Making Healthy Choices

April 9, 2008 at 1:59 pm 14 comments

The World\'s Best Doughnut Holes

The World’s Greatest Dounut holes from a local bakery.  Yes, they are better than Krispy Kreme.  I lived without them for SIX LONG YEARS while in college.  I suffered.  I did.  The day I pranced into a little store and asked for doughnut holes after a long exam week, only to be told, “Nobody around here makes those anymore that I know of.  It just takes too much time and we don’t make enough doing it.”

What?!  Raise the prices!  It’s not hard!  Suppy and demand! 

Anyway…I took a bunch of boys for them this AM because they had PopTarts already yesterday. 

We all know there is just something wrong with having to eat Pop Tarts two days in a row–???  What kind of young people are we raising? 

But, it is Spring Break, and I’m pulling out all the stops (particularly those that involve The Mom not having to cook.  A girl, she must have her goals.

It\'s All About Choices

Anyway, in case you are put in this compromising position, either flee from evil, or at make a healtier choice than these crazy Slim Jim’s, all loaded with fat and creme.

The doughnut holes are obviously the wiser choice.

Because your health…it’s important.

Entry filed under: Everyday.

In Two Months…I’ll See You Walking and Cooperation?

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  April 9, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    This is making me hungry!! There is NOTHING better than those donuts! I have to take them to work to the city….they are better than any over there!

  • 2. Cindy  |  April 9, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Don’t post that stuff where people can see it. Do you know how hard it is to sit behind a desk at 3:00 and pull up a blog with pictures like THAT!!!!! Man!
    Maggie responds: Oooh! Hate mail! That’s the most exciting thing that’s happened to me all day. I’m tunneling my way out of the laundry room. Heaven knows I needed a sugar rush for that. Sorry! I always wanted pics of some doughnut holes just in case I never got to see them again. I can taste them just looking at it! Oops. sorry…there I go again!

  • 3. Misty  |  April 9, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Mmmmm….donuts…*drooolll*

  • 4. graceisenough  |  April 9, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    I guess I am the only person in the world that doesn’t do donuts…I love them, especially the jelly ones, but they give me heartburn. BAD heartburn.
    On another note, I don’t think there is anything healthy at all in the bakery.

  • 5. awomansdevotion  |  April 9, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Dounut holes might be the “healthier” choice but my vice is their Long John’s with white cream and sugar cookies.

  • 6. Brittany  |  April 9, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Grant told me yesterday that there is a new donut shop in the strip mall across from the convention center. I guaranteed him that they would not be as good as the original bakery…I don’t know that I want to chance some bad donuts! I’ve heard so much about a Lexington bakery and how you have to go stand in line at 6am to get any donuts so Dad went and got some one weekend they were visiting and they were definitely not as good as the donuts back home!

  • 7. Kimberly  |  April 9, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    man………and here i am at home……….no supper at church…………..no supper in my kitchen………and it is after hours at the bakery. do you deliver???

  • 8. Stacey  |  April 9, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Maybe it’s because I’m a transplant to the area, but I still like Krispy Kreme better.

    *ducking tomatoes*

    Plus, I think the chocolate iced ones are really ugly. Gloppy. Is that a word?

    Yeah, I know I’m in trouble now for this comment since there really isn’t anything as a BAD donut, but still. 🙂

  • 9. Susan  |  April 9, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    The chocolate covered ones are the ones people at work will pay me to bring! We all love them too! I like Krispy Kreme but they don’t compare to J&H!!!

  • 10. touchofglory  |  April 9, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    There’s nothing any better anywhere (Krispy Kreme included) than J&H!!! The iced sugar cookies are my faves – I literally crave them. The chocolate covered cream-filled long johns come in a close 2nd. I’m already thinking about heading down there Friday morning since we’ve been in Louisville all week!

  • 11. "Maggie"  |  April 9, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Okay, so…let me be clear, being as how this is VERY important:

    J&H doughnut holes…my 1st place winner for all the universe
    Krispy Kreme…fresh OR warmed 15 secones…best in the universe of all time

    That’s my vote, and I’m sticking to it.

    I could not possible get down any chocolate covered doughnut if you paid me. Too sweet for this chick!

  • 12. ~E  |  April 10, 2008 at 8:41 am

    I started to comment last night, but didn’t want to be the negative one. Since Stacey has broken the ice, I agree with her. Krispy Kreme doughnuts are best in my book. The local ones taste greasy to me. Sorry, friends!

  • 13. Re-Re  |  April 10, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Okay, that is down right cruel!!! Pictures of the best doughnuts in the world! J&H are my favorite and I am 2 hours away! I discovered them in high shcool and have been addicted ever since! I dream of them when I come in to visit! I try to only have them 2 or 3 times a year! They are the best!

    *If you are a super daughter-in-law you can get them delivered, even 2 hours away!
    It happened once, a few years ago! They were wonderful!

  • 14. Kimberly  |  April 10, 2008 at 11:41 am

    and the debate goes on…………………..my vote – J & H

    we had an employee here that craved J & H cakes during her pregnancy. we had J & H cakes every week until the child was born.

    the donut holes are still my fav

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 984,385 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


