Follow Up to Last Post: Upward Soccer 2008

May 17, 2008 at 1:25 pm 2 comments

Well, I asked for prayer this morning, and here’s what happened.

First, my son showed up home 5 minutes after his game was supposed to start, getting his game and sis’s picture time mixed up –I was late, too.

Next, I got there and  Josh had locked his keys in his car and forgot to bring the newsletters from the church. 

He went and got them. 

Then, pictures weren’t scheduled for the kindergarten league.  Came up with a solution for that. 

Next, game times were scheduled to over-lap–they handled it. 

Personally, the fields were very wet and I had on sandles (ones I had to scrape dog poop off of before I left the house after stepping in it last night…what’s that SMELL?  Oh, it’s meNothing like the prospect of sharing the word of God with the strong smell of dog poop following you.) 

I still had my head held high.  I was ready. 

As I jumped puddles (literally) across the field, I fiddled with my keys–breaking off my special keychain cross Stacey gave me in my birthday card last year. 

I started to melt a bit.  Love that leather cross.

At that point, I saw Chris…walked a bee-line there and said, “I think you should start praying.”

He laughed and said, “Why, what’s going on?”  He was coaching, so I gave the Reader’s Digest version, but I made sure to tell him that my cross just broke.  (I think I can glue it…maybe).

Then, I remembered that I forgot the sunscreen for my red head–couldn’t find any anywhere. 

The newsletters showed up, and I made rounds, all went well.  Even some more rough looking men have come out this year, one perhaps drinking a non-soda substance (just a hunch) I saw reading it from start to finish.  Praise God.

I asked the kids to have no injuries or melt-downs today because it was an important day.  The did well.  Praise God. 

So, while I don’t know much about whether decisions were made today (I share the plan by newsletter), I saw a lot of people reading, and several told me today they enjoyed the newsletters.  A few I’d asked to pray as I walked by would give me cheerful words like “I know God would bless His work!”  Love those people!

Huge blessing:  my mom was led leave her work outside, check her computer this morning, and come lay hands on me.  No make-up, un-prepared…just obedient. 

That’s my mom. 

She even had a long distance wedding to go to today and everything. 

Meant the world.  I was charged back up. 

Made it through two more games, great weather. 

Boy Wonder cooled off from his game in the van. 

But, after the games, as I sighed that it was over and we’d made it, I realized he turned the key the wrong way for accesory.

…click, click, click.  Dead.

Thank goodness Coach Jarod knew how to jump a car and I had fresh cables somebody got up in a car kit for Christmas (I’m thanking my brothers, but don’t know for sure).  

I’m in good spirits–heaven knows missionaries around the world face much bigger obstacles than I did today. 

But, I’m writing just to let you know that when you try to do something rather simple in His name…expect a WILD kind of day, but a lot of fun blessings, too! 

Then, Sonic got the same plain hamburger order wrong THREE TIMES.  (But we are still thanking God for Sonic today).

Keep praying for these people.  One lady told me she enjoyed it, planned to read it again when she got home, and would ask me if she had questions later.  The one I had on my heart wasn’t there today.  I’ll have to try again.

Entry filed under: Christianity, Evangelism, Faith, Ministry, Missions, Prayer, Sprituality, Upward Sports.

I Need Your Prayers–Saturday Sunday Review

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kimberly  |  May 17, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    Thank you for the time you put into the soccer program. Like a smooth stone skipped across the pond, I am sure you touched someone, who will touch someone else, who will touch someone…………..ripple effect. You were in my prayers today.

  • 2. awomansdevotion  |  May 17, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    I echo what Kimberly said!!! Thanks for everything and you will never know the true number of people you have touched.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 981,555 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


