Pursue

June 5, 2008 at 11:10 am 2 comments

I Timothy

 6But godliness with contentment is great gain. 7For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. 8But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that. 9People who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge men into ruin and destruction. 10For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs.

Paul’s Charge to Timothy

 11But you, man of God, flee from all this, and pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, endurance and gentleness. 12Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called when you made your good confession in the presence of many witnesses.

That verse 11 bolded is my verse for the year.

Pursue righteousness (right relationship with God)

Pursue godliness (being like him)

Pursue faith (that condition of soul that believes God is in control and is not holding out on me for my best)

Pursue love (I Cor. 13)

Pursue endurance (right now…every day)

Pursue gentleness(pursue being more gentle, less harsh, less abrupt, less NOW).

PURSUE these things.

I ran into this verse again in our money class last night.  It is my key verse of the year and I hadn’t seen it in a while.

Pursue endurance…God works out his character in us by the things of life, for sure.

So easy to think these attributes or conditions of soul are a natural part of the Christian life–easy to think that if I just pray and go to Church–they result, eventually.  

This finance class has sharpened us in many ways.  In my parenting, our goals for the kids, why we do what we do. 

I need that time in the word.  I need focus.  Direction.  Intentional growth. 

I need to PURSUE.

Tell me, in which of those areas is God stretching you to “pursue” right now?  Does He help you “pursue”?

Entry filed under: Everyday.

D-Day: Eye-Dr. Day (Six days after ASA surgery) Oh, I can hardly wait…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kim  |  June 5, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    I really think God is stretching me in all of those areas and then some. Situations and circumstances all around that are “testing” and growing me. I really like the phrase “intentional growth”. It’s so easy to learn from life experiences but to be intentional is the growth process with God can and will take us to a whole new level.

    Thanks for some good thoughts.

  • 2. gchyayles  |  June 6, 2008 at 12:22 am

    God stretches me in all those areas periodically but in this season I believe the most is showing love to family in spite of them having disowned me and how they treat me if and when they do communicate. I am thankful for the experience; it has helped me show love in other areas, towards other people, too. PRAISE GOD!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 982,341 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


