The Difference a Day Makes

October 17, 2008 at 12:34 pm 5 comments

when you don’t have it anymore.

Yesterday, we found out mom’s flight itenerary was moved up a day.

It’s not that we had plans set in stone, and we were trying to stay flexible.

But, now…a day means a day.

A day we don’t have.

And we have today…full of details and “normal”…trying to stay “normal” one last day.

And we have 2 hours at best tomorrow afternoon.  My brothers will come in.

And we’ll do “normal” for a few hours.

And then…it’s life with two family members in Iraq most likely.

People ask me often to let them know if they can do anything, if I need anything.  I guess the trouble is, I don’t know what I need.  It’s just hard.  I’m not worried really.  Not anxious.  It’s just a lot to take in.  I can’t live in denial.  Military wives are MUCH better at this than I am.  I’m not used to having my world rocked and things that are supposed to stay the same changing.  Like my mom deciding to move to Ir*q.

Most days, I just have odd things like mouth ulcers disrupting what meals I feel like eating.  Jaws sore from clenching my teeth at night.  Emotional drainage seeping from who knows where.  Just numb.

I think it’s God’s will that we are this far.  He has spoken.  I am not to argue with it, and I won’t.

At the same time, if I were to speak in computer terms…some days, I just run out of RAM.  That random access processing energy needed for the things in life.  You know, when the system shuts down and freezes up and may be going, but very slowly.  It needs a whole reboot.  And I’ve been rebooting a lot lately.  I must be build like an IBM.  What do I do?  Pray that God will rebuild me into a MAC?  😀  Maybe so.

I guess a MAC faith would say, “I was built for this.  I was designed with this season in mind.  I am built for these challenges.  They do not phase me because I am preparing.  I do not feel prepared, but I am a MAC, and MACs can do what they were built to do.  I do not have to fear because my Maker made me for this job.  He made us all for this job.”

Yeah.  I guess that does sound better.  Having my doubts gone.  Geez.  I’m not even sure right now that I can navigate the enemy of my disposition:  the US Post Office.  That is stretching me.  I do not even know what postage is currently.

Mom and I are having odd conversations, like,

Mom:  “But we barely see each other now you’re so busy.”

“True, but we breath the same air.”

Mom”  “Yeah, I guess we can just have to look at the same sky instead.”

“Is it the same sky [twelve hours difference?]”

“I don’t know.”

“What are your favorite treats for me to send?”

“You know.”

“No, I don’t know.”

“Well, anything with coconut.”

“Really?  Uh!”

“What’s coconut in?”

“Almond Joy, Mounds.”

“UGH!  No.  Never would have picked that in a million years.”

“Do you have a key to my house?”

“I don’t know.  I have about three.”

There are a lot of things I could say as to what it means to have someone near.  Not because you do a lot together, but just because it means security, support, assistance, availability, help cooking…but most of those things would only bring tears today.  Extra tears most of us don’t want or need.  I’ve not be at all sure what to say to be helpful.  Do you say all on your heart just in case you never get to say it again?  Or do you walk in faith and just know, that at some point, it’s already been said, or implied.  To make us all stronger, you bank on the relationship, not the words.

I’m going with plan B.  Simply because faith and strength will speak more loudly than emotion and what we all already know.  Both of us at this point will say to one another:  “Nope.  Don’t even go there.  Not now.  Don’t get me started with all that.”

So…strength.  Confidence.  Faith.  Prayers.  Hope.  Support.  Those things I guess are what is needed.  I’ve felt the prayers, have needed them, and keep relying on them and on the Lord who upholds us all with his Mighty Right Hand now and forever.

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread Saturday

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  October 17, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Prayers said for all of you guys. What an emotional weekend you have ahead of you.

    Maybe it is a good thing revival is this weekend. I hope to see you some of it!

  • 2. Holly @ Crownlaiddown  |  October 17, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Praying for you, my dear friend!

  • 3. gchyayles  |  October 17, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Praying for you my sister. I love you so much. I can only imagine how tough this must be for you and I will continue to pray for your strength and comfort. Know that God is receiving glory and that His plan is perfect for your mom’s life and that it will come to pass, just as He has said, which is always for our good. Email me anytime you need to vent or just need someone to pray and give you some encouragement.

  • 4. Cousin Misty  |  October 17, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Saying prayers for you. It’s terribly hard to be without a parent that you have depended on for so long. I’ll pray that peace will flood over you and give you precious, happy memories to think about while she is away!

    Love You!
    Cousin Misty

  • 5. Cindy  |  October 17, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    Don’t push yourself to be strong. When all the rush is over and you need a shoulder (or an ear), you know that mine are available. Allow yourself to experience the emotion you need to experience – remember you’re not alone.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 978,064 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


