The First Day of My One Thousand Gifts Lists

October 24, 2008 at 9:31 am 1 comment

I’m going to start this this list of gratitudes again this year.  Even though I didn’t make it to one thousand things last year, it affected me positively.  I’d been thinking of it again lately and then ran across the challenge to join it officially.  I’m not much of an official anything, but I will try to add my lists as I can.

I don’t know what will flow more easily or what format will work best, so I’m just going to have to feel my way through it awkwardly at first and see what becomes of me.

It seems the best place to start is just with #1.  Numbering things is where I got a little lost last year.  It seemed hard to number things from one day to the next (remembering where I was last…starting in the same place to remember where I left off).  I need to work on a way to make that easier for me.

But, for today, just getting started is the goal.  One thousand things that are gifts to me.  Things that bless.  Things I notice.  Things that relieve.  Help.  Inspire.  Go un-noticed.  “In all things, give thanks.”  I’ll try.  I’ll start.  I think I need this.  Especially now.

  1. Rain, starting about midnight
  2. figuring out how to load songs into my phone’s music player
  3. the new, cheap memory card that allowed me to put songs on my phone
  4. the motivation to walk or be with my son, listening to favorites like David Crowder, like this morning
  5. being able to sit with my son again today…his eye is really bothering him today, conjunctivitis
  6. a rainy morning with low light
  7. Lucky Charms cereal hits the spot for me lately
  8. Wal*Mart took my returns
  9. the leaves may get richer in color with the drought letting up?
  10. contact with friends who offer companionship and brightness
  11. emails
  12. skype
  13. jogging suits
  14. Naproxen
  15. Claritin
  16. new list pad for errands I love
  17. new lists
  18. goals
  19. help
  20. The Hub helping with kids and meals so much this week
  21. agendas given early so I can prepare
  22. photos
  23. silver
  24. binders
  25. magazine holders to hide messes
  26. small trash can on my desk
  27. the ticking of a clock…quiet
  28. loosening expectations and agendas…rest
  29. planning ahead, holidays, guests, family, joy
  30. gifts given by the Lord making a heart smile (purse)
  31. a refrigerator dripping with signs life: projects and pride and accomplishment and family
  32. Bounty paper towels
  33. microfiber cloths for windows (how did I miss these?)
  34. tea kettle that whistles
  35. fall mugs
  36. a bar mostly clean
  37. new recipe books
  38. dreams for home
  39. ball caps
  40. jewelry with meaning
  41. devotional books
  42. memory cards
  43. peace
  44. health
  45. recovery
  46. tylenol
  47. hope
  48. Jesus
  49. The Holy Spirit
  50. My Father, God
  51. Order
  52. resting in disorder
  53. down comforter
  54. good fiction to read with my son
  55. a supportive spouse
  56. good pens
  57. the humor of the order of my list today
  58. inspiring books
  59. magazines
  60. coupon binder
  61. sales
  62. a working vehicle
  63. lights
  64. my Timex watch with a date, gold and silver
  65. old tennis shoes that fit well
  66. naps
  67. cordless phones
  68. white Corell Wear
  69. Kleenexes
  70. Things done
  71. fingers
  72. breathing deeply
  73. wisdom
  74. passion
  75. security
  76. trust
  77. faith
  78. community
  79. connection
  80. learning
  81. dreaming
  82. making
  83. finding
  84. seeking
  85. becoming
  86. small Bibles
  87. my new, cheap, sports watch
  88. ebay
  89. fast shipping
  90. the internet
  91. challenges
  92. purpose
  93. motivation
  94. filling
  95. emptying
  96. loving
  97. caring
  98. nurturing
  99. pushing
  100. pulling
Entry filed under: Everyday.

I Love Blogging One Thousand Gifts: 101-176

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. cassandra minton  |  October 24, 2008 at 10:06 am

    It is funny how God works. He has been dealing with me on attitude and being thankfull. I have started my own list, I add to it daily in my journal. Started working on it yesterday. Thank you for sharing yourself.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 984,437 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


