Thoughtful Thursday: I Need Your Quote Linkage

March 13, 2008 at 8:44 am 1 comment

thursday-thoughts-button.jpg
Collecting quotations is an insidious, even embarrassing habit, like ragpicking or hoarding rocks or trying on other people’s laundry. I got into it originally while trying to break an addiction to candy. I kicked candy and now seem to be stuck with quotations, which are attacking my brain instead of my teeth. -Robert Byrne

To Take Part in “Thoughtful Thursday”:

  1. Use this graphic on your post if you like.
  2. In comments here at this post, post your subject, & POST link.  People will hopefully see your link here and come visit you.

Don’t forget to visit those participating and say howdy!

My Personal “Hold Onto This One” Quote of the Week:  Isa. 30:15, 18  Topic:  “pride” (15-20 is best: link, but I’ll shorten it here for space)

15 This is what the Sovereign LORD, the Holy One of Israel, says:
       “In repentance and rest is your salvation,
       in quietness and trust is your strength,
       but you would have none of it…

 18 Yet the LORD longs to be gracious to you;
       he rises to show you compassion.
       For the LORD is a God of justice.
       Blessed are all who wait for him!

A friend sent me this a few days ago.  I LOVE the image of God “rising”, standing up from that stately, heavenly throne where He rules and reigns, to show us compassion.  The thought of him offering us so much, and our pride keeping us from receiving it…how sad.  I find myself there so often.

In personal bloggy news:  I think I fractured my wrist a few weeks ago ice skating.  It became painful last night and we decided it needed to be immobilized.  Therefore, typing will be sparse for a few days.  Perhaps a few pics or copy and pasting will get done. My back is very tight and knotted.  I hope I can get on top of that and see a heating pad in my future and some meds to get inflammation down…I think the strain on my wrist of that arm isn’t helping.  

We can rest contentedly in our sins and in our stupidities, and anyone who has watched gluttons shoveling down the most exquisite foods as if they did not know what they were eating will admit that we can ignore even pleasure. But pain insists upon being attended to. God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks in our consciences, but shouts in our pains. It is his megaphone to rouse a deaf world. Pablo Casals

I left the pic up this morning on the blog for the family to see.  Baby Zach is SO cute!

You are a marvel. You are unique. In all the years that have passed there has never been another child like you. Your legs, your arms, your clever fingers, the way you move. You may become a Shakespeare, a Michelangelo, a Beethoven. You have the capacity for anything. Yes, you are a marvel.  -Pablo Casals

In leaving that post up, Goldilocks, while I got dressed, sat down and scrolled down the blog to see the headline for family news.  I don’t mind.  It opened the door for another conversation and was another step in preparing her.  I told her that preparing our hearts is a process, and yes, it does hurt to think about. 

“If you want to test your memory, try to recall what you were worrying about one year ago today.”  -Rotarian

Goldilocks also contracted pink eye yesterday — putting eye drops in kids eyes for them?  Mercy.  Painful for all of us, let me just say.  It went better this morning with some new strategies, but she’ll remain in my prayers today. 

Grand-dad is doing well after his round of chemo seed implants for prostate cancer.  Thanks for your concern.  I’ll answer that here rather than individual emails as I’d like to minimize my typing this morning.

Blessings to you all!  Don’t forget to post quotes if you run across them today or found a great one in a book or study to share!  I look forward to them!

Mags

Entry filed under: Everyday.

My New Best Bud Amazing

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 981,555 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


