The Afternoon Paint Saga…

May 5, 2008 at 3:32 pm 3 comments

I’m still in a cranky mood over paint.  We’ve just run into some poor control issues with this situation that I think would have annoyed anyone from sample to true paint.  I found that at Porter, they will only give samples of eggshell when I need satin.  I tried it, but for medium to dark hues, not helpful.  The paint looked so dark without any shine–almost looked like a flat paint.  

After a break, I had an inspiration to mix a little of the “too glossy” paint from this morning with it to just trial the match.  It’s a little darker than the sample, but better.  I’m just so cranky with the process I don’t feel up to fooling with it much more today. 

I promised someone I’d type a manuscript for them this winter–here it is spring and I’m still just getting to it.  A lot of tedious types of typing, though I’m enjoying the love-gift.  I don’t think dictation would necessarily be my favorite job in the world.  I have gained respect those who do it.

On the up-side, I am very happy with a product I bought last week.  It is a hair product, a flat iron for straightening hair, or acheiving many of the popular straight-hair styles.  With thin hair, I wasn’t sure I’d like a flat-iron…my hair is just a bit wavy anyway.  I affectionately call it “naturally lumpy”.  The last gay hairdresser I told that to lost it.

But, last week when Beth Moore said she was young and hip and used a flat-iron, and I didn’t yet…well, that was the last straw.  I obviously needed to try for some “hip” in my life, considering the paint was bombing.

I bought one my SIL, Amy recommended:  the Remington “Wet to Dry” from Wal*Mart for about $25.00.  Considering I got bored and cut my own hair this time..l didn’t think twice about the expense.  I haven’t had my sides of my hair long…ever…but I am loving the ease of care.  I can almost just blow dry and go…but the style holds a lot better if I straight iron it a bit.  The thing heats up in like 15 seconds, and lets you know when it’s at the right temp with a friendly beep.  You can alter the temp if you want to dry your hair with it.  I thought that took way too long.  I dry to damp and then flat iron.  My mom says to be sure to condition your hair really well and watch the ends when you dry with it.

The iron just seals the hairstyle so well– I don’t need a bit of product on it besides Synaplex leave in spray-conditioner, which I SO love.  The company, however, has started requiring liscensing or something weird for beauty shops to carry it.  The substitute the suppliers offered smelled like urine.  It was sent back.  I am trying to make my last bottle stretch.

Also, I am happy to report that AT&T has customer reviews on their website of their current phones.  Helpful stuff.

Well, taking the dog for a nice walk sounds great today.  If I keep her tight on the leash, we can pass other dogs in the neighborhood, or we did yesterday.  Two.  It was not easy to keep her focused and walking, but we did it!  I’m hoping she’ll learn to keep walking with me on the leash so I can take her to the trail sometime and risk being around other dogs without casualty.

Enough rambling…the laundry awaits it’s queen.

 

 

Entry filed under: Everyday.

My Paint Morals Are At A Crossroads… Tuesday AM

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. koinoniaconnection  |  May 5, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    i’m proud of you, getting a flat iron. i don’t think i could possibly live w/o mine 🙂

  • 2. Cindy  |  May 5, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    I have one, but my son is the one who uses it. Watch out or you will find yours in Boy Wonder’s bathroom.

  • 3. mandythompson  |  May 5, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    you are a BRAVE woman!!! mixing paints and painting paints and all that stuff.
    whew….

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 984,341 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


