Rick Burgess (of the Award Winning Rick & Bubba Radio Show) Gives Memorial Service for His 2 1/2 year old son Bronner after his drowing — Tuesday, January 22, 2008)

February 8, 2008 at 4:44 pm Leave a comment

Rick Burgess (Rick & Bubba radio show) was one of the featured speakers at the Strength To Stand youth conference a few weekends ago in Pigeon Forge.  Saturday night after Rick had finished speaking to over 7000 people, he was given the tragic news that his youngest son, Bronner (2 1/2), had drowned in the family swimming pool [one of five children, their youngest].  

The crowd was told the next morning.   Rick spoke at Bronner’s memorial service at their home church in Alabama.  The POWERFUL message was recorded and is available at www.rickandbubba.com [in three parts, total about 30 min]. 

Here’s one quote from it that spoke to me.  I hope we can keep the same perspective in light of this week’s tornado tragedies:

So I was on the airplane getting ready to be prepared for that horrible moment.  You’ve been there.  I looked out the window and I could see the moon and the stars, and I said, “What are you doing?  Father?  Saviour?  What are you doing?  What are you trying to teach me? This is a hard lesson.”
…He said, “What I want from you is for you to go to the next level of spreading the message of salvation.”
I’m going to be about His business. More so than ever, more inspired than ever, which is where Satan made his mistake…but, I can’t do it by myself.  I want the death of our child to energize ALL believers to get about the business of preaching the gospel.  Quit trying to be defined by what you do at work, quit trying to be defined by what you accomplished in your hobbies, quit trying to have your children be defined by how they do in little league or how good they do in the classroom or the lack thereof.  Start being defined by the amount of people that you present the gospel to that God brings ’em to Him.  Be defined as a father and a mother by how godly and powerful your children are as warriors for the kingdom of God… 
I’m going to call on a lot of you to toughen up a little bit.  You are too easily defeated.  You get destroyed by NOTHING.  Be strong.  He gave his all for you.  Give him something.  Stop this pathetic walk…go in there expecting some treasures.  Give him all you’ve got, ’cause he did.  That’s my challenge for you…don’t let our baby be taken in vain, make something happen.”   
As a result of Rick’s challenge, people have told him “Today, in honor of your son, I shared Christ for the first time in my office, at work, with my friends”.  One man shared that he talked to four people in his office at one time about Christ. 
If that kind of passion about Christ can be generated over the loss of a 2 1/2 year old sweet little boy, I wonder how we can be energized to stay passionate about what really matters right now.  People are scared, searching, and afraid.  Can we share with them the hope that we have, even in the midst of it all? 
Entry filed under: Everyday.

A Scripture After the Storm TORNADO — PHOTOS

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 980,441 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


