New WordPress Version: Questions Answered by Matt Mullenweg

April 5, 2008 at 12:16 pm 7 comments

Wow.  I supppose the new WordPress rennovation is up for use.  I just signed in and am in another world.  I hope I like it!  What’s your experience? 

Right now, I have no idea how to publish…let’s see.  Oh, they moved it to the right panel.  Also, “Settings” has been moved to the far right of the dashboard…took me a while to find that.

CLAPS:

Takes me a while to get used to new things, as it does many of us.  Things I’m noticing:

  • Seems you can load audio easily.  I’ll have to try that.  Before, I could not upload sound tracks–looking forward to adding some of those in.
  • New video link thingy I haven’t tried yet, but thinking I can upload straight to WordPress from Windows Media rather than having to upload to youTube or another hosting service first.  Anything that cuts out a step on video is great. 
  • “Full screen mode” option (second layer of your text editor)–type on a full screen view if you prefer.  Kind of nice. 
  • Ability to type posts in Word, then copy that text over here, apparently.  I’m not sure of the usefulness of that — those of you with trouble on your Macs could try that, I suppose. .
  • Examples shown for “Format” section for headings.  (I would still prefer standard font size so that I know the size relative to my text.)
  • Undo and redo buttons.  I use CTRL Z and CTRL Y keyboard shortcuts, but newbies might like it. 
  • LOVE the new “insert more” tag automatically in the toolbar for long posts.  Very cool.  This means that you can write long posts without having them take up your whole blog page.  Have your reader click “read more” if you want to go into more detail for the really interested, but keep it short on the home page for the person needing to scan a week’s worth of content. Love this.  The coding capability has always been there, but this makes it easy for the non-coding among us. 
  • If you show the full toolbar on the visual editor it’ll stay open the next time you visit – it magically remembers your settings.”
  • Apparently, you can upload multiple pictures, or even files full of pictures.  I’ve not tried this yet, but read about it.  Sounds great.

KINKS–I thank Matt Mullenweg  of http://photomatt.net | http://wordpress.org | http://automattic.com | http://akismet.com for his response to these…I’ll put his answers here in interview form so that you can benefit from them.  One reason I’ve enjoyed WordPress is their responsiveness in development.  Thanks, guys!  I didn’t expect a response…these were written rhetorically, great to hear the answers so quickly.

Mag:  I’d like to be able to pull from publish back to draft.  How can I do that?

Matt:  When you edit a post there’s a “Publish Status” box on the right, click the dropdown and choose “Unpublish” then save the post.

Mag:  I’d like the option of choosing which of my blogs come up for easy click across the top.  Some there now are group blogs I never manage, though I sometimes contribute.  I’d rather have my own blogs up there.

Matt:  This will be customizable in the future. 

Mag: As to the redundant issue of THEMES on wordpress.com:  MORE 3 COLUMN THEME OPTIONS…give us the ability to change colors on the tabs to match a customized header

Matt:  More themes are coming.

Mag:  Saturday morning, the 5th, having trouble editing and republishing this post.  When I click “Save” this text box blinks, but stays full, where it should “disappear and publish”.  It tells me I will lose it if I navigate from this screen.  I just had the same problem with another post.  If I sign out and in again, copying the editing text, it works fine.   Update PM 4/5/08:  the post edits ARE publishing to blog, though it seems they are not.

WordPress response:  Make sure you are clicking “Publish” not “Save” [Currently dialoging productively with WordPress on this issue…I personally don’t see “publish” as opposed to “save” when I take a published post back for edit.  If you see it, holler.]

Maggie: 4/5/08 noon:  Loading to edit seems slower than before. 

MattIt should be the same speed or faster, as there’s less code now.

Maggie:  May be my perception–seems slower to me going from publish to edit. 

Maggie:  Need the “edit comment” link from the general “Comments” screen.  It’s missing now.
Matt
: Click the comment author’s name to edit.

