Friday AM Quiet Time/Prayer

April 25, 2008 at 8:18 am 7 comments

I want to sit at your feet,

drink from the cup in your hand

Lay back against you and breathe

Feel your heartbeat

This love is so deep

It’s more than I can stand

I melt in your peace

It’s overwhelming.

–Kari Jobe

A peace so deep, it’s overwhelming.  Time.  Presence.  Surrender.  

Guidance

Psalm 23-He guides me in paths of righteousness, for His Name’s sake.  

Proverbs 4:11
I guide you in the way of wisdom and lead you along straight paths.
 

He guides me Himself.  No one is delegated that job for Him…He delights to do it Himself.  (Thank you, Lord). 

Instruction

Psalm 27:11
Teach me your way, O LORD; lead me in a straight path because of my oppressors.
 

He Himself teaches me, leads me, keeps me safe.

Warning

Proverbs 2:13
who leave the straight paths to walk in dark ways,

Let me stay on YOUR PATH, O Lord.   Do not let me veer to the right or to the left!  Keep me in the REAL LIGHT!  Not the sparkle and glitter of something else that never satisfies. 

Focus-Promise

 Proverbs 3:6
in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.

I acknowledge you everywhere, Lord.  You are all around me.  I surrender to your ways.  Hold me there fast. 

Preparation

Matthew 3:3
This is he who was spoken of through the prophet Isaiah: “A voice of one calling in the desert, ‘Prepare the way for the Lord, make straight paths for him.’ “

Thank you, Lord God, for those who prepare a straight path for us, who go before us, paving the way with their tenacity, intensity, passion, focus, purpose, calling, and intimacy.  They challenge us, direct us, and shape us.  I pray for them today–give them a fresh vision of YOU this very day, just as John the Baptist sought as His heart’s desire…only to see and recognize you.  It was his heart’s desire.  Be their heart’s desire and fulfillment, to the utmost.

Peace  

Psalm 139:5
You hem me in—behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me.

 

Oh, yes!  Lord Jesus  Hem us into your peace, guidance, and wisdom!  Like a hem in your robe, tuck us safely inside!  Tuck us into your paths, purpose, guidance, and presence.  Hem me in.  Like a sheep in a pen, hem me in.  Restrain me for my good.  For my peace.  For your presence.  For your glory For true freedom! 

Hem.  Me.  In.

Click Video to Listen to: “The More I Seek You” by Kari Jobe (otherwise known by Maggie as “I Want to Sit At Your Feet” [words above])

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Hello? Does Faith Matter in the Presidency?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  April 25, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Beautiful!

  • 2. Kim Heinecke  |  April 25, 2008 at 8:57 am

    the Word of God is so very sweet.
    This is a great start to the weekend!

    (I got your email about helping w/ my blog…I’ve just been busy! Thanks for the quick response!! i’ll be in touch)

  • 3. Sarah Jenkins  |  April 25, 2008 at 9:26 am

    Do you all do Kari Jobe’s music up there? I was so surprised to see her name. We have ties to her family through some people here and she is one of the worship leaders at Gateway Church where we have been attending some. It’s an hour and 45 minutes away, but well worth the drive!!! Jeff has ties with some of the staff there and is also going to Israel with them in late August.

    How did you find her?? If you don’t already have all her stuff (and Gateway’s music too for that matter) go to http://www.gatewaypeople.com and purchase it. It’s all SO good.

    You’ve inspired me to have a Kari Jobe day!!

  • 4. Kim  |  April 25, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    What a pure, beautiful song. Tears flowing…heart bursting with adoration for our Savior.

    Wouldn’t you just love to do this song with the praise team?

  • 5. gchyayles  |  April 25, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Such a beautiful expression of worship. Our Savior is truly worthy to be praised. To God be all the glory! Thank you for sharing your worship experience and the wisdom God gave you this morning with us.

  • 6. Kimberly  |  April 25, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Beautiful song and good post.

  • 7. ~E  |  April 27, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    Wow…what a beautiful, worshipful song…

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 982,316 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


