Pierced?

February 15, 2008 at 3:09 pm 9 comments

All three kids are at school today and it is 2:00PM. It appears they will stay there.

It took a lot of effort, time, medications, and convincing.

There should be a mother reward.

In the meantime, the oil is changed, and I’ve been to Wal*Mart, which was actually enjoyable after all the weather and sickness. I almost took up knitting while I was there. I thought I’d put that off until I was thinking more clearly, but did buy a $.99 pattern I liked it so much, even though I can’t knit or crochet.  I think being stuck at home does odd things like that to reasoning processes.

I also bought some cute tiny stud earrings for my second earring hole which I formally did not wear earrings in because they are not equidistant. You convinced me that does not matter. Let me just say that it hurts to re-pierce a hole that has grown back in internally.  I don’t even like multiple piercings in particular.  But that day, it just seemed something I needed to do.

Yes, I did it myself. With a sterile needle. It was required. I thought I could handle it.

After the tornadoes not hitting, I guess I thought I could take it. 

Yes, it hurt.

Then it swelled up.

For three days.

I couldn’t sleep on my ears for a week.

maggie-pink-icon1.jpgSo, now I’m back to two earrings.  I’ve been wearing two hoops because that’s all I had.   Sort of hip and all that, I guess.  My daughter said it looked weird.  What does she know, anyway? She’s nine. (I went and bought some new earrings.)  I may still wear the hoops some.  Here’s a picture to chronicle the big “two hoop” era which lasted all of five days or so.

Anyway, like you care about my ears. 

But, in the midst of this self-imposed torture, I started thinking about slaves in the Bible whose ears were pierced to the door-frame of the house. The piercing symbolized that they were servants by choice after their obligatory servant term was over. 

How many of us were “once pierced”?  We look like we’ve had a piercing on the outside, but on the inside, our hearts are all grown up?  From one who’s voluntarily given her life to servant-hood to the Most High God for life, there is no greater Love I’d rather serve than God through His son, Jesus.  None.  I am pierced.

Yet, I want an active piercing.  There are places in my own heart that need to be re-pierced.  His truth cannot get through any more.  I am toughened.  Impassable.   Yet the word of God is “living and active, sharper than any double edged sword, able to divide both soul and spirit.”  2 Timothy says.  It’s tougher than I am!  Sharper than my defenses and toughened self. 

I look forward to your thoughts…on either ear piercing or heart piercing.  (And…do you knit?)

Entry filed under: allegories, Everyday.

I Won, I Won! Pierced Song & Thanksgiving Bands

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kim  |  February 15, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    I have 2 holes on my left side and only one on the right. And yes, it is intentionally. After hubby and I started dating, I got it done and wore a tiny diamond stud he got for me. I quit wearing it several years ago due to getting tired of people saying, “You are missing an earing.” And me replying, “Oh, actually I’m just missing a hole.” And then, they would just look at me like I was crazy.

    Anyway…I think I might just hunt up that little diamond!!!

  • 2. CJ  |  February 15, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    I used to have two holes in my ears, but they have grown up and I just don’t think I want to redo. Yours look spiffy though.
    C

    maggie replies: I really don’t like multiple piercings either. I’m not sure what got into me. It was just there, and un-used, and my babies are no longer a threat to my ear health, and it was calling me.

  • 3. Kimberly  |  February 15, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    I have a double set too, but don’t wear the tops ones very often. now if I had diamonds to put in there…………..hmmm………..

    Mag replies: Diamonds are always good! I’d just want mine anchor locked on!

  • 4. Misty  |  February 15, 2008 at 7:19 pm

    I’ve never gotten any other piercings besides the one hole in each ear when I was 7. I have decided that I have enough holes in my body to worry about already without adding any more. 😉

  • 5. Suzanne  |  February 15, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    Ouchie ouchie to both kinds of piercings! I Pierced my ears at 12; the Lord pierced my heart at 4 and I’ve never wanted that place to heal over! I cannot imagine how people get through the tough stuff without Him…or even the mundane stuff, if you really want to know the truth!

    Are hoops passè or are they soooo cool you don’t feel worthy? If I find out they aren’t cool, I’ll be heartbroken. I’m nothing without loopdyloops dangling from my ears on Sunday morning! ;-D

    Maggie replies: I love hoops so that they self latch and I don’t have to worry about backs. I live in my medium size gold hoops. I sleep in ’em, swim in ’em, shower in ’em. Either gold or silver, I never take them off. They seem either dressy or casual, especially the silver. I am definately into hoops!

  • 6. Misty  |  February 15, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    I also have 2 sets of ear piercings. I don’t wear earrings in the top ones very often, but I must just dig out some earrings this weekend.

    I can’t believe you don’t knit or crochet. I don’t know if I should just keep gloating that there is something I can do that you can’t, (I never thought that would happen!) or offer to come down and teach you how to knit. You are missing one of the most relaxing hobbies in the world. We need to have an all-night scrapbooking and knitting retreat. Just the thought of it is relaxing me!

    Maggie replies: That is hysterical. A. You are one of the most if not the most creative people I’ve ever met in my entire life! B. Yeah, you need to come on down. When are we doing it? C. That would never happen because you are also one of the most committed people I’ve ever met…so you, like most saints I know, are busy all the time!

  • 7. awomansdevotion  |  February 16, 2008 at 7:40 am

    As far as ears go, I have 2 in each ear, probably at ages 6 and 12. I always wore earrings in them all until I had my son 7 years ago and then I stopped wearing earrings all together except on special occassions–he has always played with earlobes and my earrings just got in the way :)) During Christmas break, my daughter celebrated her 3rd birthday and all she wanted was to get her ears pierced and for us to match. So I have been wearing small gold balls in my bottom holes since December 29th.

    I think most people need to be repierced at times. The study you suggested (Becoming a Woman of Excellence) talks a lot about total surrender. In the process of total surrender, I feel we are repierced.

    Maggie: Awesome comment, R! Thanks!

  • 8. Merrie  |  February 16, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    First the EASY question… yes, I knit and crochet and get so much pleasure from it since I can not sit still and do nothing.
    I only have one set of piercings since I’m a wimp. But, I did that myself when I was 15. OUCH.
    Third, I do need the re-piercing of the Holy Spirit. I can imagine that it will be uncomfortable and the sleep in those areas will ge as impossible as sleeping on freshly pierced ears… But, the rewards – oh the rewards!!! I desire the rewards and beauty that will be revealed.
    Love the analogy!

  • 9. M  |  February 27, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Yes, it’s a nice custom. In Ezekiel 16 the Lord gave earrings to Zion.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 981,451 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