Maggie:  Great.  However, I think this would be hard for a newbie to figure that out .  The “edit” link was clear.

Maggie: Underline is a basic text command.  It needs to be on the first text tools screen.

Matt: Be careful with underlines, readers often confuse them for links

Maggie:  Point well taken.

Maggie: Better to have the entire toolbar showing, in IMHO.  If you need something, you need it now, not after you go hunt for the other part of the text editor bar.  Either that, or a setting somewhere where you can decide if you want it all to show, or just the basic toolbar.  There you go…that’s a GOOD idea.

Matt:  If you show the full toolbar on the visual editor it’ll stay open the next time you visit – it magically remembers your settings.

Maggie:  Wow!   That’s progress.  LOVE that.  (This gets re-routed to the “Cheers” section!)

I’ll keep posting thoughts here as I drive this baby.  Thanks for the helps so far!

New:  April 5, 2006 PM:

Maggie:  Photo uploading has issues reported for IE 7.0/Windows XP Users.  They recommend clearing the cache and cookies and refreshing the page.  I tried all these with no results.  I may try switching to Firefox to see if that resolved the issue.  (See more here.)  One of the recommendations is to switch to Firefox…a whole ‘nother learning curve I didn’t want to tackle just yet.  Also, to clear your cookies, cache, and refresh your WordPress page.

Spellcheck has also been removed for the time being due to glitches.  To get that feature in the meantine, either check IE or Firefox add-on spellcheckers to help you out, or write in Word and then bring it over.

UPDATE  4-7-08

Maggie:  (Kink) HEADER PHOTOS  Header photos seem to upload at a degraded quality, using the same “crunching” as generalized post pictures.  This needs to be changed.

Maggie:  Learning Curve, Widgets.  Whew.  I need to write an entire post on this one.  It’s not as intuitive as I think they would have hoped.  1.  when you move an item from your columns, you must click “save” for the item to be available to another column.  IF IT IS A TEXT BOX, YOU WILL LOSE THE TEXT WITHIN THE BOX TRYING TO MOVE IT CURRENTLY.  THIS NEEDS TO BE FIXED.

Maggie:  (KINK)  “Select, copy, delete, and paste” need to all be available by right click on the widgets box to easily move code and edit it.  (Note:  this is an old issue.)

Matt has been in and out over the weekend at this link…check out on-going development with WordPress updates!  Thanks team, and thanks, Matt!

Entry filed under: Wordpress. Tags: .

Our Tour of the State Capitol Horton Hears a Who–A Surprisingly GREAT Time!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dori  |  April 4, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    Yeah…

    new PC this week and new WordPress dashboard…

    Too much new stuff for this “know enough computer to be dangerous” girl!!

    Dori

  • 2. blueraindrop  |  April 4, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    ug…. not a fan, but then, i dont like changes. give me a while to warm up.

    as far as back to draft temporarily:
    on the old one, you just go into the post, hit edit, then click on the status button to change it back to draft…. then publish it again when done. i assume the published button does similar…. change it to unpublished, then back to published when done.

  • 3. Phyxius  |  April 4, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    i don’t like it >< The old one was better in my opinion. And prettier, lol.

  • 4. "Maggie"  |  April 4, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Take me a while to get used to it as well. “If it’s not broke, don’t fix it” is my motto. Spend the time giving us more templates! I guess they are trying to clean is up for newbies to have an easier time. I’m picking up on more and more improvements as I play with it. I’ve posted those above.

  • 5. Kimberly  |  April 5, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    this newbie hadn’t figured out the old one yet…….

  • 6. Laura  |  April 7, 2008 at 11:42 am

    Yay! I just started a blog for the first time ever – just in time for new update! I didn’t even know that I was using new format. Sooooo glad I don’t have to adjust. I’ll have to remember this as one time that procrastination paid off.

  • 7. Kevin Leggett  |  April 7, 2008 at 11:44 am

    I like it. Seems much more user friendly and intuitive.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 982,388 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


