Yesterday’s Sunday Review

July 21, 2008 at 9:34 am 9 comments

From were I was sitting, worship was great yesterday. My Navy brother was in and surprised me by joining us, both my youngest did well in the service (whew), and my heart was so full of the greatness of God this week.  There are so many seeking him and convicted of specific sins I am hearing from.  The Spirit of God is really  moving in people’s lives and it’s just incredible to see.

I left the capo on for the invitation.  Our worship order had changed the order and I had it set for the next song, which wasn’t the next song.  There was so much going on in practice I didn’t have time to pencil that in as I should have. Someone tried to check me on it, I think, but I was so busy reprogramming the synthesizer and had my ear buds already in, so I couldn’t hear.  I really hate it when that happens!

People liked the wind sound we tried, I think.  I heard, use it more, and make it a little softer.  So, feedback is always generally, good.  😀

Mom and I then drove 3 hours and 4 minutes to my step-Dad’s daughter’s WalkTo Emmaeus closing. It was good.  God met her, it seems.  Then, we ate at Cheddar’s (Mmmm), then drove back…another 3 hours and 4 minutes.

Things I learned:  do not trust TomTom, MapQuest, or my Mom to get me to small towns in Tennessee unless I want to make a turn after 5-10-15 minutes.

Do not trust TomTom  in general for small road travel.  I’m not even going to go into it routing us around the same three block radius in a circle for four trips before we figured out it was not trustworthy.  Mom and I had a hoot anyway –good to go.

3.  My Hubby got a couple fluorescent lights mounted while I was gone!  I’m feelin’ the love!  Now, I we get to patch more drywall and clean that project up.  More drywall.  Yeesh.  More dust.  On my desk, and around my computer.  I’m not sure I can take it all in.

4.  This weekend, fun with the kids.  More on that later.

5.  I seriously have some housework calling my name.  It looks like a pig pen in here today.  I’ve taken the kids thorugh Level One straightening of the TV room…now for the kitchen, dining room, entry ways, and paper mounds.  UGH.  Anybody else there today?  Want to race or something?  It gets so boring.

6.  Seriously…are there just like 2-ish weeks left until school starts?  The pool is just getting warm enough to be fun to swim in if you ask me!  I need to check Wal*Mart tomorrow and start on school lists, I guess!  Where are the good deals?  Anyone watching this week?

7.  My Verse of the Day:  “Let no unwholesome talk come out of your mouth, but only what is good for building other’s up according to their needs, that it may benefit all who listen.” Ephesians 4:29

That verse will be a tall order on cleaning day, but I’m up for the challenge.

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Prayer for Sunday Today is Tuesday. It’s All Good.

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  July 21, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Worship was great where I was sitting, too.

    Loved the wind sound.

    Wal*Mart has some good prices on school stuff. The only thing not very inexpensive is the silly “journals” that the 2nd graders need. They need 4 and they are well over $2 each. I hope that you don’t have trouble finding them. There was ONE box when I grabbed ours a week or so ago.

    I have already completed a lot of cleaning this morning. In fact, I doubt I’m going to do any more. I’m tired and it’s only 10am. I’m going back for more quiet time while the girls have an early lunch and watch some cartoons.

  • 2. ~E  |  July 21, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    After three long days in the heat, I am enjoying the a/c today. I am trying do some cleaning too, but like you say it is borING! Things really piled up during the swim meet this weekend and in-laws are coming Thursday! Lots to do. I bought all of daughter’s school supplies at WM. Seemed to spend less than ever before, but we are still looking for the backpack she wants. Of course, we can’t buy son’s supplies until we know which hall he is on this year and we don’t find that out until the 31st. Buy all you can early to avoid the rush. I really hate trying to shop with every other parent of school-aged children in two aisles at WM!

  • 3. mandythompson  |  July 21, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    oh the capo!!!

    i was in a bible study a few years ago and we memorized the Eph4:29 verse… we each chose two hours at some point during that week where we were going to “fast” words… we were going to “fast” negative, unwholesome talk. whew. it was rough.

  • 4. theepiphany  |  July 21, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    That verse is very relevant to a message from our soon-to-be Senior Pastor last night: Do Everything Without Complaining… Isn’t it amazing to be priviledged observing others changes and grow closer to the Lord!!?? I LOVE IT!

  • 5. Re-Re  |  July 21, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    From a teachers point of view: Buy extra now also! (pencils, paper ect.) They will run out and WM won’t have this price in the winter or spring!
    Sounds like the trip was a real hoot! I am sorry I missed it. We are moving my whole house in two days this week to put new floors down! I was needed here!
    Love ya!

  • 6. Renea  |  July 21, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    So glad that things are going well with you!! It is so awesome when you see the Lord moving people.

    A great verse to start the week.

    Last but not least, two weeks from today for teachers and two weeks from tomorrow for students–YUCK!!!!

  • 7. Misty  |  July 21, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    I’m so not ready for school to start…early mornings again, dragging kids and hubby and me out of bed 🙂

    Bought Meg’s stuff at WM, fairly good deals going on, depending on what’s on your list. For the life of me, I can’t understand why there is STILL a shortage of primary notebooks in the stores. I luckily found the 3 that Meg needed, but in a stocker’s cleanup cart 🙂 It’s all about planning you store inventory people. Learn from the mistakes of the past! 😉

    Cleaning….I did a little today while the girls were at the Mom’s Day out thing. Picked up the living room where it’s at least livable again for the time being, did some dishes, laundry, and put some bean soup in the crock pot for supper. Swim lessons all week this week from 5-6. Need easy suppers. 🙂

  • 8. Cindy  |  July 21, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    Must not have heard the wind sound. I came in a little late. Anyway, I thought the praise was really good. The sound was good yesterday too. I am sorry you missed last night. B. did a superfantastic job.

  • 9. Merrie  |  July 22, 2008 at 9:34 am

    Before I forget… we got notebook paper at Best Buy yesterday (Monday) for 15 cents a pack! Limit of 5 per customer – but at 81 cents for 5 packs, it is worth going back a few times and taking the entire family!

    I love worship. We don’t get much in our 2 little churches w/ organ music – but I do get some at home and in my car. That is one thing I really miss is true worship of the community of believers.

    We won’t even go to the mounds of dirt piled up around here. My daughter came over and vacuumed for me – that’s how bad it had gotten here. I’m in a push to complete going through boxes and then organizing for our garage sale so that I can make the much needed trip back to Georgia to visit parents. I promised I’d get it done before the trip.

    Summers have their own hectic busy…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 981,434 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


