Tuesday

September 16, 2008 at 11:42 am 8 comments

I just saw a video that could potentially pull me away, eventually, from my leopard print coupon binder…it has at least challenged me to think.  Perhaps I could accomplish the same thing with some folder inserts.

This chick is using a binder we already have laying around that my son used last year for school.  This year, they aren’t using binder’s, so I can use it if I want.  Anything no longer used is obviously Mom’s.

I’ve found that on rare occasions when I do find myself needing to shop at Wal*Mart, I am not prepared with the necessary salebills and this would fix that problem for me quite well.  I don’t look at  inserts for sales well enough to do well at Wal*Mart.  With this folder, you keep them with you.  I could see where that would be especially handy, even if I could only muster, initially, the energy to check it for colas.  The family is getting picky about what they like, so I end up buying it if we are out whether it’s on sale or not just because gas is so high, I might as well.

I haven’t been doing all that well with my couponing lately, mainly because I hit a “purge” season and I’m dropping in stores a lot to just get necessities rather than one big shopping trip.  But, this post has me amazed at how much I spend and how little I potentially could spend, once again.  She does a great job of motivating, that “Money-Saving Mom”.

I just bought a few consignment items today–a hug Pampered Chef, divided bag I hope to use to do better with green bagging.  I have looked at the Kroger bags several times, but they don’t seem big enough and I’m thinking I’d need about 20 of them.  This will at least handle some things…perhaps I can put all my soft and refrigerator items in it to carry it to the second fridge more easily?  We’ll see how crazy that drives me and the bagger people.

Also, I’m currently in a recipe purge mode, trying to get myself motivated for fall weather and new menus.  I am NOT a recipe book collector, however, I’m really working hard on my attitude in the kitchen.  I am finding that I have brought with me into adulthood that the kitchen just means a lot of work and that food is about sustenance, which I can get from a nice bowl of cereal without all the hassle.  My husband has brought with him into adulthood that food is spelled L-O-V-E.  His mother was Aunt B.  That is a high compliment to her.

Finding the healthy version of Aunt B. and finding a new rhythm to my kitchen is something on my mind a lot…something I’ve not had time or motivation to do until my kids are old enough to sit down at a meal and for us to enjoy that time together.

I bought

I got the Contessa book for $12.00 (what’s a Contessa, anyway?).  Many recipes looked like stuff my family would actually enjoy.  It is listed at $35 new on Amazon, and $15.40 used, plus you have to add S&H.  The second, I bought for a quote in the front I liked mainly.  It was $.50.  Amazon, it would have been $.47, so I was robbed three cents…but again, you’d have to add S&H.  Finally, the last I bought for $4.00, $8.80 used on Amazon, saved there.  I am interested in having at least a few meals frozen ahead so that I can enjoy the kitchen more and not have every day taken withcooking and cleaning all day on those harried days.  I’ll have to clean both freezers and plan to make this work, but I think I’m up for that perhaps.  A friend of mine really enjoyed a few seasons a year doing this.  It would give me a nice break in the kitchen.

Finally, I played my Navy brother a good game of tennis today.  We haven’t done that in a LONG time.  He said, “Sis, it is very good to be back home close to family.  I’ve missed it a lot.  I couldn’t wait to get home that last leg.”  He brushed up fairly quickly, remember his topspin/backspin, and kept me on my toes.  A great game.  It was tied at 4 to 4 and our dueces lasted long enough for me to have to retie both shoes three times.  He finally beat me 6 to 4.  Seeing as how my serve is still in recovery mode, I didn’t do half bad.  Good venting…I love a good game of tennis.  The weather was PERFECT for it.  No sun, gentle breeze, nice Penn balls a few games old.  Nothing better.

I had five children here yesterday while so many were without power and torn every direction trying to make schedules work, they were great fun, but the quiet is very nice today, too.  The highlight of the day was a bird burial the kids had with a bird they’d found who’d been shot.  I’m not sure I can capture it in words…I’ll have to blog those photos this week sometime.

