Worship, Sunday, Post Tornado

February 11, 2008 at 9:59 am 2 comments

Order of Worship: Post Tornado  (I think, my memory isn’t that great)

  1. Forever (In which praise rose to the roof)
  2. Without You, Jesus (Mark Fuller’s song:  “You’re the calm in every storm/You’re the fire that keeps me warm…”)  Obviously God had this time in mind when he led him to write that song.  Stuck in my head all day
  3. Blessed Be Your Name (in which I sobbed, unable to sing) 
  4. Jesus, Lover of My Soul (set my feet upon a rock, and now I know…I love you, I need you, though my world my fall, I’ll never let you go)
  5. How Great Is Our God
  6. You Never Let Go (see below)
  7. Never Let Go (see below)
  8. Praise You in This Storm (Gary C & Melissa B…”And I’ll praise you in this storm, and I will lift my hands, that you are who You are, no matter where I’ve been, and every tear I’ve cried, You hold in your hand, You never left my side, and though my heart is torn…I will praise you in this storm…I lift my eyes up to the hills, where does my help come from?  My help comes from the Lord, the maker, of heaven and earth…”)

Here’s a couple of videos to songs less familiar to me that I loved yesterday:

When clouds veil sun, and disaster comes, oh, my soul, oh, my soul

When waters rise and hope takes flight, oh, my soul, oh, my soul…

You never let go, You never let go

You never go…

Oh, no!  You never let go,

Through the calm and through the storm

Oh, no!  You never let go,

In every high and every low.

Oh, no You never let go,

Lord, You never let go of me.

It was necessarily a heavy service, but a good one.  The interviews in place of the sermon lightened the mood and changed things up.  It was a great service for us all to process and hear from those involved in different elements of the week, different perspectives.  There were generators up and help crews at the church within an hour of the storms.  The police didn’t even know about one of the hardest hit areas until the next morning because so many from our church showed up to rescue and help.  That’s just amazing considering about ten houses were pretty much wiped out.

WFIE out of Evansville was at our services taping yesterday morning, they saw how we respond in worship and realness to crisis…we made the 11:00 Evening news.  I just saw another clip that must have aired at another time.  I didn’t see it last night.  You can watch that here.  (It starts after a commercial.)

In the clip I saw, nothing like seeing the elderly Mrs. Helen’s hands not only reaching my heart from the very first song, but also making one of the two headline lead-in stories for tri-state news that night.  A dear friend was interviewed, the hub and I had a cameo appearance, praying in the clip I saw (not the link here).

The news present leads me to wonder…do we worship like the world is watching our response to times of crisis and stress?  We have to!  They are! 

Do we worship like it makes a difference to the person sitting next to us each week?  We ought to.   It does!

Entry filed under: Worship. Tags: .

Worship Challenge, Week 1 On Monday, Kids, and The Dealing With of Them

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Holly Smith  |  February 11, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    I may just stay all night and sing “OH no you never let go…” at the top of my lings. Is that OK? 🙂

    Need to know that He never lets go!
    Love,
    holly

    Maggie replies: Stacey said their was a typo in her comment and she got upset about it. Yours made me crack up for some reason, so I’m leaving it!

  • 2. morselsfromgod  |  February 12, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    I love that song — Oh No Never let Go…

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 979,646 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


