Tent Revival, A Memorable One

October 14, 2008 at 11:18 pm 3 comments

I’d show you the pictures of the full moon, Clay Crosse, and the packed tent.  However, my new disc seems to have lost the pictures.

The setup was:  my husband had like 4-5 meetings tonight, I lost count and had to cover one for him.  But, I’m glad the guy went to the school and invited the kids, and that they REALLY, REALLY wanted to go, or else I might not have tried to fit one more thing into the already crammed evening.  I made it back at the end of the Crosse  concert.  Fortunately, I’d run into my brother early on…he and his wife took my kids so I could slip away for my meeting.

In spite of losing the photos, I’ll never forget the night.  During the “youth service” invitation, I asked my two kids, already saved, to be praying for those who needed to make a decision.  They did, quickly.  My daughter said, “I KNOW of someone here who is not saved.”

“Really?  You do?”
“Yup.”

I didn’t ask.  It was church time.

Later, after the youth service, the evangelist spoke.  The invitation came.  My kids were restless by then.  Goldilocks falling on my lap, Boy Wonder looking at my watch every five minutes.  The speaker was good, but they were saved, so the message on evangelism wasn’t for them, and they knew it.  A great feeling for a Mom.

Another long invitation and talk about h*ll, and calls to raise hands and pray prayers and stand up and come forward.

And then…it happened.  I saw Goldilocks best friend across the room stand up.  I didn’t know she was there, and I assumed she was saved.  I had broken a rule and opened my eyes when they were supposed to be closed.

I asked about her, and sure enough, she’d been expressing very real “secret time” doubts when young girls talk. And her friend had been praying.

She was sitting a row behind her mom and sat down when the call came for her to go forward.

She’d made a profession at a very young age, but wasn’t at all sure she knew what she was doing at that time.

We talked in circles about doubts and how to know for sure, and talked with mom, and gave a break, and I could see that she was still restless and agitated.  I hated to imagine that potential car wreck on the way home, so we talked some more after the service, first about how we don’t have to “do any steps right” to be saved, we just confess our sins and receive the free gift of salvation for those sins only Christ can offer…because only he lived a perfect live…only he could be that perfect sacrifice, once and for all time, dying in our place, for our sin because he had no sins of his own to pay the price and die for.  He didn’t have to die…ever.  He died for us so that our souls could be forgiven and we could live forever.  He died so that relationship and fellowship with God could be restored now that we were clean again.

After a lot of different directions, I finally just asked her if she knew what God was telling her to do.  I said, “God won’t leave you confused.  He may be speaking to your heart now telling you what to do.”

She said, “I need to be saved.”

I said, “Well, that’s fine.  Would you feel better talking with a pastor?”

“Nope, I’m ready to pray right here now.”

“Do you want to pray in your own words, or would you like for me to guide you through a prayer?”

“I want to use my own words.”

“Alright then, let’s pray.”

So she did.

And then I prayed with her.

And off to themselves, she and her best friend, I’m told later, were praying together while I assumed they were exchanging notes.  A prayer of thanksgiving, now, “for sure” sisters in Christ.

She said to her mom, “Now, I feel good!”

Her mom said she’d been asking questions for some time, and she’d been talking with her pastor.

Who knows if she was truly saved already or not, but when I asked if she knew Jesus was her Savior, and that he died for her sin, and he was the only one who could do it, she said, “I’m…I’m just not sure about that.  I think I believe.  I’m just not sure.”

I explained to her that in the Old Testament, animal sacrifices were required to cover people’s sin, but those were only temporary because they weren’t perfect.  When Jesus came, he never sinned, so his death could pay for the sins of the world completely.

Jesus was the perfect sacrifice of all time, the only man ever able to pay for our sin.

It seemed this was the first time that really clicked for her.  That explains WHY the Bible says, “I am THE way, THE truth, and THE life, no man comes to the Father except through me.” (It’s not that he’s being exclusive to other religions, it’s just the only way that works.  We needed a Saviour, not just a prophet.)

Sin requires death, the Bible says.  Our body still will die (a result of the fall (Adam & Eve), but, our spirit can live forever with him BECAUSE he already paid the penalty for us, died, and went to hell, “overcoming death and the grave” so that we could live and never have to face that punishment.  We still make mistakes, but they are forgiven.

Man.  That is peace.

There are no “right steps” to be saved.

There is no “emotional experience” that means we are saved.

It’s surrendering to the fact that we needed a Saviour who came, lived a perfect life, and died for our sin, overcoming, sin, death, and the grave, and giving our life in exchange for his perfect life, living in us, guiding us.

If you are reading this and understanding something for the first time, or have questions about it, feel free to email me at magnanimityblog@gmail.com.

You know, I had my doubts about when to put the kids in public school.  But, this is her second friend she’s coached to Christ in a year!  She is outpacing her mother.  Very humbling.

I praise God for his grace and pray continually for his protection for our children.

Entry filed under: Everyday.

On Ali the lost photos/a poll for you

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Renea  |  October 15, 2008 at 5:42 am

    We all rejoice for the friend!!!! What a wonderful experience–for Goldilocks and for you!!!

  • 2. cassandra minton  |  October 15, 2008 at 7:37 am

    Awesome, so proud of of “Goldilocks”.

  • 3. emily  |  October 15, 2008 at 9:37 am

    I DON’T KNOW IF YOU WANT TO PUT THIS ON THE BLOG BUT SINCE MY EMAIL IS MESSED UP THIS IS THE ONLY WAY THAT I WRITE. THE YOUNG TEENAGE BOY THAT HAS WENT TO CHURCH WITH US SOME,CAME WITH US LAST NIGHT. I HAD TO GO NURSE THE BABY DURING THE ALTER CALL AND WHEN I CAME BACK TO MY GRATEFUL AMAZEMENT HE HAD WENT DOWN TO GET SAVED. I AM SO HAPPY BECAUSE THE KIDS AND I AND THE CHURCH PRAYER TEAM HAS BEEN PRAYING FOR THIS BOY. I HAD PUT HIM ON THE SALVATION CARD TWO WEEKS BEFORE HE AGREED TO GO TO CHURCH. HE SAID THAT HE WANTS TO GO DOWN SUNDAY IN FRONT OF THE CHURCH. GOD HAS REALLY BEEN SPEAKING TO ME LATELY. I HAVE BEEN TAKING MY WALK WITH HIM MUCH MORE SERIOUS. I HAVE HAD A FEW TIMES WHERE I HAVE MESSED UP BIG TIME AND HAVE FELT DEFEATED, LIKE MAYBE, I WASN’T GOOD ENOUGH, OR THAT THE SPIRITUAL ARMOR WAS NOT WORKING.I KNOW HE’S BEEN SPEAKING TO ME THROUGH HIS WORD AND OTHER PEOPLE AND CIRCUMSTANCES, SONGS. AND I REALIZED LAST NIGHT THAT IT WAS JUST PART OF THE WARFARE, HAD I NOT PULLED IT TOGETHER I PROBABLY WOULDN’T HAVE TOOK THE KIDS LAST NIGHT. GOD WOULD HAVE GOT HIS BUSINESS DONE REGARDLESS, I AM JUST GLAD THAT I WAS THERE TO WITNESS IT. E. M. LITTLE COUSIN WENT DOWN TO AND MADE A PROFESSION, I AM VERY EXCITED ABOUT THE REVIVAL, I JUST HOPE WHAT EVERYONE GETS THEY DON’T PUT ON A SHELF SOMEWHERE TO COLLECT DUST, I HOPE THE EXPERIENCE GREAT JOY IN THEIR NEW WALKS AND REDEDICATIONS.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 976,377 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


