Thursday Blog Letter

February 28, 2008 at 11:39 am 3 comments

These posts end up sounding more like a letter to a friend than a blog post.  And perhaps that’s what this is.  Thanks for being “letter writing” sorts of friends.  I wouldn’t take the time to write a letter to just anyone, you know! 

snowman-a1.jpg

(My Nephew, photo-ed yesterday building a snowman with a “snow man” kit I got him for Christmas a couple years ago.  CUTE!)

Today I upgraded to Internet Explorer 7.0.  I selected for it to “make the text more clear”.  Who wouldn’t like “clearer text”?  However, it’s sort of a blurred bold to me like ink bleeding on an old carbon copy.   If you haven’t upgraded, I’m not sure I’d select that option on install.  Tabbed browsing is nice.  Pics are posting to my blog more easily as well.

snowman-a2.jpg

(All my nephews are such dolls!)

o1.jpg

(Here’s another one…)

d1.jpg

(and if this doesn’t just melt your heart a little…)

Yesterday, I started another knitted potholder, not because I need another potholder, but because I like to have identical things in multiples in my shallow towel drawer so that things stack more neatly.  And, I still had some learning to do.  My knitted edges look much better this time.  I’m so pleased with my progress.  (Richard Foster would be proud, no doubt.) 

celebration-of-discipline-tan-cover.jpg

(My REV version, a 20th Anniversary edition.  You might find it in this cover as well as the last I posted.)

My brother (left) heads out for Iraq waters tomorrow–he has a staff infection in his hand found this week.  He had to have something surgically removed out of his hand, apparently.  I’m a little unclear on the whole thing, but burdened for him. 

boys-2.jpg

My step-Dad is almost back to Iraq.  Stories of road-side bombings in vehicles surrounding his make it harder this time.  Their work is branching out into more dangerous areas outside the protected camp.  Difficult to think about or process in any meaningful way.  The only useful exercise is worship and trust…and knitting

larry-christmas-in-feb.jpg

(Larry, Christmas in February.)

In other news, I was not a good Mom to my kids last night at church.  Their nitpicking and antagonizing just got the best of me.  Better self control lately with my “bracelet wearing” for attitude, it sticks out like a sore thumb to me today that I lost my cool.  Lord, make me a good Mom to my kids that reflects your heart toward them.  I’m SO stinking at it sometimes, and my time IS limited…

perfection.jpg

(I love how cute the tops of their heads look when they are playing well together.  The game? “PERFECTION”).

This weekend, my son goes for his first all-day school bused trip along for an Academic Team meet.  Due to other commitments, it does NOT look like we are going to get to be there at all for his big meet!  Not only that, today I filled out my first paperwork–I had to put on it for next year a different school for him…MIDDLE SCHOOL!  It is naseating at times to see your kids growing to the next phase.  I’m proud…oh, yes!  But, it’s middle school.  He’s probably ready, but I’m not.

my-boys.jpg 

(I love how they look more alike in black and white photos)

I bought an issue of Family Circle today.  It’s inexpensive, it has lovely spring colors and flowers on it, and really enjoy a few of the back issues I found.  Also, I bought some low calorie Klondike ice cream sandwiches that are rocking my world.  I’ve eaten three.  Mmmmm.  Also, today, I found several second hand lightweight jackets and heavier coats for little Flash when he’s out riding the 4 Wheeler.  The “mud issue” is creating a need for multiple coats and jackets and jeans–the things we do for love.  You just can’t seem to keep from splashing mud when you ride!

Today, I had another special gift.  A friend said as she was driving to work, God told her to come pray with me for a minute. 

She told the Lord she’d be late for work if she did. 

He said, “Well, you can go on and get there on time, but then you’ll just have to turn around and go back.” 

Just take that in.  I still am.   

 wineskin.jpg

In blog news…I’m thinking about starting a “Meme” for Thursday called “Thursday Thoughts”.  I was thinking we might (whoever wants to or feels like it) try to post a review of a book or a quote from something we’ve been reading on Thursdays.  I’ll try to come up with a graphic button for us to use for it.  You can post other posts on Thursday as well, or book reviews on other days, but I am loving the book quotes and reviews from you guys–just wanted to encourage you to keep them coming!  I may just use this picture above…it seems fitting today.  I’ll add text and get it out today.

Hope you and yours are well.  Write me a letter on your blog if you want to respond, or email me. 

Love,

“Mags”

Entry filed under: Iraq, Knitting. Tags: .

HAVING TROUBLE KNITTING? I’m Starting a Meme…I WANT your quotes, book reviews, chapter reviews…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mandythompson  |  February 28, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    i love how flowy this is… definitely like a letter!

  • 2. graceisenough  |  February 28, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    I will be praying for Larry and your brother. I didn’t realize he was home/going back. I don’t know you you all handle that. It is so scary!

  • 3. touchofglory  |  February 28, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    Gosh, I haven’t seen your brother (D) in soooo long – he hasn’t changed a bit! It’s funny that you mentioned the self-control with the kids. I hadn’t read this post when we did the devotion at Upward tonight, and self-control was the issue mentioned that I was most convicted about!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 981,555 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


