Tuesday Thoughts

March 25, 2008 at 8:23 am 2 comments

In the post below,  it was so interesting to see how Mr. Rogers was able to soften the heart of the Senate–from almost a barking, take-charge atmosphere, to one of concern, compassion, and tender-heartedness.  He stated clearly what he believed in, his patient responses created a patient climate.  What a shining moment.  We all must walk in the fruit of the Spirit, trusting the results to God, no matter what we come against.  I loved this example demonstrating that concept.

For Easter, I bought the complete work of The Chronicles of Narnia.  The children can hardly wait to get started on it.  We just finished the abridged Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne and are now working on a Hardy Boys book, waiting for sis to finish Clementine.  It will be our second time through The Chronicles, this time, getting sis on board.  They are as excited now as the first time!  Boy Wonder got up early yesterday to finish reading the Verne book to try to convince me to get started sooner on Narnia!  But, we had to start a filler Hardy boys book instead waiting for sis to finish hers with Dad.  If only he’d trusted me with the timing, we would have both ended our books at the same time!  Wow…that preaches. 

In my family today, there was an all-out family war getting out the door to school over a lead pencil (to whom it belonged.)  After about the fifth attempt at resolution and much emotion , I decided on a whim that the only fair resolution was to hit auto on my van window, and fling it out.   That caused all sorts of crying on BOTH sides, but it was now “fair” as they said they wanted.  One child accused me of littering.  Thinking harder today, I really think I know whose pencil it was.  In any case, I’d rather have them mad at me than at each other.  I think I accomplished that.  Whew.  I hate it when mornings start with stress.

Post-Easter, that spirit of jubilation, my spirit seems to ask “what now?”  In response to this, I knew nothing better to do than to start working on daily goals.  I seek filling, fellowship, his energy. Post-resurrection, my life-changing, “doing- greater -works- than- He -has- done” tasks are laundry, more dishes, clutter, and floors.  But, this is His work for my family where He placed me.  The priority.  My resurrection work, which I can do only by His strength and power and might and grace…to His glory.  Reading the new Joel Osteen book, Becoming a Better You helps make those tasks what they should be.  Enjoying it a lot, though initially, the title threw me off this one as it was entitled Your Best Life Now. 

Oh, several of you have called, emailed, or asked me about School Based Council Elections.   Thank you for your interest.  I was off on the dates, assuming all the talk about them meant they were to be held last week.  All elections will be held in May, so there is still time to come and vote. I encourage you to do so– I knew very few of the regular PTSA families who were present at the last meeting!  Spread the word and try to make that meeting, those of you at GES.  I’d appreciate your vote.  We’ve been praying over our schools in recent days and I am so thankful for those prayers.  I pray in all the schools, many of us would be considered to serve with a positive presence.

Entry filed under: School. Tags: .

Inspiration from Mr. Rogers Weighing Bill Gate’s Thoughts On Sunday

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cheryl  |  March 25, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    I am SO EXCITED!!!! to hear you are reading that book. I have hinted to my family that I wanted that book for my birthday coming up Sunday and I hope I get it. If not, then I will make a little trip to Wal-Mart and buy it for myself. A little treat to me 🙂

    I have just recently started listening to him on his website and have been watching him on t.v. I am just drawn to his messages. I hope you enjoy reading that book and hopefully when I get started we can chat about it.

    I have been in college forever it seems and I graduate in May and I want to read something that I want to read now instead of those books that I am made to read for college course purposes. Have a great day!

  • 2. Kevin Eby  |  March 25, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    If any of your children have obsessive tendencies, you should be careful exposing them to a “Hardy Boys” book. I had to read them all once I got started with one.

    Reading Chronicles of Narnia with the kids is one of my greatest memories. I’m sure your children will love them.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 978,846 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


