Morning; 7-8:30

August 25, 2008 at 9:08 am 1 comment

Yesterday, it was a pleasure to go to worship.  God has delivered me from pain all day Saturday.  It was wonderful.  I was pleased to praise.  Tears began to flow as I sang…down one eye.  That was a little weird, so it was with some relief that they began to flow down both eyes at some point.

I could sympathize with a story a teacher told this weekend of a little boy who was in a gym too loud for little kindergartners.  He was holding his ears, all curled up, and tears were flowing down his face.  The teacher was comforting the kids and as she led them from the loud room, the little boy looked up at his teacher and said, “I just have one question…”  She said, “What?”  He said, “Why am I crying?”

My second grade Sunday School class was jam packed yesterday and it caught me totally off guard.  More planning is going to need to go into that!  In any case, the morning with it’s emotional drain put my back into another wad the rest of the day.  I rested most of the day and have much catch-up to do today.

The Hub invited his parents over after church last night.  We ate a cold watermelon fresh from  my elderly neighbors garden. It was HUGE and DELICIOUS.  We watched the closing ceremonies.

Today, The Boy wanted to play tennis before school, but I’m not up for it, and thankfully, it also rained and my stomach was cramping from chocolate chip muffins this morning.  So, we came back home and I asked him to join me for a quiet time on the back porch.  We reviewed a short devotional together.  (I found my scripture cards!  Yeah!)  I had him look and read through some of my special cards.  He said, “Mom?  You mean you started writing these in 2002, that long ago? ”

I said, “No, son.  I started in about 1991 writing scriptures on notecards as they ministered to me or as I needed them.  They’ve really added up, haven’t they?”

“Yeah, I can’t believe you wrote that much.”

“Yes.  But, there is something about knowing that the same God who led me to write it the first time, whatever I was going through at that time, is the same God today.  He spoke to me then, and he still speaks the same words to me today.  He doesn’t change.  I just forget.”

“Hmmm.”

I handed him a couple cards that had concepts I’ve been trying to impress on him lately…ones about the Lord disciplining those he loves, and how discipline is part of life that builds character in us.  I asked if he knew what they meant, and he did.

He shared with me things they are learning in his new Sunday School “youth class” on being a son of God, and on spiritual gifts.  It’s so nice to have those intentional conversations with him.  There is not often in a house of five where I can talk to one uninterrupted.

In fact, these days, I’d have to say that an uninterrupted conversation is one of life’s greatest pleasures.

He spent the night with Mom last night.  He said, “Mom, she’s going to Iraq.  Have you seen her tub?  It’s full of things she is packing.  There are boxes everywhere.  She had me setting up her laptop for her with Skype and iTunes.  She said she’d be back every four months.  Four months.”

We still have no news, but the winds of change still blow.

I read this scripture card shortly after that:

Though an army besiege me,

my heart will not fear;

though war break out against me,

even then I will be confident.

For in the day of trouble he will keep me safe in his dwelling;

he will hide me in the shelter of his tabernacle and set me high on a rock.  (Psalm 27:3)

I did not read that to him, but I rested in it.

I did read him this one.  I said, “See if this sounds funny to you in reading it”

“I told you these things so that you may have perfect peace and confidence

In the world you have tribulation and trials and distress and frustration;  (we both started giggling)

but be of good cheer (more giggles) [take courage; be confident, certain undaunted]

for I have overcome the world.  [I have deprived it of it’s power to harm you.]

I said, “It’s like a bee that stings you with it’s stinger taken out.”

He said, “When I get stung by a bee, it still hurts!”

I replied, “I know.  Sometimes it does.  But he has taken much of it for us already.  Isn’t that good to know?”

And then, he said, “I have a brain teaser for you.”

And we did a math brain teaser.  I figured it out, of course.

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Why Not Praise Him? (I say with some reservation tonight…) These Days…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. emily  |  August 30, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    i am glad you are getting to spend time alone like this with your oldest. this is priceless in investing in his future and the future of your whole family. because the other two will follow his lead, i wish my oldest and i could get more quality time alone.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 975,281 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


