TORNADO — PHOTOS

February 8, 2008 at 7:31 pm 2 comments

Today, I ventured out to check on a little boy whose been in my 2nd grade Sunday School class.  I heard he’d lost his bedroom.  He and his mom and brother hid in hall closets.

I topped the hill just past our home heading toward town toward his subdivision, one of the two worst areas with houses hit in our town.  I’d seen pictures already and didn’t expect to be surprised by the sight, but I was.  It was horrifying to me.  I covered my mouth and said “Oh my gosh.  Oh my.  Oh my!”  I found myself not really able to pay attention to traffic around me at all.  I’m glad everyone is driving slow and being vigilent.

On that same stretch of road this summer, I pulled over to the side of the road, climbed a bank and took these peaceful photos.  One stalk of weed looked so strong with trees behind it:

roadside-3.jpgroadside-07.jpgroadside-2.jpg

Today, Same Stretch of Road, trees snapped like twigs themselves:

tornado-1.jpg

The little boy in my class lived in this general area.  Access wasn’t permitted. 

He wouldn’t come with me to play with our boys.  He wanted to be with mom and dad today and seemed to need to see each step of the process.  I don’t blame him.  He seemed brave.

I heard so many stories as I talked to people in one of the hardest hit neighborhoods.  An 84-year-old woman’s house was hit.  Her house went up first.  She cuddled in a closet and was able to work her way out herself.  Someone came and carried her across the road.  Another’s roof was lifted, then lowered back onto the house.  One had the entire debris of the neighborhood dumped in their lawn.  Even clothes they can salvage, there is glass and asbestos and they must be thrown away.  One family put motorcycle helmets on them and the youngest.  (Great idea).  Only walls standing in some homes.  Some, the tornado missed entirely except for roof damage.  Story after story. 

I walked up to them and said, “Are you too tired to even get a hug?”

They smiled weakly and said, “I can always use a hug.”

I talked to the women, faces ashen from no make-up and lack of sleep.  They are gracious and lovely as always, but tired. 

I came home and just wanted to cry for these people.  I counted about nine families connected with our church affected today.  The numbers grow every day for all of us, people we know, run into, love. 

Most are waiting for appraisers to look at homes, structural engineers to tell them whether the homes can be salvaged or not in some cases.  Clean-up crews can begin tomorrow if you have a special passes from home-owners to get in and help.   We are running Upward games for those who need to move on…many children getting bored and needing an outlet for energy.  So, I’ll be working concession stand and helping cheerleaders cheer.  It will be hard, but we need to be together after a week of crisis. 

sub-station.jpg

This was the sub station that blew up as my husband and son drove past it the night of the storm.  They were right in the path of the tornado, how far in or out, we don’t know.  They saw lights go out in houses and the high school as they drove by it, the explosion of this station, and then traffic lights blowing.  My son was terrified.  He said the vehicle was rocking side to side as Dad tried to control it.  Funny how I’m just hearing this story?

I had called the church to tell them of the warnings, and ironically missed my hub’s cell phone number, which was not with him anyway.  The number I got happened to be the daughter of the person working out with my husband and son at the gym.  She was 90 miles away.  I said, “Call your dad and tell them there’s a tornado warning.  I can’t get anyone.”  So, she did. 

God thing?  I think so.

tornado-3.jpg

barn and homes

tornado-5.jpg

four trees uprooted

tornado-6.jpg

house and trailer

tornado-7.jpg

tractor trailer overturned

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Rick Burgess (of the Award Winning Rick & Bubba Radio Show) Gives Memorial Service for His 2 1/2 year old son Bronner after his drowing — Tuesday, January 22, 2008) Release

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. morselsfromgod  |  February 8, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    Wow…words just can’t express what I just read. God was CERTAINLY looking over you and your loved ones.

  • 2. CJ  |  February 9, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    I have some of those same shots. Devasting, isn’t it!
    C

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 981,434 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


