How to Tune A Piano Yourself

April 5, 2008 at 7:04 pm 3 comments

According to a couple stats I ran across, there are 18 million pianos in the world or so, and 4000 people trained to tune them.

I’m checking out how one might go about tuning their own piano {gasp}.  Not that I will, just checking it out.  A good tuner is hard to find around here, and a well-used piano needs to be tuned every 6 months to a year.  Mine’s not had attention in a good fifteen years.  {Piano abuse, I’m sure}.

Checking out some youTube’s from generous self-taught tuners and professional tuners.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8mCDICCMVto&NR=1 (Part 1)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8kdzDGd0ol0&NR=1 (Part 2)

These amateur videos show good wisdom on not over-tuning a very out of tune piano.  He only did a few keys every few days to let the strings stretch, and even then, was tuning on a half step at a time.

If you don’t run into a lot of technical problems with broken, old strings, and don’t try to overdo, it seems time-consuming, but not actually that “hard”. 

I found it easier to watch youTube than to read to hear what they are talking about in terms of “beats”.  If you’ve tuned a guitar before, you can hear beat dissonance right away. 

The lower keys (8-10) have one string to tune, the lower mid-range, two strings, and the upper, high registered notes have three strings ALL of these strings have to be tuned to pitch.  That’s somewhere around 250 strings to tune a piano completely, and sometimes, by the time you’ve re-tensioned that many strings, you’ve pulled the tension on others back out and have to re-adjust.  {Whew}. 

Some strings must be muted, therefore, in order to tune others.  All cannot be tuned at the same time.  You tune one string, then tune the others to match it.

A very interesting read here says that the human ear hears the upper register out of tune when it is perfectly in tune.  I professional tuner knows this and will overshoot the upper register to allow for this fault in human hearing.  He says that this is why electronic keyboards were not able to duplicate real piano as of the time of this writing.

Lots of other videos and resources out there.  If I find any truly over the top, I’ll add them here for reference.

   

 

 

Entry filed under: Everyday.

PSA: WordPress Questions Answered Let’s “Entertain” in Our Worship Services Tomorrow?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  April 5, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    Oh man… my piano has not been tuned since I was… oh… 13 or 14. So, almost the same amount of time as yours. That will be my first mission when I reclaim it from my parent’s house. No room in our cracker box now. 😦

    No need to tune keyboards. 😀

  • 2. Stacey  |  April 5, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    Oh, btw… I did know a good tuner in H-town.

    You could call Music Central and they could hook you up, too. I would remember the person’s name if I heard it. 😉

  • 3. Devin  |  July 9, 2008 at 2:50 am

    I am 15, and I am about to begin teaching my friends family piano lessons. They have an old, out of tune piano that probably has not been tuned in years. It has a few sticky keys too. I know it would be much safer to get a professional to tune it, but I think it would be fun to try it out for myself at least once, though it would take hours and hours… Anyway, it really all depends on if my friends parents would rather get a professional tuner, or let me have a shot at it. (I will tell them the risks, and prices of everything) It should run around the same ammount of money for a professional, that it would for a first timers tools. (about 60-80 dollars) Just in case you’re curious about my piano, it is electric, sadly. However, it has the weird upper, and lower range out of tune thingy accounted for. It feels as close, and sounds as close to a real piano as possible. I’m happy with it, until I move out, then I will try for a nice new REAL piano. Anyway, it is much MUCH safer to use a professional, but if you have a mind for engineering, and fixing problems, it could be really fun to try. (only try if you have the money to correct loose pins, and broken strings)

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 981,434 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


