Ice and a 4-Wheeler Change Everything

February 22, 2008 at 12:43 pm 4 comments

birds-nest-iced.jpg

Well,  you know, you just wake up some days and your world has changed.  This was one of those days.  And I now smell like dog food and have post ski mask hair because of it.  But, it was sort of fun, in a weird kind of way.

Twice today, The Daisy Dog has run off. 

The second time, I was home alone. 

So, after calling Misty for prayer, I told her I was going to head out on the 4 wheeler to see if I could find the dog. 

A.  I had no idea how to start the aforementioned 4 wheeler.

B.  It’s very icy.

C.  I’m home alone and no one knows where I am.  I also call Grandparents to tell them I’m headed out.

I gather up two kinds of mace, one for dogs and one for the other kind of dog, Kleenexes, pop in my contacts, put on my old shoes, put on some chapstick, get some lotion, grab my cell phone, go outside, lock the door, realize I need a ski mask, have to go BACK in the other door that my key fit, grab the mask, am getting too hot by now, and realize that I am in over my head pretty much.

Daisy had run off with two other dogs:  (could ya keep THESE dogs put up and help a girl out?  The yellow dog is REALLY pretty and actually a good friend to her.  She lets her sniff everything about her and jump on her and she never moves…just seems to enjoy the company.  I don’t know what the black one is.  She looks friendly, all wagging her tail.)

large-dogs.jpg

I call both neighbors and tell them that I am trying to get my dog back and would they let me know if they see anything.  I’ve given them all our card, and they always call if a gate gets open and she gets out.  I have GREAT neighbors on both sides on the dog issue.  We try to be good dog owners.  Seeing as how I have never really liked pets at all.  I’m getting there.

So, I proceeded to make three laps around the entire “dog” neighborhood, yelling, blowing my whistle (I got hoarse and needed a whistle early on…why I thought that might work, I don’t really know.)

branch-iced.jpg

I am now home, thirty minutes later, with dog.  My third round I saw her standing alone in a field, seeming a little lost and lonely.  I guess her friends left her.   She was excited at my voice this time, thankfully, and ready to come home. 

While out on my little gear-shifting adventure with chrome wheels and a racing muffler, I saw a lot of cool “iced over” stuff.  I may have to go back out down the road for a minute.  I left my disk at home for that trip.

Can I just say that when you are driving with a ski-mask on, it is inevitable that when falling ice and water come off the tree, they are going to land in one of the two eye holes of the ski mask.  I’m not sure why this is, but it clouds the contacts and makes it hard to drive the vehicle.

I had to drive through a few neighbors yards, which means having this thing, my kids will already probably be blamed for something they didn’t do. 

holly-tree-iced.jpg

In the meantime, I ran into a U-Haul pulling into my drive with a UPS shipment…don’t ask me.

Also, a band of three renegade, money-seeking, rough looking older guys packed in a runned down car pulling into my drive to see “if I needed any stuff hauled off”.  “Um.  No, thank you.  Not today.”  Guard dog daisy just jumped up into the window of the car with them.  Good guard dog.  Thanks.  Rescue her life and she could at least look menacing.

I took my ski-maked self and back-tracked to go make sure all the doors were locked after that.

Who says staying at home is boring?  (I actually changed my attitude arm bracelet three times for avoiding work by saying to myself “This is boring” yesterday).  That’s about enough excitement for one day.  Thanks!

Rosi wanted to know what my bracelet looked like:  here was the first.  I liked it with purply-green irredescent little gems.  I think it was a yard sale find years ago.  It was missing some stones, but that didn’t bother me…I think it came in a box of other stuff. 

bracelet-1.jpg

Unfortunately, as you can see, I was agitated talking to my husband the other night and stretched the elastic out of it, deeming it inoperable.  Yeah, my attitude was way-off at the moment.

This is the second I’ve been wearing:

bracelet-2.jpg

My daughter bought a 3-pack three of them for herself for Christmas after she spent all her school-character-store money on other people.  She wrapped them and put them under the tree to her, from her since she got gifts for everone else.  I thought it just hysterical because she didn’t tell anyone!  She opened it Christmas Day and I said, “Where’d those come from?”  She said, “Me!” with a self-satisfied smile on her face.  I was proud of her for remembering to treat herself.

I remember that when I wear it, too. She has great taste.  I think it’s a very fun bracelet…and I like having fun with this whole “change the bracelet when you have a bad attitude or complain” thing.  I’m using it more as evidence that I’m following the Holy Spirit as a whole instead of just attitude, but it’s been life changing this week.  I look forward to each day trying to stay in step. 

With Daisy barking at 5:30AM this morning to go out and be fed, I think I need to sleep in the bracelet.  Whew!

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Honda Ranger 350ES…(Or, I’m About To Be Invaded) Joining Kimberly and family

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacey  |  February 22, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    I don’t like changing gears on a 4-wheeler. Wears my ankle out. LOL We have an automatic 4-wheeler that basically just takes up space in the garage, but deer hunters MUST have 4-wheelers, right? *shrug*

    I have a neat little bracelet that is made with beads and cedar berries. It is supposed to “absorb negative thoughts”. Supposedly when it is “full” it breaks and you make a new one. I don’t like wearing jewelry all of the time, so it has never broken. LOL Sort of reminded me of your attitude wearing yours out. LOL!

    Reply: That’s funny on the bracelet, and probably true enough!
    On the 4-Wheeler, you shift with your thumb…up, or down…SUPER EASY! I didn’t like the foot thing either! Now I can’t file my nails and drive, though. 😦 Just kidding!

  • 2. Johnnie Ruth Hamill  |  February 22, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Wow…what a BUSY day you have had!

  • 3. Kevin Eby  |  February 23, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Nice pictures of ice and beads… sometimes I wonder about just how different this world would be if God had not used “Let there be Light” in the beginning.

    Photography would certainly be challenging.

  • 4. awomansdevotion  |  February 27, 2008 at 7:09 am

    It looks like you and the kids might get to really enjoy the 4-wheeler today 🙂 Have fun and be safe.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 978,846 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


