I Escaped…But, I Still Have One Last Request

July 15, 2008 at 9:38 pm 11 comments

Somehow, I escaped getting tagged by the last local game.  Which is fine, I have trouble with assignments–all my friends know this good and well.  I‘m a rather free-spirited blogger, and if I have to think too hard to write something down that is not already flowing…well, that’s just too much like homework for me.

But, could I just say that if ANY of you local people win a million dollars and do not pay off this church debt, I will have to personally disown you.  That’s just all I’m sayin’.

I’m just going to think broadly and assume you consider it “our personal debts”.  I sure count it a huge one of mine!  I don’t want my kids inheriting debt for our dreaming for them. I’m not crazy about the idea of this much debt in any realm of life (I sure hope we NEVER do it again.  This is my second building program in this church…and there are churches who do it differently.  I seriously hope we look into that.)  In any case, because I feel I need to part of wherever the leadership of the church feels we need to go through the guidance of the Holy Spirit, I’m on board.

I’ve supported them both, though I’ve not enjoyed paying this much interest on ANYTHING.   If we don’t get to serious work on it, the fact is, we will never, ever pay it off.  We are not hitting principle and never will.  I’m keeping it at bay, but basically, the bank and not the church is getting my money at this point.  So, I hope you all help me, and others out.  I hate throwing money away…and, there is only one way to stop doing that.  That’s if we all give more, and fast.  The faster we give big, the more it does.  If we give much later, we have to work 3-4 times harder.  The numbers are big enough now without thinking of them snowballing with interest…and they will!

While I’m feeling bold, let me just say right here and now that if you complain about anything about the church budget and do not tithe and give sacrificially to what’s going on, all comments, suggestions, and opinions are null and void in my book.  Seriously, y’all…we had an on-going set of conversations with someone disgruntled about how we spent money who wanted to talk about it in every interaction, only to finally ask after several months of it being a key issue, “Are you giving to it, or have you ever?”

No.  They hadn’t.

That was the end of those conversations.  The last time it came up, I raised my hand and said, “Nope, we are not going there, this is happy time.”

It worked, just in case you’re wondering.

We all have not started in the right place and struggle to give, but if we don’t all give the widow’s mite–what we can, it won’t work.  We’re counting on generous givers who care about getting out of debt.  I very seldom post blog entries related to local issues and especially church business, it’s not my job.  But, here, I am.  If you win a million bucks, bail us out and we’ll see if we can’t do more to not get in this boat again.  I pray we can get ahead in our giving and not be behind.  I SO hate that feeling.

If you want financial freedom, I recommend getting on the waiting list for the Fall Financial class.  It was a life-changer for me. I thought I’d hate it, to be honest, but it was so…centering.

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Praises and Piddling Follow Up on “One Request”

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. velma96  |  July 15, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    I don’t go to your church…but can I just say “AMEN!!!!” Having been through building programs in 3 different churches (in 3 different states), I can say that I am in total agreement with you here.
    Also, having been through the financial class that you so often mention (crown, right?), I know how amazing it was for my husband and I. I learned SOOOO much during that course!!

  • 2. anonymous  |  July 15, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    It was a game! Sounds like you are spending way too much time worrying about the church’s debt!

  • 3. Kim  |  July 16, 2008 at 6:48 am

    First of all…very well said Maggie. The fact of the matter is that many of us find it easy to forget the church debt and just go on about our lives.

    Second of all…wow, Mr./Mrs. Anonymous obviously doesn’t know you very well or they would know that you aren’t “worrying” so to speak but rather just passionate about supporting the church on ALL levels. There is nothing wrong with that. Also, if they knew you, they would know that you wern’t being mean spirited AT ALL where the “game” was concerned.

    Third of all…you actually were tagged if you read mine because I tagged everyone who read mine who hadn’t already been tagged.

    Love you girl!!!

  • 4. -bill  |  July 16, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Thanks for speaking from the heart. Would you mind if I use this for our upcoming capital campaign? I’m not totally averse to loans, but huge sums of the Lord’s money are gobbled up in interest each year. Anything we can do to lessen this is a blessing to the lost and those in need.

  • 5. Misty  |  July 16, 2008 at 8:42 am

    I’m assuming when I said I would give “a generous portion to the church”, that they could use it for debt if needed. However, I still would pay off our debt and my family’s debts first. People who are not financially stable are not able to give as freely as those who are stable. For many it takes months and years to reach that freedom. I don’t like to see the church in debt either, but this is a hard financial time for almost everyone.

  • 6. Melissa H.  |  July 16, 2008 at 9:41 am

    Hey – just wanted you to know that Kim L. did tag you. She wasn’t sure how to do the link thing, but your name is on her tag list on her post. Thought you might want to go back and check it out.

  • 7. Cindy  |  July 16, 2008 at 1:33 pm

    Ditto: Melissa You were on Kim’s tag list. But……….whole hearted respect what you are saying. Here’s another thought for you. As I have pondered the probably of our children inheriting this debt, I realized, that it is very, very likely that many of our children will not return to this area. Who then, will pay this off. We can say God will provide, but we must be willing to be the means by which He provides. Just food for thought!

  • 8. theepiphany  |  July 16, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    Ohhh, tough issue. I agree with you that complainers who aren’t proactive have no right to open their mouths. We have experienced that in every facet of church decisions – seriously, where are their brains!?

  • 9. Kimberly  |  July 16, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    😦 😦 😦
    i tried to tag.

    you read my email, but you just said “huh”?

  • 10. "Maggie"  |  July 16, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Charity, our dreams build our lives! I just hope everyone continues to incorporate the church ministry dreams in all your dreams! How I want this burden gone and to be free again! I can’t wait to see interest payments turn to principle, and it will take our best efforts and God’s richest blessing! I pray for miracles, and I hope those prayers are joined with yours!

    Note: even if you give your tithe, that does not go to the debt retirement fund the way the budget is set up. The tithe must be given, then a separate love offering to debt retirement each week. Continue to give sacrifically so that we meet goals for freedom.

    Love,
    Maggie

  • 11. Susan  |  July 16, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Okay Maggie……you’ve been tagged so we wanna see your answers!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 981,434 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


