Sunday

October 19, 2008 at 9:51 am 5 comments

Decided to take the morning off from church today.

Got in about 10PM last night.  Goldilocks wailed out loud all the way home, The Hub said.  I had the two boys.  I think I did most the crying while they argued about getting the window rolled all the way up and other nonsensical things.

Forgot the last two slices of pot pie and rice in the back of the van.  I’ll probably make fresh with the supplies I bought for a third one for lunch.  I made XL ones yesterday and thought there would be plenty between meals.  They were good.  I set the security alarm off getting into the house.  I forgot the right code.  The police came.  Hated to bother them, but it was sort of funny.  I would have called Mom quickly for the right code, but alas, did not have her cell put back in my phone since she’s losing it in a few days anyway.  😀

We got home last night and pulled the foam mattress in front of the fire.  The Hub took the girl and older boy.  I took Red to the guest bed.  They went to sleep with their cloth hankies Mamaw had given them.  Red tucked his in his pillow so he wouldn’t lose it.  Goldy held hers all night.  She was hysterical for about a half hour and then we got her calmed down.  Emotional development isn’t fully developed yet…once they get started, they need help knowing how to stop, and why to stop.  They talked a long while about nonsensical things.  I shut our door.

Called in backup for Sunday school.  I owe someone big time.  I just think sitting on an empty row at church today was going to be too hard and would take away from the focus of the revival.  Last night was hard enough.  Red felt the need to USE his new-found hanky all service.  He is learning what grief means and doesn’t know how yet.  It’s somehow both humorous and painful to watch him.

Finally got to bed, curled up with Red.  Cried for myself some.  Couldn’t breathe.  Got up and took a Claritin, Naproxen, and a Tylenol.  Got back up for nasal spray (totally recommend that after a deep crying spell). Could breathe.

Fell asleep until 3:30AM.  Got up feeling the need to throw up.  Took 1/2 a Phenegran.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t find the pill form.  At that hour, who cares–I’ll take the south route. The Hub was going to work until mid-afternoon, and I’d needed rest to manage the kids.  Went to my own bed, hubby wasn’t feeling well, had developed a cough.  He got up, got meds.  We snuggled and went to sleep.  I slept well until morning.

I slept with the new prayer shawl the Lord gave me last week at a consignment store.  I found it hidden down in a doily box!  I am thrilled to have it and had been wanting one for a long time, hoping to make myself one, but knowing that would happen by the time I was 95, if I was lucky.  It is a delicate white.   I’ve been sleeping in it for naps this week, and using it for prayer. It’s a covering, something tangible I can feel and touch.  It seems to represent a deliberate decision to be covered/comforted.

This morning, Grandma and Grand-dad came at the last minute to get Boy Wonder for Sunday School.  I’m so thankful for them.  They are advanced in years, but so joyful and reliable and always helpful.  I pray for their health.

The kids are begging for “the usual” at McDonalds, and I SO do not want to get ready to go out.  I probably will, though.  I know they need a little bit of normal for Sunday.

Mom had commented on my blog from yesterday’s enter.  I pulled her framed copy of this (I had permission to print a very, very few copies from the Beth Moore gang when I made it.  She had one of them.)  I saw it in her bathroom yesterday, took it down, and put it in a packing box she still had open.  The glass may not make it, and she may have chosen to not pack it, but I wanted the message to go with her.  Words I could not say, but felt as she journeys toward Iraq.

credits

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Saturday Sunday PM: A Surprise

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dori  |  October 19, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Dear friend,

    I’m praying for you today — that our God will be the stability of your times.

    This print is one of my favorite that you have ever designed…one of the very first times I remember thinking, “That Maggie…she’s one of my favorites!”

    He sees your tears, sweet one, and is collecting each and every one…they are precious to Him. Lean in closer!!

    Blessings,
    Dori

  • 2. Cousin Misty  |  October 19, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    I’ll be praying for good rest for you during the next few days.

    Love Ya,
    Misty

  • 3. Cindy  |  October 19, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    I’ve been thinking about you so much today. Although I’ve had a busy time today getting ready to leave tomorrow, still, I keep having my thoughts turn to your family. I pray that God will bring a level of comfort in this very soon, for both you and the kids. I can’t imagine how hard. I cry when my boys leave to go back to school on Sunday afternoons – I guess multiplying that by about 40 might give a hint. May God’s grace be upon you dear friend,

  • 4. Aunt Kay  |  October 21, 2008 at 8:45 am

    Hi Sweetie, I cried again when I read your blog, I heard your heart and felt you pain. This is a hard time in your families lives, I have been here so many times, having to say goodbye is so hard, but knowing we have a wonderful Protector is such a comfort! He is going right alone beside your mom, my sis, and that is what you and I have got to remember!
    I love you girl!
    Aunt Kay

  • 5. uncle Buddy  |  October 21, 2008 at 9:00 am

    some trust in chariots, some trust in horses,bust we must trust in the LORD!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 976,187 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


