Thursday–Mundane

March 20, 2008 at 10:56 am 4 comments

Back in from the store (again, just went last night) for turkey The Hub wanted. Today is Thursday. 

I’m still not sure what is going on with our clothes for Easter weekend. We’ll make do.   I see no time for shopping in this week.  I need to just catch up on laundry to make sure their khakis are washed and pressed for the day.  Good enough for me.

No dress shoes will hit their feet this year.  They hate me for them anyway, but  I like them to have at least one non-tennis shoe pair just to have them for special events if needed for the spring-summer season.  We’ll see.  This week is just SO packed in the evenings.  I hate to add any unnecessary stress!

Goldilocks has her a cute dress and we’ll do her hair.  Her pink shoes are still fitting from Fall.

I’ll probably wear something from my closet.  Spring is so short it seems the pastels are worn so little before they are tucked away for summer.  I have a pink capri suite from my SIL, Jo, I may pull out.  I love thinking of her when I wear it.

After a bit of prayer time and rest, getting ready to go back to town to get special-sized paper cut for a calligraphy project due for a friend, buy a birthday gift, return books, visit a cousin  (hopefully), hit the PTSA meeting. 

Before that, run through some “Mom, we have to have white washed TODAY!” clothes and fold whatever is leaking out of the dryer.  Ugh.

Had a friend give me a much needed pep talk last night.  I love it when friends can help move you out of a rut.  I still have trouble calling the decorator and we really need to move forward.  It’s time, and we’ve been gifted with money from his mom and dad for furniture for the last five Christmases, but we can’t seem to make up our minds as to what comes first. 

I need help making some very costly decisions and this place flows in a circle, all of it needing to tie together somehow, so it’s probably a wise choice to call her first and let her help me make the first steps and consider her ideas. 

I’m afraid of it, overwhelmed by it, and don’t trust my own judgment all that much. 

About the time I make a decision, I have a feeling The Hub won’t like it and that will be devastating. 

But, small steps.  I truly, truly dread the whole thing.  TOTALLY, not my cup of tea! 

Friend’s excitement helped move me forward in my own some, though  I’m grateful for friends who can give you a boost when you are dry.  If I don’t make the call by next Friday, she’s coming to make the call to make an appointment for, or with me!  Accountability to decorate…yup, I’m just that sad sometimes. 

I think I wish I did get into it and enjoy it.  I like looking at photos!  I just don’t like furniture stores.  I enjoy all the choices I’ve made so far to make the place “homey” working with what we have.  I sort of hate to say goodbye to those, but it’s okay.  Perhaps it will give her a sense of my style, whatever that may be.  I’ll enjoy the change, I just like functional-style change, not frivolous-style change.  Bold, but subtle.  Timeless, but tended-to.

Time to just be praying about it!  I have no idea.

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Walk Through Jerusalem New Easter Thoughts

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mandythompson  |  March 20, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    “unnecessary stress”…

    sometimes i tell my self that ALL stress is unnecessary stress, but i don’t listen…….

  • 2. graceisenough  |  March 20, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Try not to make something that is fun stressful! Love ya!

  • 3. touchofglory  |  March 20, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Girl, I’ll come and help you pick stuff out!!! I’m finally getting my house the way I want it, and I love taking time away from the stresses of my everyday life to “fix up” the house. It’s kind of like a treat for me. And, I can’t imagine that your hub wouldn’t like the decisions you make. I bet he’ll love having your sense of style spread throughout the house for the family to enjoy. Try to relax, enjoy, and make this a fun experience! Love ya!

  • 4. "Maggie"  |  March 20, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    Our last remodel was not fun for me. It was worthwhile because of the condition of things, but it was not what I call fun. Sending stuff back, waiting on replacements, piles of wood and trash everywhere, workers gone and not showing up when they said, The Hub working all the time every day off, frustrated because things never go right the first time, but loving the work too much to let anyone else do it.

    I just don’t like all that. It’s not fun for me. The finished product is nice, but there were always still things unfinished and things we wished we had an answer for that we didn’t know how to finish. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 979,646 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