Gearing up to try to teach my first scrapbooking class for MOPS tomorrow!  I’m excited about that and prayful about how much to say and what to do.

Entry filed under: Everyday.

REPORT: Number of Power Outages Reading the Men’s Blog Again

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  September 16, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    Excited about tomorrow, too!

    You might be surprised by the Kroger bags. They hold much more than they look like. They are a lot nicer than the Wal Mart ones, too.

  • 2. Cindy  |  September 16, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    I do love the idea of using coupons and saving money. Bonnie, my office manager can get tons of groceries for an amazingly small amount of money. She has a daughter that lives in Louisville, so she gets the Louisville newspaper, cuts the coupons (she also has access to surplus of newspapers so gets them for nothing) goes to Louisville where the stores there will run double and sometimes triple coupon values. She has actually come out with several bags of groceries and paid NO money. Yep, that’s right.

    In this area, we rarely, if ever, see our stores offer those savings. I sure wish we did. I love the binder, but there is more than a little bit of time involved in collecting, organizing and using those coupons. Have you found the savings worth the amount of time and effort this could require?? Also, I know in the past, I have bought things I really wouldn’t have, if I hadn’t had a coupon. In that case, no matter what the savings, there really was no savings.

    I LOVE the idea of saving money on food and supplies – especially since things are getting so expensive. Is the potential (the groceries for 40 something $) even realistic here?? Questions, questions.

  • 3. Maggie  |  September 16, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Great comment, Cindy.

    I don’t know…if I am diligent just with items on sale, making those things
    our staples rather than just family favorites, they all learn something, and
    the bill goes down.

    I use coupons for things we already use (Kroger coupons) and search online
    for things we have brand loyalties for that don’t go on sale as often.

    I really think I can save a lot with very little investment of time.

    I can do it 1-2 times a month or so and not feel like it’s limiting my life.

    A person can make a hobby out of it, and I’m not willing to invest that
    must life weekly. Just an area I feel like I should do better and could do
    better now that the kids don’t take all my emotional energy shopping.

    I find that I do better to do couponing in spurts. Sometimes life takes
    over and just having homecooked meals is the joy…I am saving just by
    giving us home and family time away from restaurants.

    I am not a regular newspaper reader and don’t like circulars at all…so if
    they want my business, they generally have to put it online. That’s what I
    don’t do Wal*Mart except on rare occasion when I need to be there for
    something else.

  • 4. Kimberly  |  September 16, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    a Contessa is a female Count. Royalty, I believe. Italian maybe?

  • 5. Stacey  |  September 16, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    I can almost always get the store brand cheaper than a name-brand with a coupon. That deters me from doing as much coupon-clipping as I used to.

    Plus, there are very few things I am brand-loyal too. Brand (imo) is a lot of hype. For example, I have heard from a name brand bread distributor that Kroger and IGA store brand is the exact same bread… just a different label.

    I have a friend who saves the coupons from the Sunday papers for me. They just aren’t as good as they used to be. 😦

  • 6. Maggie  |  September 16, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    Good point. However, I can usually beat store brands on a lot of things if they are already on sale.
    I am brand loyal to Bounty paper towels, certain toothpastes, shampoos, OJ, some medicines like Dimetapp and Tylenol (the flavor is considerably better for the kids).

    The Kroger coupons are well worth saving. People are throwing away cash with those. $2.00 off Kroger dairy, for instance.

    And if I’m not disciplined, I am throwing it away, too!

  • 7. Alyssa @ Keeping the Kingdom First  |  September 16, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    Hi Maggie!

    Thanks so much for the kind words about my coupon binder. I appreciate the link!

    I actually agree with you. The amount of time I invest in couponing is well worth the effort. I only started seriously using coupons about a year ago. Since, then, I have cut my grocery bill in half. I also beat the store brands with double or triple coupons combined with a sale. I believe that stockpiling saves a lot of money in the long run too.

    I am also a MOPS member, and taught a session on coupons! Good luck with your class!

  • 8. Kim  |  September 17, 2008 at 6:48 am

    Good luck at MOPS today!!! I know you will do great.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 978,783 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


