Thursday Status

May 1, 2008 at 1:44 pm 5 comments

I woke up and emailed a buddy today who is concerned for my house decorating welfare.  I said, “A terrible thing happened to me this morning.  I am almost sick at my stomach.  I thought I was in love, going to marry this wonderful color, and when I walked in, it was something totally different.  I realized I wasn’t in love with it and I wasn’t sure at all I could live with it.”

Augh!  My precious heart is broken.  My kids are against me.  My husband is being very encouraging, thankfully.

So, now, we are veering either toward more of a gold-tan, OR, a green in the great room.  If green, I’ll have to sell the kids on that, and re-paint my bedroom. And green’s are hard, but we think we have one we want to try.  So, for the who-can-remember-how-many-days straight, I’m going to the paint store…again.

Until then, more knife-cutting out of caulk on the crown moulding so as to have a fresh line to caulk, on the ladder, watching “Design on a Dime”…whew, some of the stuff they do is great, and some of it…well, I’m NOT inspired.  Scares me to death.

Some people seem to go through this process with nary a word of drama.  Downright amazing.

Entry filed under: Decorating.

Something New The Man We Are Paying For…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gchyayles  |  May 1, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    Awwwww! You must be so tired but praise God that you can do all things through Him who gives you strength. Amen! I can’t wait to see what the house looks like when it’s done and it will be such a reward for you and hubby and kids too! You are giving me motivation and inspiration regarding our house-buying process. I think we need to get the ball rollin but we’re probably both “scared” of the process and having to renovate and rebuild etc etc. Thank you for being our motivation! XOX

  • 2. graceisenough  |  May 1, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Oh, I remember those days. I have some repainting I want hub to do this summer. I don’t know how he is going to like it. I just want same colors, just different shades. Good luck!

  • 3. Misty  |  May 1, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    Bryan and I almost divorced over the wallpapering in the nursery way back when Meg was a baby. We decided never to do wallpapering again 🙂

    Hope you find colors and styles that suit you. Sounds like you’ll need some house-warming cookies soon 🙂

  • 4. Kim  |  May 1, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Forget the house-warming cookies. I think this calls for an all out house-warming PARTY!!!!

  • 5. ~E  |  May 1, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    To tell you the truth, I am not surprised at you backing out on the color. You have always seemed more drawn by the neutrals. Plus, with a neutral background, you can always make small changes with splashes of color that make a big impact. You seem to enjoy the changing of the seasons and I would think that would be reflected in your decor.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 979,646 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


