Monday

February 25, 2008 at 10:01 am 9 comments

  1. Knitting is harder to learn than I thought it would be.  I’m not learning so quickly, but trying to keep practicing.  I keep dropping stiches and haven’t gotten in one knit row yet, but I have learned a couple ways to cast on, so that’s good.  Whew.   What a brain work-out.  Working on learning the knit stitch today.  It’s just a good brain and hand work-out. 
  2. Larry is flying out today.
  3. Boy Wonder just called and threw up.  I think it’s too much greasy food, so we are waiting it out.
  4. I need to vaccuum in order to to watch my nephews tomorrow.
  5. I also need to clean out my craft room from projects and set up the pack and play. 
  6. Alpine spiced cider only has 15 calories a cup…yes!  Who knew?
  7.  In late winter in our church, we often talk about joy and happiness to help people make it through the winter blues.  I search out each year, and this one is no exception, how much of joy is a spirit-given, to experience and review by faith, and how much is given as a result of obedience.  I wonder yesterday and today if joy is not the given, but the expression of happiness is not, in large part, a result of obedience, as Foster suggests.  Even in the winter, when I cast away thoughts of depression and work on disciplines, I experience happiness.  If I am lazy and burdered and worrying, I am depressed.  I understand what Foster means.   (Richard Foster, reading Celebration of Discipline).  Still thinking.
  8. Frustrated over some weird symptoms this weekend with my speech, interjecting the wrong word in my sentences and not realizing it after it came out.  Someone honked at my yesterday and I said, “Yeah, I hear you barking.”  That sounds funny, but I was honestly thinking “honk”.  Weird.  And scarey, because Saturday not one sentence I said came out right.  The family was even laughing at me.  I’ve been taking a new combination of meds and hoping that droping allergy meds for a few days will clear up the mess.  I felt so much better the last week, though.   
  9. Still enjoying my bracelet exercise.  It’s making me aware of when I’m spirit-controlled and when I’m flesh controlled (well, as much as I CAN know or divide that out).  We are so blessed to have a blessed helper!
  10. Tried sewing on plastic canvases with Sunday School yesterday (while Goldlilocks had a melt-down).   They struggled with it and couldn’t decide if they liked it or not.  When it comes to sewing, exposure is everything.  Most of the kids said their moms did not sew at all.  Amazing.

Well, that’s what’s up…   

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Sunday Monday Update

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dori  |  February 25, 2008 at 10:12 am

    M ~~,

    I love to hear about your days and what projects you are taking on. Yes, sewing is all about exposure. I’m not a sewer, but neither was my mom. But I befriended sewers — a sweet 50-something lady (never married) and her precious 80-something mother. They have a catering business and also a sewing shop in the town where we used to live. They didn’t have grand- or great-granddaughters to sew for so they would make my Lindsey the most precious sewn and smocked dresses you have ever seen!

    Need to blog about them and show pictures! They were precious mentors to me and faithful to “sew” into my life.

    Anyway, have a great day, friend!

    Blessings,
    Dori

    P.S. If you get bored, you should make you some house shoes….I can tell you how! 🙂

  • 2. Stacey  |  February 25, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Strange about the speech thing. I do that from time to time. It makes me feel like the absent minded professor or something. It’s usually not a totally different word for me, though… usually that I’m thinking ahead of what I am speaking and intermingle the two. Praying for you concerning this!

    Knitting is difficult. That is why I prefer crochet. I can be knitting along and then look back and I’ve dropped a stitch several rows back. It frustrates me terribly to do that because I am way too type A to have an entire work that I dropped a stitch in. 😦 I need to practice some more so that I can confidently help you!

  • 3. Theresa  |  February 25, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    May not just be the greasy food for Boy Wonder, he looked pale last night at church. All you need is for the bug to reappear at your house. Stack up on the OJ!.

  • 4. Kimberly  |  February 25, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    YEARS and years ago, I used to knit scarfs and baby booties. I might could pick it up again, but it is vague in my mind. My grandmother taught me how.

  • 5. ~E  |  February 25, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    I am amazed that you are teaching yourself how to knit. I am a visual learner and need someone to demonstrate. Just reading the directions doesn’t cut it for me. I have never tried knitting, but crocheted for a while before our son was born. Hope Goldiocks is having a better day today. I have been praying for her off and on throughout the day. Boy Wonder seems to have the same kinds of problems as our son when it comes to the stomach. Hard to figure out. Enjoying the snippets you are sharing from Foster.

  • 6. graceisenough  |  February 25, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    I think I like barking more than honking anyway! LOL. Hope that gets better for you. Glad to hear that Goldilocks did okay last night. Will continue to pray for her. I mentioned her for our prayer list in Sunday School.

  • 7. Misty  |  February 26, 2008 at 9:47 am

    I hope you’re fooling butter today. Take it easel and get lost of rust. I’m shore you’ll fell better in no team.

    🙂

  • 8. mamarosi  |  February 26, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    Girl, I totally feel you on the speech issues. I have been having the same problem. Also memory issues at work. Not remembering from day to day what customers bought what, and whatnot. I really think it happened after having my third child. I just lost some short-term memory somewhere. How to regain it?? I don’t know. I’m open to suggestions! =) Didn’t want you to feel alone so thought I would post.

  • 9. Holly Smith  |  February 26, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    Did you know that Alpine Spiced Cider is only sold during the “prime” season in Colorado? Chris found out from the clerk at our grocery store. So in response, he bought 10 boxes. I wonder how many calories that is! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 978,886 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


