Productivity

September 25, 2008 at 9:45 pm 4 comments

Today, I totally had the day centered around the task of getting the pool ready to close and being here when the guys came to close it with all the paraphenalia they would need.

True to form for most service situations, at noon, they still hadn’t called for a “morning appointment”.  So, I called with a voicemail.  They came fifteen minutes later, ironically enough.

Now, it’s closed.  A big elephant on the patio, as CJ says.  We are hoping to get rid of the worn green “elephant” and get a tan “elephant”.  But, that requires my getting it here.

Fortunately for me the cool weather is cheerful, even with the “elephant”.

I probably didn’t swim twice this year…all sorts of drama this summer.  I’m not sure I ever got in the nice summer boredom stage.  I need to work on that next year.  It’s not that I got a lot done…but I guess it was on my mind all the time, and that’s about as bad.

Today: trimmed the sides of both boys heads.  I’m not sure why, but they both have curls there that have been driving me nutty.  So, now they look a little less unkempt.  Boy Wonder hates haircuts–boy could make wool.

I also did some super-fast scrapbooking that really lifted my spirits today.  I’ll have to show you when I get the photos ready.  I had a conversation with a Mom this week that was on the topic of not receiving enough “affirmation” just “doing the stuff”.  The conversation led me to focus on the points of celebration of things I get to do, just because I’m here.  And it’s good to celebrate that when you get lonely.  A typical problem for stay at home moms.  Working moms are exhausted, so a tradeoff.

The guys got the yard mowed today.

Tomorrow will be laundry day and fall festival.

Oh, girlfriends!  I’m TOTALLY excited!  Today I didn’t feel like cooking, and I didn’t have to!  We still had a homemade meal!  I did cook…but not today! The first real joy of my frozen meals book.  I actually just used a recipe I had and used the same freezing process.

You just double/triple  what you are cooking, or triple it and freeze in flattened zip lock bags (most of the time, when possible), for easy stacking.

Well, I didn’t have pie crust for the chicken pot pie, so I made a double pie crust from scratch. BUT, I had the energy to throw one together since I didn’t have to do all the other cooking.  That was fun for the kids to help roll out, too.  They LOVE the rolling pin action! Nothing like dough and a rolling pin to raise enthisiasm.

Yup, I’ll be freezing again. We still have some Sloppy Joes in there I can pull from, but I needed buns for that.

Tonight, I plan to look at the circulars and hit Kroger tomorrow to fill holes for next week.  Sweet Solace posted a recipe today that sounds like one my mom used to make with turkey or chicken…I can’t wait to try it!  It’s sounds so “Fall”!  Putting that on my list!  I bet I could double that, too!  😀

I’m curious…what recipes do you make extra and freeze for later?

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Pray for Camen Thompson — An Update Saturday–A Perfect Fall Day

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  September 26, 2008 at 8:41 am

    Oh! That Chicken Casserole would freeze really well. I would make it to the point of baking and instead, transfer the entire baking dish to the freezer. Take it out when ready and add about 30 minutes or so to the cook time. So easy!

    I made stuffed shells last week and froze half of them. We are going to enjoy them tomorrow. Very easy.

    Another two recipes that are easy to freeze are hashbrown casserole and “Spanish Delight”

    It’s super easy…

    brown 1 pound hamburger meat. (add onions if desired– I leave out for picky eaters)
    when browned, drain fat and add 1 can tomato sauce, 1 can tomato soup, 1 can mexicorn and heat through. (add chili powder to taste. I usually use about 1 tsp.)

    Boil some egg noodles and then toss with meat mixture, pour into 13×9 pan and cover with grated cheddar cheese. Bake until bubbly and starting to brown.

    😀

  • 2. Misty  |  September 26, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Chili, soups, lasagna, extra pot-sticker filling, pancakes, waffles, breads, etc. You can freeze just about anything. 🙂

    Good job on the productivity! I’m way behind today, but I DID get a shower 🙂

  • 3. Merrie.  |  September 26, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    Sounds like you had a day that MAKES you sleep well!
    I love to make huge pots of soup, and spaghetti to freeze. Also, when I’m browning ground beef, I love to do huge amounts with onions, peppers, and celery and freeze parts so I can just pull out a bag and use for base in many dishes (sloppy joes, chili, etc). Or, if I find chicken on sale I can season it and boil it then debone and then freeze for future use in pot pie, soup, chicken ala king, salad, chicken spaghetti, even add bbq sauce and make sandwiches – the list is endless.
    It is more half prepare some meals in the middle of one meal prep. It makes the next one easier.
    Also, when cooking rice or potatoes, double/triple the size and freeze for another meal.
    When I have left over veggies, I dump them in a container in the freezer. I just put them all in one. Then, when I get ready to make soup, I take it out and put it in the pot… the only thing is to be careful seasoning after that because I have already seasoned the veggies and have been known to over season later.

  • 4. Cindy  |  September 27, 2008 at 9:37 am

    I love the idea of making extra and freezing. We eat out a lot, especially now that it is just the two of us most of the time. But eating out is getting really tiresome. I would love to have something in the freezer already made that I could pop in the oven when I get home at night–would definitely be helpful during tax season.

    We closed our pool last week and I really miss looking out the window and seeing the water. That green pool cover just doesn’t have the same effect.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 976,255 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


