A Little Explanation Is In Order When A Mom Decides to Make a Sort of Poorly Edited…er…”Music Video” Starring…well, herself (somebody just commit me now)

March 14, 2008 at 5:13 pm 14 comments

I really don’t know how to preface my first written little melody (I’m not really sure I should actually call it a “song” per se), it just “IS”, and that’s about all I know to say

But, alas, I will probably need to say more.

As I explained in the post prior, the no make-up, non-showered, Mommy-made-up-song-in-two-minutes-melody-thing” is all the rage!  

It is really the fault of this guy named Kevin who started “Talking Tuesday” last week on his blog.  Both his posts have  been worth the watching.  It puts a voice to the “blog”.  Another bloggy friend did a devotional that way and I loved hers too (as soon as I find it, I’ll link it up).  Anyway, Kevin gave his whole freakin’ testimony this week with little Presley and his wife piping in.  I LOVED it.  It rocked.  I’ll do my own testimony sometime, as soon as I get up the nerve

I mean, I thought…that is socool and un-edited, and AWESOME.  It’s REAL.

I was driving home today and started singing a song to go with my “verses of the week” and penned it a few minutes later, and thought it would be fun to tape it and share.  I love it when “God gives YOU a song”.  It seemed more up my alley for now, not that I’m skilled.  I just worship the Living God and have me a big time.  

After I watched my own UNEDITED, “REAL” video, well, it needed some editing to keep from being totally lame and boring, especially since I had to edit out some stupid mannerisms and…well, it was fun playing with editing softward I really don’t know how to use much yet, but I’ve messed with it couple times and am teaching myself when the urge hits.

I don’t know if you’ve ever heard yourself sing, but if you are from Kentucky and do so, well…talking makes the accent worse, if that’s possible.  (I don’t think I said, “ya’ll”, but I may as well have.)  I’d be interested in making a list of the words I said that I hate hearing with my accent, but that would spoil the fun for you.

In any case,  I don’t think I’ve ever heard these verses put to music before, and it was a good ‘ole time for this chick…so I thoughtI’d invite only my closest bloggy friends

Welcome to my living room, my worship time, and my very lame video-editing in some attempt to keep from having the camera just sat there staring at me. 

Just so you know, my little camera set on “ON”  ACTUALLY has NO zoom ability and I was taking it myself, so it’s all post-production magic gone wrong…that’s what it is.  Only two takes before the battery ran out, so I tried.

There’s  your warning right there.  It’s all fun here or I wouldn’t be doing it…that’s the beauty of blogging.  Anytime ya’ll want to worship to avoid the laundry rooms, I’m here for ya.  (Man…now I’m behind.  Oh well.  What else ya gonna do with a rainy day?)

With no further adieu (and you would have thanked me for saying that a long time ago, I know), welcome to my living room: (I suggest you listen to this while like people are not standing over your shoulder wondering what the heck I thought I was doing and laugh.) 

(Yes, I know, it’s a bad hair moment.  I don’t do hair and makeup to drive my kids to school, so join the party and let’s just get real here.  I was ignoring the hair at the time, as should you.)  Sing the song …I challenge you to let the word of God to impress this on your mind and heart.  Share with me what He does with it in a few days. 

The power of doing things creatively with scripture keeps it fresh and at the forefront of our minds:  draw, write poems, walk to it, dance to it, whatever.  Do your thing!  I had never meditated on these two “most important” verses as I have this week and it’s been totally amazing every day since they were put on my heart. 

Entry filed under: Creativity.

It’s Very Exciting, This Lack of Logic I Forgot to Title This Post–The Last Was Long Enough for Two

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dori  |  March 14, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    Well…well…well…what an interesting look into your living room that proved to be!

    Not only to just hear your heart speak, but your voice sing was a blessing. We could so hang as praise team members, girl — very similar voices and ranges.

    But aside from that I heard your heart — that of a worshipper!

    I can’t wait to sing with you one day, girlfriend!

    Blessings and thanks for that today — I needed it!!

    Dori

  • 2. Kimberly  |  March 14, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    You were very creative. That is one of my favorite verses. Maybe one day you can give me piano lessons.

  • 3. Holly Smith  |  March 14, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    I sent you an email today and it came back 😦 I guess I had the old address. But DID. YOU. SEE?? We have a job–yes ma’am. Oh yes! God came and worked a miracle–just in time! Yay God! Happy Dance 🙂

    Now I’m off to watch your video…
    Much love and prayers,
    holly

    PS I’m tempted to leave comment after comment in hopes of getting you to 20,000 🙂 But that would be annoying, wouldn’t it? And I’m not THAT annoying 🙂

  • 4. Holly Smith  |  March 14, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    Can you hear me? I’m clapping! For God and for the new song in your heart–I was praying for a new song just a couple of days ago. Maybe it was yours that I prayed to hear… I think so!

  • 5. Kevin  |  March 15, 2008 at 12:13 am

    Maggie…. I LOVED IT. I think that is what people are drawn to – the open and transparency we bring. Thanks for sharing this. It is really inspiring!

  • 6. touchofglory  |  March 15, 2008 at 12:20 am

    I left a comment earlier, but for some reason it didn’t go through…..anywho….I was saying that your song is beautiful! I love you for putting yourself out there to share the word of God. I’m proud of you for being so faithful and talented! 🙂

  • 7. awomansdevotion  |  March 15, 2008 at 6:57 am

    That really spoke to me this morning. Lately I have been feeling like something just wasn’t right. As I listened to you, I realized I am at one of those points when I am “batting 2 out of 3” (or 1 out of 3) and I am just going through the motions in several areas. Thank you for an awakening!!

  • 8. Stacey  |  March 15, 2008 at 8:35 am

    How precious. Just totally precious. Thank you for sharing such a special, private worship time!

    It really speaks to me and inspires me in ways that I too can worship!

  • 9. Kim  |  March 15, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Girl…I feel like I have just been to church!!!! Wow!!! That was wonderful, heartfelt and completely oozing of the Holy Spirit. Thank you for starting my Sat. morning with some worship time…I will be singing that all day!!! Love you to pieces!!!

  • 10. Cindy  |  March 15, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Loved the testimony of this!

  • 11. "Maggie"  |  March 15, 2008 at 11:18 am

    I just realized one of the verses was looped twice so it turned out longer than it was live! Oh well.

    Thanks for worshipping with me and for being so gracious…it’s great to have a place to share private worship this week.

  • 12. Misty  |  March 15, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    Love it! In the days where we are pulled in every direction, it’s so hard to focus on loving God in all we do. Thanks for the reminder in such an artistic way.

    I haven’t been to church in a few weeks and won’t be back until at least Easter, so thanks for some great worship time!

  • 13. mamarosi  |  March 15, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    I can’t believe I’m just now seeing this. I had to tell you … once I saw that you had a video, I skipped your preface and went straight to the video and I was truly BLESSED. It was precious and I thank you, like someone else said up there, for being transparent. It’s truly inspiring and heart warming. I love you girlie!

  • 14. Merrie  |  March 16, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Thank you! Wow…. all I can say is wow…
    You have stirred something inside me that was screaming to be let out.
    You have encouraged me to move ahead and move forward and to seek love in giving myself to God more and more.
    I love your reality and truth and your transparency. You glow!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 978,886 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


