We’re Fine

February 7, 2008 at 10:30 am 6 comments

108.jpg

The Hub and son took this picture out driving around the county yesterday at one of the few businesses open post tornado.  

Yup, we were in direct line of this week’s big storm and tornado.  We are safe and secure.  No property damage for us, but much locally.   Taking care of people.  Lots of intense local damage.  Power has been out two days.  Just getting power this morning.  The fam is moving generators to some of our houses that still don’t have power. 

Online for a moment before houseguests return.  FINALLY checking news, seeing damage.  Wow.  We are finally famous and have  had NO access to media to see it!  Well! 

 No time to emotionally process…may never be in any direct way, but we are all impacted for life, let me tell you.  I’m still having a hard time not moving like a robot asking myself “What needs to be done next?  What is not working?  How do I patch that problem?  Who needs checking on?  How do I prepare food next?  Who’s calling?  Do we have clothes?  Do they have food? ” 

While they are fresh on my mind, here are just a few storm thoughts:

  • When you have 70 degree weather in February, start praying.  Make storm preparations that day.  Have meds you might need, a bottle of water, flashlight, and candles handy.   
  • When you hear tornado warning, get in the safest spot you’ve got, and DON’T  wait for the elecricity to flicker. Trust me on that one.   A quarter mile from us!  Dang.  We were in the basement, but still.  We be IN the closet before that point next time, before the lights flicker and the wind starts breathing in and out of the fireplace–yup, scaring the daylights out of me and two little ones.
  • Get a phone with a land line .  Not a cell, not a cordless, one connected to the wall.  Cells and cordless are least likely to work.   It is so hard to not be able to check on loved ones when traffic may be closed.
  • Keep a  container of fuel in it.  When the power goes out, gas stations close.  You can’t run even a  borrowed generator without fuel.
  • A gas cooktop.  It’s saved us a few times when power goes out.  Thank you, Lord!
  • LOTS of candles…very specifically UNSCENTED WHITE OR CREAM PILLAR CANDLES, WITH  A PAN UNDER THEM.  Red ones stain the carpet…not that I would know.  {ahem}.  Sticks are messy and melt down too fast.  I could go on, but those are the basics.
  • Gas fire place.  Thank you, Lord!
  • Empty your ice tray if you have an ice dispenser.  Melting ice in freezer is not very funny.
  • Keep milk in the freezer to make it last longer.  (Until power comes back on…then pull it back out.   We had frozen milk before we got to this step, but hey, nothing like milkshake.)

And, while I’m here:  thank you, Lord, for prompting me to clean my linen closet a couple days ago instead of having a quiet time I thought I desperately needed!  How strange that seemed at the time!  In the last two days, I’ve used every sheet set I had clean…they were there, folded, neat and ready for guests.  Thinking back, a disorganized linen closet just might have sent me over the edge!  I love the Lord!  I love that he prepares us and we don’t have to get hyper- OCD vigilent.  He can just get us ready. 

Get this, that night, I also felt led to go on and get two gallons of milk half an hour before the storm hit.  I’d forgotten to take mine in the house that day for some reason and it had spoiled in the back seat.  Twice that day I didn’t feel like getting milk and he kept saying, “Better get some milk today…just run in quickly”.  SO glad I did.    

Sometimes, it’s the little things that help keep things flowing.  Waffles and eggs and pancakes…a few comfort foods on the stove top.  THANK YOU!!!

