HAVING TROUBLE KNITTING?

February 27, 2008 at 11:27 am 8 comments

knit31.jpg

It’s finally starting to look “keep-able”! 

I was having me some trouble knitting!  I had to undo my first 5-6 attempts! 

I switched yarns.   I switched “needle” sizes, watched more videos, tried different cast-ons, different tensions.  Different moods.  Different weather. 

I could not get an even row to save my life! 

I could not tell the difference in a bad stitch and a good stitch until I’d finished a couple rows, then, the “hole” was apparent!  Ugh! 

Yesterday, I finally made progress.  First, I shifted from nylon to cotton yarn.  I had some left from last Sunday’s Sunday school craft.  I found that the cotton did not slip off the metal needle as easily as the nylon, making control easier.  Still, I didn’t have a straight line!  Tear out again.

A New Project That Helped:  Next, I discovered instructions suggesting doubling the COTTON yarn for the correct insulation for a potholder (synthetics can melt).  That sounded like a good small project to tackle.   However, doubling the yarn sounded daunting — I couldn’t even handle a single strand yet!  After trying, I found that it helped me learn the stitches, keep good tension, and learn much faster.

Color:  This isn’t my favorite color for kitchen towels.  It helps that my daughter thinks this one is heavenly.

Alterations:  Instead of square, I want to make this potholder rectangular shaped, for wrapping around my long skillet handles.  I have a smaller one I love, but it won’t wrap around the iron skillet handle for me.

Challenges to knitting double strands:  I wasn’t that confident in my ability to do the project, so I didn’t halve and cut the ball of yarn first.  That meant when I ran out of my long tail I was using for doubing, I had to figure out how to reattach more yarn to continue.  I’m not sure what you are supposed to do in this case, but it seemed a good idea to overlap the new strand  for three stitches, weaving the new strand into the work before trimming the tail.  Knotting doesn’t work, by the way!

The second issue is that working with two strands, causes the strands you are working with to twist.  You have to untwist the two “strands every half row or so to keep from having a great big wadded mess.  But, not too hard. 

Conclusion:  I would recommend doubling.  I could easily see the mechanics of the stitch, and see what was causing my problems:   casting too tight, picking up pieces of threads I wasn’t supposed to have.  Now, my rows are straight!  I know when to drop that stray thread from the yarn if I accidentally pick something up that isn’t supposed to be there.   No problem! 

I got the “rhythm”! 

Stitches:  I’m using the knitting stitch, or the garter stitch.  It creates a nice, flat stitch that doesn’t roll, great for flat projects like this.

Next:  I’ll try to learn purl stitches, better edges, and switching between purl and knit–difficult, but still called “beginner stitching”! 

Words From The Fam:  

Boy Wonder:  “Mom!  Wow!  Look at that!  You are really doing great!  When did you get all that done?  That’s GREAT!” (He was serious!)

Flash:  “Wow, Mom!  Is that for me?  When are you making my sweater?  I wanted a blue one.”  (Thanks for vote of confidence.  I’ll get right on that…right after I learn to make this here potholder).  (He was serious.)

Goldilocks:  “Mommy!  Ooooh!   {holding it as I stitch}  You have REALLY improved!   I would have given up a long time ago.  Good job!”  (She was serious.)

The Hub — 11:06PM  “You coming to bed soon?”  (He was serious.)

Entry filed under: Crafts, Everyday, Knitting.

Do You Duluth? Thursday Blog Letter

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  February 27, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    That’s looking great for less than a week!

    I knit and purled my headband and it’s starting to roll up really badly. I need to figure out what to do about that!

    I’ll try to remember to bring some tonight!

  • 2. mamarosi  |  February 27, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    If I had a camera I’d show you all the little purse I’m crocheting….It looks more like a canoe than a purse just yet. =) I’m working on it. Since Stacey is teaching me I’m going to bring it to her maybe tonight and see if she can help.

    Yours looks great by the way…. I have a some yarn and brand spankin’ new knitting needles that need to be used. I just need to relearn how to knit! Maybe you can show me?

  • 3. karla ~ looking towards heaven  |  February 27, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    I totally feel ya, Maggie… But my has really come along, and my daughter has learned a great lesson in persistence. She thought the same thing as yours: would have given up a long time ago.

    I’ve really enjoyed the process. One of my favorite things has become sitting next to my hubs and knitting while he watches a show.

    Blessings,
    K

  • 4. Stacey  |  February 27, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    I’m LMBO at Rosi saying her purse looks more like a canoe. Mine did too but wait until you see it now. I added a flap and a button onto the pattern. 🙂

    Haley is bringing it to church tonight!

  • 5. koinoniaconnection  |  February 27, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    i’ll give you my doggie’s measurements and you can make him a sweater!!!

  • 6. Holly Smith  |  February 27, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    I am so laughing at your daughter’s comment! Hee hee–as Bill Cosby says, “Children are honest.” Can you hear him saying it?

    Oh YES this helps! I have just come from Joanne’s today and am still plugging away at my scarf. I have no idea what style it is, yet. I bet Joanne knows. And Joanne taught me a purl stitch today, but since I have gone several rows, she told me not to try it on the scarf. So next time!

    I’d love to find out more! Thanks for the good words!
    Love you much,
    holly

  • 7. Misty  |  February 28, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    Hang in there. The more you do, the easier it gets. I just wish I lived closer! bummer.

  • 8. graceisenough  |  February 28, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Wow! I think I’m with Goldilocks…I love the colors. I am impressed that ya’ll actually have enough time to have a hobby. Not any luck in that area for me at all.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 978,886 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


