Easter Family Photos

March 23, 2008 at 11:40 pm 8 comments

easter-2008-b.jpg

My camera’s timer feature is my friend.   Thanks EM, for sharing the new shirt for my boy last year, worked great with Goldilock’s green dress.  Red was able to wear last year’s clothes, as well.  So easy this year.  Leftover shoes worked for everyone, so I’m glad I didn’t fight the war of new ones. 

A new dress for Goldilocks this year.  She’s outgrown last year’s, or more probably worn it to death!  She loved it. 

Grace and simplicity in all this year.  God knew my heart. 

The forsythia outside my bedroom window is exploding in bloom!  Wow!

Before photoshop:

easter-2008-original.jpg

A dreary day.  So, Photoshop is also my friend.  It was grey, windy, Red’s sweater wasn’t pulled down, and his eyes were nearly shut. Stealing eyes is a great trick.

easter-dye.jpg

Cold outside, but lots of fun inside. We finally got that quiet, down time I needed with the kids.

easter-egg-dying.jpg

One loved pink and flowers…

easter-eggs.jpg

One can make football out of anything!  😀

  easter-potatoes.jpg

Loved seeing her dressed up at the sink, offering to help peel potatoes!  She picked out her own dress this year.

easter-shawl-improv.jpg

A treasured baby afgan in silky yarns brought out for a much needed shawl–I’m wearing it myself this Spring with knitting and crochet all the rage.  A treasure we are enjoying again.

easter-2008-kids.jpg

“The Three Amigos”

Before church…COLD!  We made it fast!

We tucked Red’s shirt in 15 times if we did once!

I stayed up ironing, finding socks for the boys–we were still tighter on time than we wanted to be the next morning.  But, the turkey was roasting and it was great to have The Hub home to help us get ready.

The peripherals, though not the important thing, help give the honor, celebration, and focus to the special-ness of the day, I hope.  (About the only time I get all three children in a decent photo, too!  Not sure I got one last year due to the cantata costumes.)

AND…{drumroll}…I am technically 25 years old today.  I prefer this birthday!  😀  What a GREAT way to celebrate my “birthday” in Christ!

Entry filed under: Christianity, Church, Faith, Family, Kids, Photography, Religion, Sprituality. Tags: , , .

Easter Quote of the Week Inspiration from Mr. Rogers

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Spencer Schoeben  |  March 24, 2008 at 12:45 am

    seems like u guys had a nice easter. like the photos!

  • 2. awomansdevotion  |  March 24, 2008 at 5:44 am

    Beautiful family!! My hubby and I love photoshop as well—we had to merge 2 pictures to get a good Easter picture this year.

  • 3. graceisenough  |  March 24, 2008 at 10:41 am

    Great picture. Barry loves photoshop. The first summer we went to Maine, they had a monsoon and our pictures were still able to be salvaged with photoshop.

  • 4. graceisenough  |  March 24, 2008 at 10:42 am

    Great family photos. Barry loves photoshop as well.

  • 5. Kimberly  |  March 24, 2008 at 11:13 am

    i would ask about dog years……………but……………….LOL

  • 6. Cindy  |  March 24, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    At first I thought, 25 my foot, but then the lightbulb went on. Love the pics, but where is the green for you???? Didn”t get to see you yesterday, since we had already seen the presentation, we visited another church with some friends who had asked us to come.

    Mag replies: We all wore things in our closet except for Goldilocks…I had already chosen my outfit (one Jo gave me), before I realized the boys had a green theme going on. Somebody has to give some contrast you know! It would have to be me!

  • 7. touchofglory  |  March 24, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    What a nice looking family! I saw you guys from the stage, but didn’t get to see you up close. Thanks for the sweet comments on my blog earlier. I had very nearly lost my voice by yesterday morning, so I struggled a bit – I’m glad to hear that it sounded ok. Thanks!

  • 8. Sarah Jenkins  |  March 25, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Great pictures, great memories. I always feel like I am completely caught up on your life, your blogs are perfect!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 980,441 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


