, that’s all the grand home update.  Very excited today.  Lovin’ having this fresh carpet to greet me when I walked in the door.  Ahhhh.  Thank you, Lord.  We needed that four years ago, too…alas, it was still sippy cup land, and there was no way I was stressing over new carpet at that stage!

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Simple Mom Giveaway MomQ Report for Friday

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ~E  |  November 7, 2008 at 6:34 am

    All I have to say is, “Ya-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-a-Y!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 2. Kimberly  |  November 7, 2008 at 11:02 am

    too late………..you had me at Olive Garden!!!!! Glad you found furniture you liked! Yeah!

  • 3. Misty  |  November 7, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    I’m glad you were blessed with new furnishings. I’ve no desire to even try for new until many years from now. If I can keep things half-way (or even a a third-way) clean, I’ll be happy for now 🙂

  • 4. graceisenough  |  November 7, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    I know what you mean about seating difficulties….try seating 6! Furniture sounds beautiful, you’ll have to post pics when it arrives. And by the way, totally envious right now about Olive Garden. I love me some Chicken Bino Vianco!

  • 5. Maggie  |  November 8, 2008 at 1:32 am

    I thought about posting photos, but thought it would be much better to have a few friends over for hot cocoa! I just can’t spoil every surprise in my life, albeit very small. I put up photos of the paint and everyone was like, “yeah, I’ve already seen that on the blog!” 😀

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 975,186 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


