Halloween: Thursday Life

October 31, 2008 at 1:02 pm 5 comments

Not having heard from Mom yet, I don’t feel much the last couple days–it’s like life is “on hold” until we hear from her.  It feels like she’s been traveling for ages.

In a world when I can communicate with people all over the world at the touch of a finger, the blink of an eye…to be out of contact for three or four days feels very off kilter.  Naseating might be a good choice of word.  I’m sure she’ll have some exciting stories to tell.

Today is Halloween. Working on a slide-show for the elementary school. I’ll try to go get the older kids this afternoon.

Boy Wonder’s camera came today–he bought with his own money on ebay.  He is thrilled.  He wants me to teach him Photoshop, and I’d love to, but I pity my hard-drive.  (I seriously need more computer space). His cam came just in time for his first youth trip to Gatlinburg and the Wonderworks (?).  It sounds like they are going to get to do a ton of fun stuff.  Wish I could go, but The Hub has to work this weekend, so neither of us can go on his first youth retreat.  Life is just too dang full sometimes, but God will go with him.

SIL just dropped off Halloween bags of candy mom had prepared in advance for the kids and Goldilock’s brithday gift Mom had brought and wrapped before she left.  Man!  She thought of EVERYTHING.

On the downside: Larry’s identity was stolen the day before he left…the phone company called him. I’m going to have to get them to run credit checks and all that jazz now to see what other damage has been done with their information ASAP.

Also, just found out their back tire blew on their new-ish car when my brother was driving it home yesterday from the airport!  Fortunately no one was hurt.

Other than that, things are pretty calm.

I am primarily thankful that the carpet people did not come yesterday…I was sick all day.

Feeling better today, but worried to death like most of my family at the moment.  Man.  Trusting the Lord, but mainly positioned like so most of the day until word comes:

Unable to move part of the day, prayerful; relying on the faithfulness of God the rest of the day.

Right now, listening to my new favorite tool:  www.Pandora.com. Free music like a radio station you design based on your own preferences. I’ve heard about it from several bloggers and just tried it…LOVE IT.

My self-created stations so far are…”Watermark/Steven Curtis Chapmen/Caedmon’s Call (like Third Day)/Twila Paris (for quiet times)/David Crowder/Casting Crowns (leads to men’s vocal groupings)/Kari Jobe/Chris Rice/Big Daddy Weave.  You can even select Christmas music!  THAT will be handy.

Not available internationally, can’t record off it or play for a group, it’s legal and artists get paid.  Cool.

Today has zipped by and I’ve had to run Goldilock’s costume boots up to the school.  That necessitated a trip to Sonic for cheesesticks rather than sharing a hot dog with her for lunch.

Tonight we’lldo the downtown thing and then do the Halloween Alternative.  Praying for grace for the evening. It will be fun and I know it means the world to the kids.  I don’t think I’ll dress up this year.  Not feelin’ it.  I’ll just observe and feed off the joy and fun of others.  And, that’s okay!  Be where you are, and be all there!


Entry filed under: Everyday.

Making Homemade French Toast & Random Thursdays Note to Self:

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Credit Check On Credit Speak » Halloween: Thursday Life  |  October 31, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    […] Halloween: Thursday Life I’m going to have to get them to run credit checks and all that jazz now to see what other damage has been done with their information. I am so thankful that the carpet people did not come yesterday…I was sick all day yesterday and … […]

  • 2. Aunt Kay  |  October 31, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Hi Sweet Niece, Give thanks to the Lord, call on his name. Look to the Lord and his strength, seek his face always. That is what I’m doing right now. Knowing that the Lord is with my sister right now wherever she might be. Her faith is amazing! God is always going before us! What a wonderful assurance! Just let us hear from her, right?

  • 3. Aunt Kay  |  October 31, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    Hi Sweet Niece, Couldn’t help but think of you today and this scripture came to my mind, Give thanks to the Lord, call on his name. Look to the Lord and his strength, seek his face always. I know you have been doing this. I can’t help but wonder where in the world is that sister of mine right now? Knowing that God knows and that he always goes before us is a great comfort. Just need to hear from her, right? She is amazing! Her faith is strong!
    Love Ya!!

  • 4. Leah in Iowa  |  November 1, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    Just wanted to let you know that the Giving Thanks challenge begins today over at my place. I hope you’ll be able to participate again this year! =)

  • 5. Aunt Kay  |  November 2, 2008 at 11:45 am

    hi again, sorry abut the double comment, didn’t think the first one went …….oh, well! love ya!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 978,846 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