We are obviously just getting out of crisis mode.  Today, I plan to 1. cry and 2.  read my Bible, 3.  connect with people non-emergently…things I have not had the luxury of for several days. 

~~~ 

Enough of that.

On another note,  great to get your worship thoughts as I got back online to approve comments.  I will  perhaps do a composite adding some of my own thoughts/challenges soon, things I’ve learned and tried.  Continue to add thoughts there if you have not already! 

Entry filed under: Everyday.

Bloggite Question: Can We Talk About Worship? Damage from the tornado…(photos)

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Holly Smith  |  February 7, 2008 at 10:57 am

    The word “cigarettes” on the sign made me smile, for I grew up with smokers and have seen them under pressured situations like this one. The smokers out there are desperate for a cigarette right now.

    PRAYING for you… Lord, renew the mind of my friend and her familiy and their neighbors. Help them to process and help and love one another. Father provide for every need. Bring peace to those who are hurting. Be Big over their situations, Father. You are faithful. And especially Maggie–bring a word from Your Word to her today, O Lord. Amen.

  • 2. Suzanne  |  February 7, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    Mercy. I had no idea! Praise the Lord He prompted you to be ready like He did. Why does it always amaze me when He does just what He says He will do? Duh! SO glad you’re all OK!! ~Sooz

  • 3. Merrie  |  February 7, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    OH Maggie, I had no idea… I guess I don’t even know where you live!
    I’ll be praying for you and your community! I’m so thankful for His faithfulness when we don’t have any idea what is about to happen – He has already made provision!

  • 4. CJ  |  February 7, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    When the 5 siren blasts went off the first time, I was with a client—thought I could finish up then close.
    When it went off the second time, I cleared everyone out right then. Got in the car and FLEW home. Almost would have stopped at your house if Nick had not been home alone. We got home 10 minutes before it went over our house. Donnie saw the funnel and said it was a wide one. It was probably touching down at Nolen’s about that time. Hope to never, ever do that again.
    Cj

  • 5. Johnnie Ruth Hamill  |  February 8, 2008 at 6:44 am

    CJ & Maggie. I’m so glad that you are both okay.

    When we listen to what the Spirit is saying he will guide you. Maggie, I love how you process the Spirit and write it out. It helps me to understand when He is speaking to me.

    Thank you sweet Jesus for your comfort during this time. We thank you for the healing that will take place in this community. One that will be a stronger community because they will be united as one. We thank you father that all things work for good! Now, LORD, pour your Spirit upon Maggie and lead her into everything that you want from her during this week and the weeks to come. Let her be the candle on the tabletop shining brightly so that all can see so that they may come to her and say, ‘What must I do to be saved?’…We Praise you LORD in all things and thank you for keeping us. We ask all these things in the matchless name of Jesus. AMEN. And it is so!

  • 6. Cheryl  |  February 8, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    I am so glad you all are o.k. One of the first things I asked Bryan and Misty was, “Is ‘Maggie’s’ house o.k., have you talked to her”. Thank goodness!

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


ME: “MAGGIE”

mag-grav-bw

Sifting the joy from the mundane:

recording, photographing, learning, creating.

I am married to the love of my life, as we raise three children, learning the ways of grace.

avatar-clay-mugs-drying

Magnanimity (derived from the Latin roots magn- great, and anima, soul) is the virtue of being great of mind and heart. It encompasses, usually, a refusal to be petty, a willingness to face danger, and actions for noble purposes. Its antithesis is pusillanimity. Both terms were coined by Aristotle, who called magnanimity "the crowning virtue."

Noah Webster's 1828 Dictionary of the American Language defines Magnanimity as such:

MAGNANIM'ITY, n. [L. magnanimitas; magnus, great, and animus, mind.] Greatness of mind; that elevation or dignity of soul, which encounters danger and trouble with tranquillity and firmness, which raises the possessor above revenge, and makes him delight in acts of benevolence, which makes him disdain injustice and meanness, and prompts him to sacrifice personal ease, interest and safety for the accomplishment of useful and noble objects.[1] (Source: Wikipedia)

MAGNANIMOUS WORK

2008-08-30-296-copy-21

"We shall not waste our time in looking for extraordinary experiences in our life, but live by pure faith, ever watchful and ready for His coming by doing our day-to-day duties with extraordinary love and devotion." ~Mother Teresa

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE:

sunrise-09-spring

"Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not come. We have only today. Let us begin." ~Mother Teresa

MONTHS

MAGNANIMOUS ATTITUDE

2008-08-30-029-copy

A kind heart is a fountain of gladness, making everything in it's vicinity freshen into smiles. --Washington Irving

WHERE I SHOP:

MAGNANIMOUS LIFE

2008-08-30-104-copyb

When you get into a tight place and everything goes against you, till it seems as though you could not hang on a minute longer, never give up then, for that is just the place and time that the tide will turn. -Harriet Beecher Stowe

YOU CAME; I SMILED

  • 982,388 Magnanimous Visitors

tea1

Please know that I am not posting as an expert, but as a fellow traveler. I recommend that you research and double check things on your own before taking any advice or instruction from this site.  Information is given in good faith for the time period in which it was written. I am also an affiliate of the Sure Cuts A Lot software, for Cricut, which means you don't need Cricut cartridges to cut any font or .jpg on your computer.  I get some pocket change for introducing you if you choose to buy it by clicking on my site.  And we all know I need more cardstock, so I do appreciate it.  I sometimes review other products for a fee, but I am not required to give a positive review, and post honestly as to my experience.  I hope you find this useful.

Sidebar photographs by Maggie except "clay mugs". Others, stockxchng (by permission) unless noted.

Create Your Own Calendar


