He Followed Me Home

April 1, 2008 at 1:33 pm 1 comment

Today I have been watching some snippets of Space Galactica or something on FX, a station whose Sci-Fi is usually too much for me.  I don’t get most of the overall story line yet, but the depth of the characters intrigues me.  It reminds me of the Star Trek series in some ways.  The characters have depth, even though the fiction is thick. 

I’ve also been watching snippets of “Crossing Jordan”.  I don’t usually like those kinds of shows about death and morgues, but that one catches my attention.  Again, character depth.  It’s probably past syndication by now, but I like it.  The humor isn’t crude, the pace doesn’t make my brain spin like ER, and the people’s problems and issues are believable.  It’s a well-paced show.  I leave with something when I watch it.  Sometimes, shows seem to leave me feeling they’ve taken something from me.  Those shows give back in some way. 

I rested today.  I’ve been sick and under the weather the last few days.  Thus, some random TV surfing is in order.  I didn’t have as much as a cold all winter, so I can’t complain.  Just trying to recover BEFORE Thursday when I have to drive a lot (for me), early in the AM, and after a long day.  Prayers appreciated on Thursday. Field trip, probably my last, with Boy Wonder.  (Why am I not the passenger on these trips?)  When I’m the best driver they can find to drive other moms and grandmas…well, you know we are in for a day. 

God seemed to keep refreshing me deep inside today. Psalm 23 came to mind: “surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life.” The verse even came up a second time on Crossing Jordan.  I have felt so full lately in some ways with Spring coming that I didn’t even realize I needed something.  But, God did.  It is so great when people come to know you deeper than words and can express care.  An amazing thing.     

All of this reminded me of a story, it you want to humor me with a moment:

383_king_and_brant_str.jpgWhen I was about 15, my Dad came at 11:45 on a Saturday night to pick me up from my job at the skating rink.  Long hours.  It was about a 15 minute drive to town to get me.  We cleaned for about 45 minutes after we closed.  As we neared within a couple miles of home, he slowed the car, turned off the headlights and said, “I’m about to embarrass myself because I want to peel off here.  Don’t turn around and look, but a [such and such] car has been following us.  Are you expecting anyone to want to know where you live, or should I lose him?  You tell me what I should do.” 

I had to think for a few minutes and smiled.  A certain someone wanted to know where I lived.  I didn’t know if I was interested in him yet in particular, or to that extent, but it was cute that he wanted to be prepared.  I said, “Oh.  I’m pretty sure I know who it is.  It’s okay.” 

He said, “Well, this road deadends, so if he thinks he can just drive by, he’s going to be surprised.” 

I said, “Dad, what are you going to do.”

He just left his lights off and climbed the driveway peacably as I recall, saying, “Go on in the house.”

You know…God is tracking you down like that.  Following you.  Checking out where you live.  Getting the scoop on you.  Oh yes, he already knows.  But, can you picture it?  ”surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life”. 

We think of Murphy’s Law, and sometimes experience it to the hilt.  But, God’s goodness and mercy… stalking us?  It makes me shake my head and laugh out loud! 

He wants us to know Him that much, to reveal Himself to us in goodness and mercy and rest.  He’s preparing to bless us all the time.  He’s “on the ready”.   

Yesterday, my kids got in the back of the van and SAT ON TOP OF a very important calligraphy project I’d spent a lot of time on.  To redeem the work, I had one night, and one custom-cut paper left.  With a cold, and upset about it, I was certainly not feeling my creative best.  Yet, it same together even better than the last product.  He was there.

Today, He initiated love for a rather tired me.  Great snacks. Friends blessing in little ways.

The lawyer-judge of all time is seeking the beneficiery of His estate.  He won’t stop each day until He finds the recipient demanded by law.  You.  Me.  Endowed.

He’s great at tracking unsuspecting people down.  I know, because He found me today. 

Unsuspecting, undeserving, but blessed and thankful.

str.jpgHis love keeps coming:  a stream, tricklin down rocky mountain paths, unstoppable. 

“Surely goodness and mercy will follow me, all the days of my life…”  (Psalm 23)

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Friendships, Part 2 Thinking Award

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. awomansdevotion  |  April 4, 2008 at 5:52 am

    Thought about you yesterday and sent prayers your way. Hope the field trip went well.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 981,434 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


