A Whole Lot of Shakin’ Going On! Earthquake: 5.4, 4-18-2008

April 18, 2008 at 6:36 am 7 comments

Okay, so did anybody else get woken up at 4:37? The Hub said, “WHAT is that?” Our dog will often thrash her tail around in her plastic doghouse and I will wake to see if she’s needing to go out on the porch. But, the thrashing of the tail was also making the bed sway side to side (which he didn’t feel, but I did), and the windows were rattling a LOT for a long time, the the pictures on the walls were shaking. Seeing as how there is an iron thingy above my bed, there was some concern, but it passed before I had the sense to move. My stomach felt sick and I was shaken. I was hearing trucks passed with their rattle for a while and everytime I heard one I was startled again.

This morning, Boy Wonder said his iPod came flying off the stand upstairs. He said it scared the heebie-jeebies out of him. He thought it was another tornado and ran to get under his sisters bed, he claims. I did not hear any running or child-activity. He may have dreamed, or that may have been the shaking we thought we heard.

They said the epicenter was not here. There was damage in Lousiville they are showing from CNN footage this morning from roofs. The actual epicenter was three miles underground just north of Evansville.

There is my morning weather report.

My mom waited as long as she could to call. at 6:15 or so she called to see if we felt it…apparently she did as well. Poor girl, she’s had the stomach virus way-icky-bad, and can’t even sleep for getting shaken out of bed!

What was your experience?

Entry filed under: Everyday.

What Is It About Vertical Blinds Anyway? Finally Looking Springy: WordPress CSS

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ~E  |  April 18, 2008 at 6:51 am

    We had an earthquake????? That’s my experience. I am going to turn on the news now.

  • 2. Kim  |  April 18, 2008 at 8:09 am

    My whole clan slept through it…even the dog who usually goes crazy at the slightest “off” sound.

  • 3. Cindy  |  April 18, 2008 at 8:12 am

    Wow, I must have slept really soundly because I didn’t know a thing!! I’ll have to ask hubbie, he is usually awake at that time.

  • 4. Stacey  |  April 18, 2008 at 8:15 am

    I woke up. It sounded like crazy wind hitting the house. I thought it was a tornado but hubby jumped up and said it was an earthquake and went back to sleep. LOL!

  • 5. graceisenough  |  April 18, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Scared me to death. We both felt it, kids did not, so that was a good thing. I thought it was thunder at first, because the last storm we had, the thunder was so close it shook the house…then I realized that thunder couldn’t possibly last that long. Hub confirmed my second suspicion, turned over and went back to sleep. Men! LOL

  • 6. graceisenough  |  April 18, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    We felt it. Scared me, hub went back to sleep. MEN!!!!!!!

  • 7. Eric & Jo Dwyer  |  April 20, 2008 at 12:40 am

    Hey, cousin, we knew how you feel! I’ve felt the earth shake seven times since we moved down here to Oaxaca, Mexico. The biggest one, a 6.6, woke us up a little before 7 a.m. a couple of months ago. We live on the top floor of a three-story apartment building. It was loud and long (over 30 seconds). The locked front doors were wide open afterwards. Jo was talking to Jesus instantly and throughout. The little boys slept through it. I had an uneasy feeling afterwards and it was hard going back to sleep.

    Some of the earthquakes are silent and you just jiggle for awhile. Some are rattlers.

    It’s good conversation starters after the shakes with friends here in the city. I’ll say something like, “You know 2,000 years ago Jesus said there will be earthquakes in various places near the end of times….”

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 982,361 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


